Home / Accueil

Former Geological Survey of Canada Building National Historic Site

541 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1955/12/12

Corner view of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building showing the continuation of limestone masonry for all cladding and trim, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Corner view
General view of the main facade of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building showing its modest classically inspired ornamentation including semi-arched window lintels, keystones, broad stone stringcourses, stone quoins, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Front façade
Side view of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building showing the symmetrical rows of large, rectangular windows, its use of double-hung sash windows, and surviving finishes, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Side view

Other Name(s)

Former Geological Survey of Canada Building National Historic Site
Former Geological Survey of Canada Building
Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada
Old Mines Building, Clarendon Hotel

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1863/01/01 to 1917/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2004/12/08

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is a relatively plain three-storey, stone building located on a prominent corner in Ottawa’s Byward market area. The designation refers to the building on its urban lot.

Heritage Value

The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building was designated a national historic site in 1955 because it is one of the oldest remaining buildings erected in the capital and it was the home, at various times, of public services and cultural institutions.

The heritage value of this site resides in its associations with official Ottawa as illustrated by its location, form, materials and massing. The former Geological Survey Building was created in the 1860s from three attached structures have been used individually or as a group as a hotel, army barracks, museum, government offices, commercial offices and shops. The oldest part of the building was constructed in 1863 by a local businessman, James Skead, for the expansion of what was then the British Hotel. Almost as soon as this expansion was completed as the Clarendon Hotel, the owners tried to sell the property, leasing it to the Crown as military barracks from 1864 to 1871. In 1874 it was remodelled once again as a hotel. In 1879 the federal government purchased the property.


As a Crown-owned building, 541 Sussex Drive was first used as the Ottawa home of the Geological Survey of Canada, originally established in Montréal in 1842 by the Province of the United Canadas. In 1877 a new act concerning the Survey, made it a branch of the federal government under the Minister of the Interior. In 1879 the simultaneous decisions were made to purchase the Clarendon Hotel and retrofit it as the offices and museum of the Geological and Natural History Survey of Canada. In addition to the Survey’s important work in supporting the discovery and exploitation of Canada’s vast mineral wealth, its museum collection became the foundation of Canada’s national museums.

Before the Survey moved into the former hotel, the building was used to host the inaugural exhibit of the Canadian Academy of Arts. The works from this exhibit formed the initial collection of the National Gallery of Canada.

The Survey provided services for those interested in geology and natural history for professional, scholarly and business reasons and for the general public. As a consequence, its headquarters at 541 Sussex Street included museum exhibits, a library, a mapping office and laboratories for preparing natural history specimens, analyzing geological materials, and drawing and copying maps. Its museum occupied all three floors of the George Street wing of the building, which was renovated several times, including with funds from the Survey’s founder, William Logan. The Sussex Drive section was rebuilt by a prominent local builder, Thomas Askwith, on its original footprint in 1881 by the Department of Public Works for Survey offices. The Survey, under the Direction of Dr. Alfred Selwyn from 1869 to 1894, remained at 541 Sussex Drive until 1911 when it moved to its new home, the Victoria Memorial Museum.

After the museum and the survey offices moved, 541 Sussex Street was renovated for the Department of Mines. In 1917 a laboratory was added on the east side of the George Street wing.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minute, December 1955.

Character-Defining Elements

Key elements which relate to the heritage value of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building include:
-Its location in the oldest commercial area of Ottawa on the corner of Sussex Drive;
-Its siting, flush to the sidewalks;
-elements that testify to its commercial origins, including its organization around an interior courtyard, its slight setback from Sussex Drive due to its construction on the footprint of an earlier structure, the clear distinction between the formal treatment on the street elevations and the informal treatment on the elevations facing the interior courtyard;
-elements associated with vernacular examples of classicism for commercial buildings of the period, including the regular placement of openings, its modest classically inspired ornamentation including semi-arched window lintels, keystones, broad stone stringcourses, stone quoins;
-elements that relate to the renovation of the structure for government purposes, including the consistency in the treatment of the George Street elevation across the two parts older parts of the building, the continuation of limestone masonry for all cladding and trim, including the one-and-a-half-storey laboratory extension, and the stone construction of the extension;
-elements associated with its use as a museum, including the symmetrical rows of large, rectangular windows along the north and south elevations of its George Street wing, its use of double-hung sash windows, and surviving finishes dating from the building’s use as a museum;
-elements that articulate its construction in three parts, including the use of a hipped roof on the Sussex Street section and a gabled roof on the George Street wing and the distinctive, round-arched window treatment of the laboratory extension;
- its relationship to the interior courtyard and to the building on the north side of the courtyard that served as the stable for the hotel.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date

1955/12/12

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Governing Canada
Government and Institutions
Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life
Science

Function - Category and Type

Current

Commerce / Commercial Services
Eating or Drinking Establishment

Historic

Leisure
Museum
Government
Office or office building

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

460

Status

Published

Related Places

Front façade

Former Geological Survey of Canada Building

The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is a prominent building on Sussex Drive in Ottawa. A corner building, the two principal facades face Sussex Drive and George…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national de l'Ancien-Édifice-de-la-Commission-Géologique-du-Canada

541, promenade Sussex, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1955/12/12

Vue en angle de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada montrant la disposition régulière de la pierre calcaire maçonnée des parements et de la pierre d’ornement, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Vue en angle
Vue générale de l'entrée principale de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada montrant linteaux des fenêtres semi-circulaires, les clés de voûte, les bandeaux en pierre de taille, et les pierres d'angle, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Façade avant
Vue de côté de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada montrant les rangées symétriques de grandes fenêtres rectangulaires, les fenêtres à guillotine double, et les éléments de finition, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Vue de côté

Autre nom(s)

Lieu historique national de l'Ancien-Édifice-de-la-Commission-Géologique-du-Canada
Former Geological Survey of Canada Building
Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada
Old Mines Building, Clarendon Hotel

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1863/01/01 à 1917/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2004/12/08

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada est un bâtiment simple en pierre à trois étages, situé en évidence sur un coin de rue du Marché By à Ottawa. La désignation a trait à l'édifice sur son lotissement urbain.

Valeur patrimoniale

L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada a été désigné lieu historique national en 1955 parce qu’il est l’un des plus anciens édifices préservés de la capitale, et a abrité des services publics et des institutions culturelles à différentes époques.

La valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu a trait à ses liens avec la haute fonction publique, tels qu'exprimés par son emplacement, sa forme, ses matériaux et sa masse. L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique a été fondé dans les années 1860 et faisait partie d’un ensemble de trois bâtiments contigus, qui avaient servi, ensemble ou séparément, d'hôtel, de caserne, de musée, de bureaux du gouvernement, de bureaux d'affaires ou de boutiques. La partie la plus ancienne de l'édifice a été construite en 1863 par James Skead, un homme d'affaires local, pour agrandir ce qui était à l'époque le British Hotel. Une fois ces agrandissements terminés, les propriétaires ont essayé de vendre l'édifice qu’ils renommèrent Hôtel Clarendon. La Couronne l'a loué de 1864 à 1871 pour en faire une caserne. Il a retrouvé sa vocation d’hôtel en 1874, puis acheté par le gouvernement fédéral en 1879.

L'édifice du 541, promenade Sussex, devenu propriété de la Couronne, a d'abord abrité les bureaux de la Commission géologique du Canada, fondée à Montréal en 1842 par la Province du Canada. En 1877, en vertu d’une nouvelle loi, le statut d’institution fédérale relevant du ministère de l'Intérieur fut reconnu à la Commission géologique. En 1879, le gouvernement fédéral acheta l'hôtel Clarendon et le rénova pour qu’il abrite les bureaux ainsi que le musée de la Commission géologique et d'histoire naturelle du Canada. La Commission a joué un rôle important dans la découverte et l'exploitation des vastes richesses minérales du Canada, et la collection de son musée est devenue la fondation des musées nationaux du Canada.

Avant que la Commission déménage dans l'ancien hôtel, l'édifice abritait l'exposition inaugurale de la Canadian Academy of Arts. Les oeuvres qui y étaient exposées constitueront la première collection du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

La Commission offrait des services à ceux qui s'intéressaient à la géologie et à l'histoire naturelle pour des motifs professionnels, éducatifs ou d'affaires, ainsi qu'au grand public. Par conséquent, on y trouvait à son siège social situé au 541, promenade Sussex des pièces muséographiques, une bibliothèque, un bureau de cartographie et des laboratoires où on préparait des spécimens d'histoire naturelle, analysait des matériaux géologiques, et dessinait et reproduisait des cartes. Le musée occupait les trois étages de l'aile de l'édifice située sur la rue George qui a été rénovée plusieurs fois, particulièrement grâce à l’aide financière du fondateur de la Commission, William Logan. La partie donnant sur la promenade Sussex a été reconstruite en 1881 sur son contour au sol initial, sous la direction du ministère des Travaux publics, par Thomas Askwith, un éminent constructeur local, pour abriter les bureaux de la Commission. Celle-ci a été dirigée par Dr Alfred Selwyn de 1869 à 1894, et elle est demeurée à la même adresse jusqu'en 1911, année à laquelle elle a déménagé dans le Musée commémoratif Victoria.

Après le déménagement du musée et des bureaux de la Commission, l’édifice du 541, promenade Sussex a été rénové pour abriter le ministère des Mines. En 1917, une annexe fut ajoutée au côté est de l’aile donnant sur la rue George pour servir de laboratoire.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, décembre 1955.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les éléments liés à la valeur patrimoniale de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada, notons :
- son emplacement dans le plus vieux quartier commercial d'Ottawa, à l’angle de la promenade Sussex;
- sa situation en bordure du trottoir;
- les éléments qui attestent sa vocation commerciale, y compris son articulation autour d'une cour intérieure, son emplacement légèrement en retrait de la promenade Sussex dû à sa construction sur le contour au sol d'un ancien bâtiment, la distinction nette entre l'ancienne architecture formelle des façades donnant sur la rue et l’architecture simple des façades donnant sur la cour intérieure;
- les éléments associés aux exemples d’édifices commerciaux vernaculaires et classiques de l'époque, y compris la disposition régulière des ouvertures, les ornements modestes d'inspiration classique, notamment les linteaux des fenêtres semi-circulaires, les clés de voûte, les bandeaux en pierre de taille, et les pierres d'angle;
- les éléments liés à la rénovation de l'édifice et adaptés à sa nouvelle vocation gouvernementale, y compris la cohérence architecturale de la façade donnant sur la rue George reliée aux deux anciennes parties du bâtiment, la disposition régulière de la pierre calcaire maçonnée des parements et de la pierre d’ornement, y compris l'annexe en pierre d'un étage et demi abritant le laboratoire;
- les éléments liés à son utilisation comme musée, y compris les rangées symétriques de grandes fenêtres rectangulaires le long des façades nord et sud de l'aile donnant sur la rue George, les fenêtres à guillotine double, et les éléments de finition préservés datant de l'époque où l'édifice servait de musée;
- les éléments articulant la construction en trois parties, y compris le toit en croupe de la partie donnant sur la promenade Sussex, le toit à pignon de l'aile donnant sur la rue George, et les fenêtres en plein cintre de l'annexe du laboratoire;
- ses liens avec la cour intérieure et le bâtiment situé au nord de cette cour, qui servait d'écurie à l'hôtel.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1955/12/12

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Gouverner le Canada
Les institutions gouvernementales
Exprimer la vie intellectuelle et culturelle
Les sciences

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Commerce / Services commerciaux
Établissement de restauration ou de débit de boissons

Historique

Loisirs
Musée
Gouvernement
Bureau ou édifice à bureau

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

460

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Front façade

Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada

L’ancien Musée géologique est un bâtiment visible sur la promenade Sussex, à Ottawa. Bâtiment en coin, ses deux façades principales donnent l’une sur la promenade Sussex et…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches