Home / Accueil

War of 1812 Timeline: April 1814 - June 1814

Timeline PDF

April 1814 - June 1814

April 1814             

The British commence construction of Fort Mississauga in Niagara, Upper Canada.

 After capturing the American Fort Niagara, the British built a new fort across the Niagara River on Mississauga Point.  These forts commanded the mouth of the river.    Fort Mississauga was a small star-shaped earthwork, surrounded by a dry ditch and a log palisade. Armed with four 24-pounder cannons and equipped with a hot shot furnace, it was stronger than the badly damaged Fort George.  Stone and brick rubble from the destroyed town of Niagara was used to begin construction of a central brick tower inside Fort Mississauga.  The first lighthouse built on the Great Lakes before the war on Mississauga Point, was also demolished.  The fort was deemed to be defensible by July, just as an invading American army once again crossed the Niagara River.

 

Major General James Wilkinson's army retreats to Plattsburg, New York.

 

HMS Linnet is launched at the naval yard of I le aux Noix, Lower Canada.

4 April 1814         

 

The French Emperor Napoleon abdicates, enabling the British to send more men and ships to North America. 

Vice-Admiral Sir Alexander Cochrane's assumption of command of the Royal Navy's North American station on 1 April 1814 coincided with a downturn in French fortunes in Europe, culminating with Napoleon's abdication. Thereafter, the British picked up the pace on all fronts in North America. With more ships available, Cochrane increased the pressure in the Chesapeake and extended the blockade northward to include New England. Because this stifled the licensed trade, it drew protests from Halifax merchants, whose New Brunswick counterparts were, however, saved by smuggling. Cochrane was deaf to the complaints, but no matter how many ships he had at his disposal, he found it impossible to achieve success in blockading what was now a significantly greater expanse of coast.

7 April 1814

Americans launch the brig USS Jefferson at Sackets Harbor, New York adding to Commodore Isaac Chauncey's Lake Ontario squadron.

9 April 1814         

The remaining 98 men and officers of the 2nd Battalion 8th (or King's) Regiment sail from New Brunswick for Quebec.

11 April 1814

The American ship Saratoga (26 guns) is launched at Vergennes, Vermont increasing Master Commandant Thomas Macdonough's Lake Champlain fleet.

13 April 1814

Americans launch the brig USS Jones at Sackets Harbor, New York adding to Commodore Isaac Chauncey's Lake Ontario squadron.

14 April 1814

HMS Prince Regent and HMS Princess Charlotte are launched at Kingston, Upper Canada. The two frigates help Commodore Sir James Lucas Yeo gain control of Lake Ontario for a period during the 1814 navigation season.

Needing more heavily armed vessels to challenge American Commodore Isaac Chauncey for ascendancy of Lake Ontario, Commodore Sir James Lucas Yeo's squadron was reinforced by HMS Prince Regent (56 guns) and HMS Princess Charlotte (42 guns).  In a successful amphibious attack on Oswego, New York, 6 May 1814, the vessels conveyed part of a 550 soldier force, covered their landing and then bombarded the fort.  Although competing interests sometimes strained army-navy relations, joint campaigns occurred throughout the war along the Atlantic coast and on inland waterways; and were utilized by both Britain and the United States. Other notable examples of naval cooperation along fresh water frontiers include the American victory at Fort George and the British action at Forty Mile Creek, both in 1813.

15 April 1814

Captain Arthur Sinclair receives orders to take charge of the American squadron upon Lake Erie replacing Master Commandant Jesse Elliott who is given command of a warship on Lake Ontario.

19 April 1814

Lieutenant-Colonel Robert McDouall and a contingent of British soldiers and sailors depart Glengarry Landing, Upper Canada, to reinforce Fort Mackinac, Michigan Territory.

Lieutenant-Colonel Robert McDouall, two companies of the Royal Newfoundland Fencible Regiment, a handful of Royal Artillerymen and a group of Royal Navy Sailors were ordered from Kingston in February 1814 to reinforce and resupply the British garrison at Fort Mackinac, Michigan Territory.  Travelling overland, they stopped at the forks of the Nottawasaga River in Upper Canada near Georgian Bay and spent two months constructing 29 large boats with which to ship supplies to the post on Michilimackinac Island.  The clearing made by the expedition became known as " Glengarry Landing." McDouall's contingent encountered ice-choked and often storm tossed waters on their journey over Lake Huron to Fort Mackinac. Upon arrival on 18 May McDouall assumed command of the post.

20 April 1814

HMS Orpheus and HMS Shelburne defeat USS Frolic in the Florida Straits.

22 April 1814

A camp of instruction is established by American Major General Jacob Brown at Flint Hill, near Buffalo, New York.

For 10 weeks in the spring of 1814, the Left Division of the U.S. Army trained under Brigadier General Winfield Scott at this camp.  Under Scott, the men drilled up to 10 hours each day and a strict discipline was enforced.  Officers and men were both punished for infractions, and four deserters were executed.  Scott paid scrupulous attention to cleanliness and camp sanitation, virtually eradicating the sickness that decimated the armies of this era.  While popular histories have described this as a basic training camp, in fact Scott trained the largely experienced and battle hardened troops under his command to the high standards of their opponents, the British Army.  Their performance in the battles of Chippawa and Lundy's Lane ensured their place in American history. 

25 April 1814

A plot to destroy the nearly-completed USS Superior on the stocks at Sackets Harbor is foiled when the party of three small British boats sent to accomplish this mission is discovered and chased away by American guard boats.

29 April 1814

USS Peacock takes HMS Epervier off of Cape Canaveral, Spanish Florida.

1 May 1814

Americans launch USS Superior (58 guns) at Sackets Harbor, New York. This vessel, along with USS Mohawk (42 Guns) launched in June, will help restore naval superiority on Lake Ontario to Commodore Isaac Chauncey in the summer of 1814.

6 May 1814           

A British amphibious force captures Oswego, New York.

Denied reinforcements by Governor General Sir George Prevost for a large-scale attack on Sackets Harbor, New York, Lieutenant-Governor Gordon Drummond and Commodore Sir James Lucas Yeo decided instead to capture Oswego, a less fortified but important transshipment port on Lake Ontario from which the U.S. Navy obtained supplies and ordnance.  The British used eight warships and three gunboats to bombard the village and Fort Ontario as well as cover the landing of troops.  The British suffered many casualties but were rewarded with a bounty of provisions, artillery and ammunition, as well as several vessels.  The victory put a temporary strain on supplies and delayed Commodore Isaac Chauncey's ship-building at Sackets Harbor but otherwise did not deal a decisive blow to the Americans on Lake Ontario.

12 May 1814         

The American schooner Ticonderoga (17 guns) is launched at Vergennes, Vermont to strengthen the Lake Champlain squadron.

14 May 1814         

Failed British attack on the American naval yard at Otter Creek (Vergennes, Vermont). The expedition left the naval base at I le aux Noix, Lower Canada on May 8.

14-16 May 1814

American forces under Colonel John Campbell raid and burn Port Dover, Charlottesville, Patterson's Creek and Long Point, Upper Canada.

23 May 1814         

The Ancaster "Bloody" Assize commences.  Upper Canadians accused of treason are put on trial at Ancaster, Upper Canada. 

By 1812 roughly one half of the inhabitants of Upper Canada were American born. Many openly supported the invading Americans and a few took up arms against the King forming a treasonous regiment, "The Canadian Volunteers," led by three former members of the Legislative Assembly.  Nineteen men from the London and Niagara districts were tried for treason at the Ancaster "Bloody" Assize.  Four were acquitted, and 15 men were sentenced to death.  Eight men were executed on 20 July 1814, at Burlington Heights, Upper Canada.  The men were hanged and then beheaded. Seven convicted traitors were reprieved, and of these three died in jail, three were banished and one escaped.  Thirty traitors serving with the Americans were also convicted and their property seized. 

25 May - 24 June 1814

Arrival of British reinforcements at Quebec City, Lower-Canada: 16th Regiment, Royal Artillery, 70th Regiment.

29 May 1814

During a skirmish at Pungoteague Creek, Virginia British forces destroy an American battery.

30 May 1814

A British force under the command of Captain Stephen Popham, consisting of two gunboats, three cutters and 160 seamen and marines is soundly defeated and captured in Sandy Creek, New York, having ventured inland in pursuit of American bateaux.

June 1814

Upon receiving news that Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin Territory fell to the Americans, the Mississippi Volunteers, a British unit formed primarily of voyageurs and fur trappers, is raised at Fort Mackinac to help recapture the lost post. 

1 June 1814

British raids on Cedar Point and St. Jerome's Point, Maryland.

2-5 June 1814

Americans take possession of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin Territory and start construction of Fort Shelby.

3 June 1814

British Secretary for War, Earl of Bathurst, orders Governor General Sir George Prevost to take offensive action against the Americans with the reinforcement of 13,000 regulars that will soon arrive from Europe. Prevost will allocate the majority of these troops to the September 1814 campaign in northern New York near Plattsburg and Lake Champlain.

6 June 1814

The British Secretary for War, the Earl of Bathurst, orders Lieutenant Governor Sir John Coape Sherbrooke to occupy the part of the District of Maine, "which at present intercepts the communication between Halifax and Quebec."

The marches of the 104th Regiment and others had opened British eyes wide to the strategic significance of the Saint John River route as a conduit for reinforcements during winter. The invasion of eastern Maine to secure that route was seen as part of a major offensive that would include escalation of the Chesapeake campaign and the invasion of upper New York via Lake Champlain. The British captured Moose Island, Passamaquoddy Bay on 11 July, and in early September an army-navy contingent of 2,500 men took possession of the entire Maine coast between the Penobscot and St. Croix rivers. This guaranteed that troops who might have to march up the frozen Saint John River would not have to worry about meeting the enemy along the way.

8-10 June 1814

British raids up St. Leonard's Creek, Maryland.

11 June 1814

USS Mohawk (42 guns) launched on Lake Ontario. This vessel, along with USS Superior (58 guns) launched in May, helps restore naval superiority on Lake Ontario for Commodore Isaac Chauncey in the summer of 1814.

12-16 June 1814

British raids up the Patuxent River, Maryland.

Summer 1814       

The Americains construct fortifications at Plattsburg, New York capable of resisting land- or water-based attacks.

19 June 1814

Captain Arthur Sinclair and Lieutenant Colonel George Croghan begin a four-month expedition against the British in the upper Great Lakes.

United States Secretary of the Navy William Jones ordered a joint navy-army expedition to the Upper Great Lakes in early June 1814. The campaign had several objectives: the recapture of Fort Mackinac with an eye to disrupting British-First Nations and Métis relations, the capture of British Fort St. Joseph, the destruction of any British ship construction facilities and generally to secure command of the upper lakes. Captain Arthur Sinclair, commander of the U.S. squadron upon Lake Erie, set sail from Erie, Pennsylvania, on 19 June with seven vessels and contingents of soldiers from several regular regiments led by Lieutenant Colonel George Croghan.  After immense effort the squadron was hauled over the shallows of the St. Clair River and entered Lake Huron in mid-July.   

 

An American gunboat force commanded by Lieutenant Francis Gregory capture the British gunboat Black Snake on the St. Lawrence River near Kingston, Upper Canada. Gregory is forced to scuttle his prize when pursued by additional British gunboats from Kingston.

22 June 1814

HMS Leander defeats USS Rattlesnake off Sable Island, Nova Scotia.

24 June 1814

British marines destroy a battery at Chissinisack (Chesconessex), Virginia.

25 June - 24 July 1814

Arrival of British reinforcements at Quebec City, Lower Canada freed by the cessation of the Napoleonic Wars in Europe: 1st Battalion 82nd Regiment, 4th Battalion 1st Regiment of the Royal Scots, 1st Battalion 90th Regiment, 1st Battalion 6th Regiment, 97th Regiment, Nova Scotia Fencibles.

26 June 1814

Captain Joshua Barney's flotilla breaks through a British naval blockade on St. Leonard's Creek and moves into the Patuxent River, Maryland.

27 June 1814

A raiding force under American naval Lieutenant Francis Gregory burn a nearly completed schooner at Newcastle, Upper Canada.

28 June 1814

USS Wasp captures HMS Reindeer in the English Channel.

 

During a failed American raid on Odelltown, Lower Canada, Lieutenant Colonel Benjamin Forsyth is shot and killed, his body returned to Champlain, New York for burial.

28 June &

7 July 1814

The Americans intercept contraband on Lake Champlain destined for the naval yard at Ile aux Noix, Lower Canada.

29 June 1814

Lieutenant-Colonel Joseph Bouchette, Surveyor General of Lower Canada, gives land grants along the Grand Portage between Lake Témiscouata and the St. Lawrence River to disbanded soldiers of the 10th Royal Veterans Battalion, "for the purpose of facilitating the Communication between Lower Canada and New Brunswick."

June & July 1814

Arrival at Quebec City, Lower Canada of materials and pieces of frigates-in-frame for the naval establishment on the Great Lakes.

← Back    |    Next →

War of 1812 Timeline


Section 1: 1775 - November 1811
Section 2: January 1812 - June 1812
Section 3: July 1812 - September 1812
Section 4: October 1812 - December 1812
Section 5: January 1813 - March 1813
Section 6: April 1813 - June 1813
Section 7: July 1813 - September 1813
Section 8: October 1813 - December 1813
Section 9: January 1814 - March 1814
Section 10: April 1814 - June 1814
Section 11: July 1814 - December 1814
Section 12: January 1815 - 1871

Government of Canada official War of 1812 Bicentennial Website

RELATED LINKS

Home / Accueil

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812 - D’avril 1814 à juin 1814

Chronologie PDF


D'avril 1814 à juin 1814

Avril 1814  

Les Britanniques commencent la construction du fort Mississauga à Niagara, dans le Haut-Canada.

Après avoir pris le fort Niagara aux Américains, les Britanniques érigent un nouveau fort du côté ouest de la rivière Niagara sur la pointe Mississauga. Ces deux forts permettent de contrôler l'embouchure de la rivière. Le fort Mississauga est un petit remblai en forme d'étoile entouré d'un fossé sec et d'une palissade de bois. Équipé de quatre canons de 24 livres et d'une fournaise pour chauffer les boulets à rouge, il offre une plus grande résistance que le fort George, qui a été endommagé. Les Britanniques utilisent les pierres et les briques qu'ils trouvent dans la ville détruite de Niagara pour commencer la construction d'une tour centrale à l'intérieur du fort Mississauga. Le phare de la pointe Mississauga, le premier à avoir été construit sur les rives des Grands Lacs avant la guerre, est également démoli. Le fort est jugé défendable à partir de juillet, au moment même où une nouvelle armée d'invasion américaine traverse la rivière Niagara.

 

L'armée du major-général James Wilkinson se retire à Plattsburgh, dans l'État de New York.

 

Le HMS Linnet est mis à l'eau au chantier naval de l'Île-aux-Noix , dans le Bas-Canada.

4 avril 1814     

 

L'empereur français Napoléon abdique, ce qui permet aux Britanniques d'envoyer plus d'hommes et de navires en Amérique du Nord. 

La prise de commandement par le vice-amiral sir Alexander Cochrane dans le secteur de la Royal Navy couvrant l'Amérique du Nord, le 1er avril 1814, coïncide avec une série de revers pour l'armée française en Europe qui se terminera par l'abdication de Napoléon. Ainsi, les Britanniques peuvent redoubler d'efforts sur tous les fronts en Amérique du Nord. Ayant davantage de navires à sa disposition, Cochrane accroît la pression exercée sur la baie de Chesapeake et étend le blocus des côtes vers le Nord jusqu'en Nouvelle-Angleterre. Le commerce autorisé étant ainsi perturbé, les marchands de Halifax protestent, leurs homologues néo-brunswickois pouvant quant à eux recourir à la contrebande. Cochrane refuse de céder aux plaintes, mais malgré le grand nombre de navires dont il dispose, il lui est impossible de réussir à contrôler un territoire côtier désormais beaucoup plus vaste.

7 avril 1814

Les Américains inaugurent le brick USS Jefferson à Sackets Harbor, dans l'État de New York. Il se joindra à l'escadron du commodore Isaac Chauncey sur le lac Ontario.

9 avril 1814    

Les 98 derniers hommes et officiers du 2e bataillon du 8e régiment (appelé aussi « le régiment du roi ») quittent le Nouveau-Brunswick en bateau à destination de Québec.

11 avril 1814

Le navire américain Saratoga (26 canons) est mis à l'eau à Vergennes, au Vermont. Il se joindra à la flotte du commandant en chef Thomas Macdonough sur le lac Champlain.

13 avril 1814

Les Américains inaugurent le brick USS Jones à Sackets Harbor, dans l'État de New York. Le navire se joindra à l'escadron du commodore Isaac Chauncey sur le lac Ontario.

14 avril 1814

Le HMS Prince Regent et le HMS Princess Charlotte sont mis à l'eau à Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada. Les deux frégates aideront le commodore sir James Lucas Yeo à prendre le contrôle du lac Ontario pendant un certain temps durant la saison de navigation en 1814.

L'escadron du commodore sir James Lucas Yeo, qui nécessite davantage de bâtiments bien armés pour rivaliser avec le commodore américain Isaac Chauncey sur le lac Ontario, peut désormais compter sur le HMS Prince Regent (56 canons) et le HMS Princess Charlotte (42 canons). Lors d'une attaque amphibie fructueuse sur Oswego dans l'État de New York, le 6 mai 1814, ces navires transportent une partie de la force de 550 soldats, couvrent leur débarquement puis bombardent le fort. Bien que les rapports entre l'armée et la marine soient parfois tendus en raison de leurs intérêts divergents, des campagnes conjointes se déroulent tout au long de la guerre sur la côte de l'Atlantique et sur le réseau fluvial intérieur, tant chez les Britanniques que chez les Américains. Parmi les exemples de collaboration des forces navales sur les frontières d'eau douce, citons la victoire américaine au fort George et l'opération britannique au ruisseau Forty Mile, toutes deux en 1813. 

15 avril 1814

Le capitaine Arthur Sinclair reçoit l'ordre de prendre le commandement de l'escadron américain sur le lac Érié en remplacement du commandant en chef Jesse Elliott, à qui l'on confie un navire de guerre sur le lac Ontario.

19 avril 1814

Le lieutenant-colonel Robert McDouall et un contingent de soldats et de marins britanniques quittent Glengarry Landing, dans le Haut-Canada. Ils sont envoyés en renfort au fort Mackinac, dans le territoire du Michigan.

En février 1814, le lieutenant-colonel Robert McDouall, deux compagnies du régiment des Royal Newfoundland Fencibles, une poignée de membres de la Royal Artillery et un groupe de marins de la Royal Navy reçoivent l'ordre de Kingston d'aller renforcer et approvisionner la garnison britannique du fort Mackinac, dans le territoire du Michigan. Voyageant par voie terrestre, les troupes s'arrêtent à la fourche de la rivière Nottawasaga dans le Haut-Canada, près de la baie Georgienne, où elles œuvrent pendant deux mois à la construction de 29 grandes embarcations qui serviront à transporter des provisions jusqu'au fort, situé sur l'île Michilimackinac. La clairière dégagée par les membres de l'expédition sera appelée «  Glengarry Landing ». Le contingent de McDouall doit affronter des tempêtes et des eaux chargées de glaces pendant son trajet sur le lac Huron jusqu'au fort Mackinac. Lors de son arrivée au fort le 18 mai, McDouall prend le commandement du poste.

20 avril 1814

Le HMS Orpheus et le HMS Shelburne remportent une victoire contre l'USS Frolic dans le détroit de Floride.

22 avril 1814

Un camp d'entraînement est mis sur pied par le major-général américain Jacob Brown à Flint Hill, près de Buffalo dans l'État de New York.

Pendant dix semaines au printemps 1814, la division gauche de l'armée des États-Unis s'entraîne sous les ordres du brigadier-général Winfield Scott dans le camp de Flint Hill. Scott instruit les hommes parfois jusqu'à dix heures par jour et impose une stricte discipline. Des soldats et des officiers sont punis pour avoir commis une infraction, et quatre déserteurs sont exécutés. Scott porte une attention minutieuse à la propreté et aux conditions d'hygiène du camp, réussissant presque à éradiquer les maladies qui font des ravages dans les armées de l'époque. Les témoignages qui ont traversé le temps indiquent qu'il s'agissait d'un camp d'entraînement de base. En fait, Scott y instruit les soldats qu'il commande, qui sont pour la plupart expérimentés et endurcis par la guerre, à l'aide des méthodes rigoureuses utilisées par leur adversaire, l'armée britannique. Les exploits de ces troupes lors des batailles de Chippawa et de Lundy's Lane leur confèrent une place dans l'histoire des États-Unis.

25 avril 1814

Un complot visant à détruire l'USS Superior, un navire dont la construction est presque achevée dans les cales de Sackets Harbor, échoue lorsque les trois petites embarcations britanniques qui devaient accomplir cette mission sont découvertes et chassées par des canonnières américaines.

29 avril 1814

L'USS Peacock s'empare du HMS Epervier au large du cap Canaveral, dans la partie espagnole de la Floride.

1 mai 1814

Les Américains inaugurent l'USS Superior (58 canons) à Sackets Harbor, dans l'État de New York. Ce vaisseau, ainsi que l'USS Mohawk (42 canons) mis à l'eau en juin, aidera le commodore Isaac Chauncey à reprendre le contrôle naval du lac Ontario à l'été 1814.

6 mai 1814 

Une force amphibie britannique prend Oswego, dans l'État de New York.

Le gouverneur général sir George Prévost leur ayant refusé des renforts pour une attaque d'envergure sur Sackets Harbor, dans l'État de New York, le lieutenant-gouverneur Gordon Drummond et le commodore sir James Lucas Yeo décident plutôt de s'emparer d'Oswego, un port moins fortifié mais un important point de transbordement sur le lac Ontario où la marine américaine se ravitaille. Mettant à profit huit navires de guerre et trois canonnières, les Britanniques bombardent le village et le fort Ontario et débarquent des troupes. Ils subissent de lourdes pertes, mais leurs efforts sont récompensés lorsqu'ils saisissent des pièces d'artillerie, de grandes quantités de provisions et de munitions ainsi que plusieurs navires. Cette victoire crée une pénurie temporaire de provisions chez les Américains et retarde les activités du chantier naval du commodore Isaac Chauncey à Sackets Harbor, mais elle ne porte pas de coup fatal aux États-Unis sur le lac Ontario.

12 mai 1814   

La goélette américaine Ticonderoga (17 canons) est inaugurée à Vergennes, au Vermont. Elle ira renforcer l'escadron du lac Champlain.

14 mai 1814 

Un raid naval britannique sur le chantier naval américain d'Otter Creek (à Vergennes au Vermont) se solde par un échec. L'expédition avait quitté la base navale de l'Île‑aux‑Noix dans le Bas-Canada le 8 mai.

Du 14 au
16 mai 1814

Des forces américaines dirigées par le colonel John Campbell attaquent et incendient Port Dover, Charlottesville, Patterson's Creek et Long Point dans le Haut-Canada.

23 mai 1814    

Les assises « sanglantes » d'Ancaster commencent. Des habitants du Haut-Canada accusés de trahison sont traduits en justice à Ancaster, dans le Haut-Canada. 

En 1812, environ la moitié des habitants du Haut-Canada sont nés aux États-Unis. Bon nombre d'entre eux appuient ouvertement l'invasion américaine, et quelques-uns prennent les armes contre le roi, créant un régiment de traîtres appelé « Volontaires canadiens » et dirigé par trois anciens membres de l'assemblée législative. Lors des assises « sanglantes » d'Ancaster, 19 hommes des districts de London et de Niagara sont accusés de trahison. Quatre d'entre eux sont acquittés et les 15 autres sont condamnés à mort. Huit seront exécutés le 20 juillet 1814 à Burlington Heights, dans le Haut-Canada : ils seront pendus puis décapités. Les sept autres condamnés obtiendront un sursis. Trois mourront en prison, trois seront exilés et un réussira à s'enfuir. Trente traîtres au service des Américains sont également condamnés, et leurs biens sont saisis.

Du 25 mai au
24 juin 1814

Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec, dans le Bas-Canada : le 16e régiment, un contingent de la Royal Artillery, et le 70e régiment.

29 mai 1814

Lors d'une escarmouche au ruisseau Pungoteague en Virginie, des troupes britanniques détruisent une batterie américaine.

30 mai 1814

Une force britannique commandée par le capitaine Stephen Popham, composée de deux canonnières, trois cotres ainsi que 160 marins et soldats d'infanterie de la marine, subit une cuisante défaite et est capturée à Sandy Creek, dans l'État de New York, après s'être aventurée à l'intérieur des terres à la poursuite de bateaux américains.

Juin 1814

Lorsqu'ils apprennent que Prairie du Chien dans le territoire du Wisconsin a été pris par les Américains, les Britanniques forment au fort Mackinac l'unité des Volontaires du Mississippi, composée surtout de voyageurs et de trappeurs, afin de reprendre ce poste aux Américains. 

1 juin 1814

Les Britanniques font des incursions à la pointe Cedar et à la pointe St. Jerome au Maryland.

Du 2 au 5 juin 1814

Les Américains prennent possession de Prairie du Chien, au Wisconsin, et commencent la construction du fort Shelby.

3 juin 1814

Le secrétaire britannique de la Guerre, le compte de Bathurst, ordonne au gouverneur général sir George Prévost de passer à l'offensive contre les Américains avec l'aide des renforts de 13 000 soldats réguliers qui arriveront bientôt d'Europe. Prévost affectera la majorité de ces troupes à la campagne de septembre 1814 dans le Nord de l'État de New York, près de Plattsburgh et du lac Champlain.

6 juin 1814

Le secrétaire britannique de la Guerre, le compte de Bathurst, ordonne au lieutenant-gouverneur sir John Coape Sherbrooke d'occuper la partie du district du Maine « où les communications entre Halifax et Québec sont actuellement interceptées » [traduction].

Les longues marches effectuées par le 104e régiment et d'autres troupes ont mis en lumière l'importance stratégique du fleuve Saint-Jean en tant que route hivernale pour l'acheminement de renforts. L'invasion de l'Est du Maine, qui vise à assurer la protection de cette route, fait partie d'une offensive d'envergure qui comprend l'intensification de la campagne dans la baie de Chesapeake et l'invasion de la partie nord de l'État de New York par le lac Champlain. Les Britanniques s'emparent de l'île Moose dans la baie Passamaquoddy le 11 juillet, et au début septembre, un contingent de l'armée et de la marine comptant 2 500 hommes prend possession de toute la côte du Maine, entre les fleuves Penobscot et Sainte-Croix. Cette opération fait en sorte que les troupes qui remonteront le fleuve Saint‑Jean en hiver n'auront pas à s'inquiéter de trouver l'ennemi sur leur chemin.

Du 8 au 10 juin 1814

Les Britanniques lancent des raids le long du ruisseau St. Leonard au Maryland.

11 juin 1814

L'USS Mohawk (42 canons) est inauguré sur le lac Ontario. Ce vaisseau, ainsi que l'USS Superior (58 canons) mis à l'eau en mai, aidera le commodore Isaac Chauncey à reprendre le contrôle naval du lac Ontario à l'été 1814.

Du 12 au 16 juin 1814

Les Britanniques lancent des raids le long de la rivière Patuxent au Maryland.

Été 1814        

Les Américains construisent d'importantes fortifications « capables de résister à des attaques terrestres ou navales » à Plattsburgh, dans l'État de New York.

19 juin 1814

Le capitaine Arthur Sinclair et le lieutenant-colonel George Croghan lancent une expédition de quatre mois contre les Britanniques dans le secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs.

Le secrétaire américain de la marine William Jones ordonne l'envoi d'une expédition conjointe de l'armée et de la marine dans le secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs au début de juin 1814. La campagne a plusieurs objectifs : reprendre le fort Mackinac et perturber les relations des Britanniques avec les Amérindiens et les Métis, s'emparer du fort britannique St. Joseph, détruire tout chantier naval britannique et, dans l'ensemble, exercer la suprématie des États-Unis dans le secteur. Le capitaine Arthur Sinclair, commandant de l'escadron américain du lac Érié, quitte Érié en Pennsylvanie le 19 juin à la tête de sept bâtiments et de contingents de soldats issus de plusieurs régiments réguliers dirigés par le lieutenant-colonel George Croghan. Des efforts colossaux sont déployés pour remorquer l'escadron dans les eaux peu profondes de la rivière Sainte-Claire. Les navires atteignent le lac Huron à la mi-juillet.

 

Une force américaine de canonnières commandée par le lieutenant Francis Gregory capture la canonnière britannique Black Snake sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent près de Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada. Gregory est forcé de saborder sa prise lorsqu'il est poursuivi par d'autres canonnières britanniques provenant de Kingston.

22 juin 1814

Le HMS Leander remporte un combat contre l'USS Rattlesnake au large de l'île de Sable, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

24 juin 1814

Des soldats d'infanterie de la marine britanniques détruisent une batterie à Chissinisack (Chesconessex), en Virginie.

Du 25 juin au
24 juillet 1814

Arrivée à Québec, dans le Bas-Canada, de renforts britanniques devenus disponibles en raison de la fin des guerres napoléoniennes en Europe : le 1er bataillon du 82e régiment, le 4e bataillon du 1er régiment des Royal Scots, le 1er bataillon du 90e régiment, le 1er bataillon du 6e régiment, le 97e régiment et les Nova Scotia Fencibles.

26 juin 1814

La flottille du capitaine Joshua Barney force le blocus naval britannique sur le ruisseau St. Leonard et atteint la rivière Patuxent, au Maryland.

27 juin 1814

Une force navale commandée par le lieutenant américain Francis Gregory incendie une goélette presque achevée à Newcastle, dans le Bas-Canada.

28 juin 1814

L'USS Wasp capture le HMS Reindeer dans la Manche.

 

Lors d'un raid infructueux des Américains sur Odelltown, dans le Bas-Canada, le lieutenant-colonel Benjamin Forsyth est tué par balle. Sa dépouille sera rapportée à Champlain, dans l'État de New York, où elle sera inhumée.

28 juin et
7 juillet 1814

Les Américains interceptent sur le lac Champlain des contrebandiers qui approvisionnent en pièces de bois le chantier naval de l'Île-aux-Noix , dans le Bas-Canada.

29 juin 1814

Le lieutenant-colonel Joseph Bouchette, l'arpenteur en chef du Bas-Canada, concède des terres le long du sentier du Grand-Portage, entre le lac Témiscouata et le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à des soldats du 10e bataillon royal des vétérans qui ont quitté le service, « afin de faciliter les communications entre le Bas-Canada et le Nouveau-Brunswick » [traduction].

Juin et
juillet 1814

Arrivée à Québec, dans le Bas-Canada, d'armes et de matériaux en pièces détachées (frigates-in-frame) pour la construction de bâtiments de guerre. Des ouvriers de construction navale et des marins accompagnent cet arrivage.

 

← Précédent    |    Suivant →

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812


Section 1 : De 1775 à novembre 1811
Section 2 : De janvier 1812 à juin 1812
Section 3 : De juillet 1812 à septembre 1812
Section 4 : D'octobre 1812 à décembre 1812
Section 5 : De janvier 1813 à mars 1813
Section 6 : D'avril 1813 à juin 1813
Section 7 : De juillet 1813 à septembre 1813
Section 8 : D'octobre 1813 à décembre 1813
Section 9 : De janvier 1814 à mars 1814
Section 10 : D'avril 1814 à juin 1814
Section 11 : De juillet 1814 à décembre 1814
Section 12 : De janvier 1815 à 1871

Site web officiel du Gouvernement du Canada du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812

LIENS CONNEXES