Home / Accueil

Caponier

Prescott, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1994/01/06

Corner view of the Caponier, showing the simple geometric massing and the pitched roof, clad in metal shingles that is curved at the south end, 1972.; De Jonge, Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parks Canada, W. Wyett, 1972
Corner view
View of east façade of the Caponier, showing the massive masonry walls, evenly coursed at the exterior face, 1980.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parks Canada, K. Darowski, 1980
East façade
View of the passageway leading from the Caponier to the interior of Fort Wellington, showing the long narrow masonry access tunnel, 1991.; De Jonge, Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Interior view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1839/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/09/09

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Caponier at Fort Wellington is located at the Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, which overlooks the St. Lawrence River. Jutting out of the earthworks into the south ditch, the Caponier is a simple defensive structure with low masonry walls laid in a U-shaped footprint. Regularly placed musket loopholes pierce the thick walls and contribute to its military appearance. The curved southern end of the structure is followed by the elegant curve of the pitched roof. The northern end of the structure disappears into the earthworks, where it narrows to a tunnel leading under the earthen mound and out into the fort interior. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Caponier at Fort Wellington is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The Caponier, as part of Fort Wellington, is one of the best examples of a building associated with the period of active defence of Upper Canada, in the context of the upper St. Lawrence frontier in the post-Rebellion era. The threat of an American invasion prompted military authorities to upgrade the principal fortifications in Upper Canada and to improve the defensible works along the Rideau Canal. Fort Wellington was a “revolt station” or a focal point for the militia in the event of a crisis. As part of the fort, the Caponier is also broadly related to the development of the garrison community within the fort, and with the development of the town of Prescott in the late 1830s and the 1840s, when military affairs and the military presence dominated the community. The fort has been operated as a National Historic Site of Canada by Parks Canada since the 1920s.

Architectural Value
The Caponier at Fort Wellington is valued for its good aesthetics and is integral to the defence of the fort by providing defenders with a sweeping fire of the south ditch and thereby preventing invaders from breaching the fort’s outer defences. Its good, functional, 19th century military design is expressed through defensive military features such as the thick walls, musket loopholes, and the protected subterranean access tunnel. Good craftsmanship and materials are evident in the masonry walls and the pitched roof with its elegant curve.

Environmental Value
The Caponier maintains an unchanged relationship to its site, reinforces the historic military character of Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada and is a well-known regional landmark to local residents and to visitors.

Sources: James De Jonge, Four Buildings, Fort Wellington National Historic Sites, Prescott, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, Building Report 90-305; The Caponier at Fort Wellington, Fort Wellington National Historic Site, Prescott, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 90-305.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Caponier at Fort Wellington should be respected.

Its good aesthetics, its functional military design and good craftsmanship and materials, for example:
- the simple geometric massing and the pitched roof, clad in metal shingles that is curved at the south end;
- the robust construction using heavy materials, the massive masonry walls, evenly coursed at the exterior face, roughly coursed at the interior;
- the interior with a ceiling of heavy logs, and the strategically placed loopholes at ground level;
- the long narrow masonry access tunnel and the single open space with its stone slab floor;
- its internal configuration and details.

The manner in which the Caponier at Fort Wellington maintains an unchanged relationship to its site, reinforces the historic military character of the National Historic Site of Canada and is a symbolic and familiar landmark of the region, as evidenced by:
- the ongoing relationship of the Caponier to the grassed ditch in which it sits;
- its simple design and materials that harmonize with the earthworks and maintain a physical relationship between the entrance passageway, the palisade and the south ditch, and other buildings within the military setting;
- its role as an important component within the group of structures that comprise Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada complex, and its strong physical presence and highly visible profile that jut out of the earthworks into the south ditch, which make it familiar to the local community and visitors.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1994/01/06

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Leisure
Historic or Interpretive Site

Historic

Defence
Military Defence Installation

Architect / Designer

The Royal Engineers

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

4781

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada is one of the best preserved nineteenth-century fortifications in Canada. The current structure dates from 1838 and is built on…

Historic image

Officers' Quarters

Located at the Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, the Officers’ Quarters overlooks the St. Lawrence River. The single-storey clapboard-clad log or squared-timber…

Corner view

Blockhouse

The Blockhouse is located at the Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, overlooking the St. Lawrence River. An imposing, pyramidal-roofed structure with massive masonry…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Caponnière

Prescott, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1994/01/06

Vue en angle de la caponnière, qui montre sa volumétrie géométrique simple et son toit incliné, revêtu de bardeaux métalliques, qui est courbé à l’extrémité sud, 1972.; De Jonge, Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parks Canada, W. Wyett, 1972
Vue en angle
Vue de la façade est de la caponnière, qui montre les murs de maçonnerie massifs en pierre à assises régulières à l’extérieur, 1980.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parks Canada, K. Darowski, 1980
Façade est
Vue du passage entre la caponnière et l'intérieur du fort Wellington, qui montre le tunnel d’accès en maçonnerie long et étroit, 1991.; De Jonge, Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Vue de l'intérieur

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1839/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/09/09

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

La caponnière du fort Wellington se trouve au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, emplacement qui surplombe le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Placée en saillie du remblai dans le fossé sud, cette simple structure défensive est composée de murs de maçonnerie de faible hauteur en forme de U. Des meurtrières placées à intervalles réguliers percent les murs épais de l’ouvrage et rehaussent son apparence militaire. L’élégante courbe du toit incliné suit au sud l’extrémité courbe du mur. L’extrémité nord du bâtiment disparaît dans le remblai où il rétrécit en un tunnel traversant le monticule et débouchant à l’intérieur du fort. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

La caponnière du fort Wellington est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’elle présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’elle occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
La caponnière, en tant qu’élément du fort Wellington, est l’un des meilleurs exemples d’un bâtiment associé à la période de défense active du Haut-Canada dans la zone du haut Saint-Laurent après la révolte des Patriotes. La menace d’une invasion américaine a incité les autorités militaires à améliorer les principales fortifications du Haut-Canada et les ouvrages défensifs le long du canal Rideau. Le fort Wellington était un « poste de révolte » ou un point de rassemblement de la milice en cas de crise. La caponnière est aussi largement liée à l’essor de la vie de garnison dans le fort et au développement de la ville de Prescott à la fin des années 1830 et dans les années 1840, lorsque les préoccupations militaires et la présence des soldats dominaient la communauté. Le fort est exploité comme lieu historique national du Canada par Parcs Canada depuis les années 1920.

Valeur architecturale
La valeur de la caponnière du fort Wellington découle de ses qualités esthétiques. Elle fait partie intégrante de la défense du fort en ce qu’elle permettait un tir fauchant en direction du fossé sud, empêchant dès lors les attaquants d’ouvrir une brèche dans les défenses extérieures du fort. Sa bonne conception militaire fonctionnelle du XIXe siècle paraît dans les éléments défensifs comme les murs épais, les meurtrières et le tunnel d’accès souterrain protégé. La qualité de l’exécution et des matériaux employés se voit dans les murs en maçonnerie et la courbe élégante du toit incliné.

Valeur environnementale
La caponnière entretient un rapport inchangé avec son emplacement, renforce le caractère militaire historique du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington et est un repère régional bien connu des habitants de la région et des visiteurs.

Sources : James De Jonge, quatre bâtiments, lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, Prescott (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche, rapport 90-305; Caponnière du fort Wellington, lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, Prescott (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 90-305.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de la caponnière du fort Wellington, devraient être respectés.

Ses belles qualités esthétiques, sa conception militaire fonctionnelle et la qualité de l’exécution et des matériaux employés, c’est-à-dire :
- sa volumétrie géométrique simple et son toit incliné, revêtu de bardeaux métalliques, qui est courbé à l’extrémité sud;
- la construction robuste qui fait appel à des matériaux lourds, les murs de maçonnerie massifs en pierre à assises régulières à l’extérieur et à assises irrégulières à l’intérieur;
- le plafond en rondins massifs à l’intérieur et les meurtrières placées stratégiquement au niveau du sol;
- le tunnel d’accès en maçonnerie long et étroit et l’unique espace ouvert, pourvu d’un plancher en dalles de pierre;
- la configuration et les détails intérieurs.

La façon dont la caponnière du fort Wellington entretient un rapport inchangé avec son emplacement, renforce le caractère militaire historique du lieu historique national du Canada et constitue un repère symbolique et connu dans la région, c’est-à-dire :
- le rapport soutenu entre la caponnière et le fossé herbeux dans lequel elle est située;
- sa conception simple et les matériaux employés, qui s’harmonisent avec le remblai de terre et entretiennent un rapport physique entre le tunnel d’entrée, la palissade et le fossé sud ainsi qu’avec les autres bâtiments situés dans ce cadre militaire;
- son rôle comme élément important du groupe de bâtiments qui forment l’ensemble du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, sa présence physique imposante et sa silhouette très visible qui s’élève au-dessus du remblai dans le fossé sud, qui font que l’ouvrage est connu des habitants de la région et des visiteurs.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

1994/01/06

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Loisirs
Site historique ou d'interprétation

Historique

Défense
Installation de défense militaire

Architecte / Concepteur

Royal Engineers

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

4781

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington est une des fortifications du XIXe siècle les mieux préservées du Canada. La structure actuelle, qui date de 1838, a été…

Historic image

Logements des officiers

Le bâtiment des logements des officiers fait partie du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, emplacement qui surplombe la rivière Saint-Laurent. Le bâtiment est…

Corner view

Blockhaus

Le Blockhaus se trouve au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort Wellington, en surplomb du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cet imposant bâtiment aux murs massifs en maçonnerie, coiffé…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches