Home / Accueil

Building 28

Québec, Quebec, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1993/06/29

General view of Building 28 (Governor General's Residence), showing its massing consisting of a long, seven bay, horizontal, two storey masonry building, 1993.; Parks Canada Agency/Agence Parcs Canada, C. Rodriguez, 1993.
General view
General view of Building 28, showing its symmetry and regularly-spaced bays reflecting the British neoclassical style, 1980.; Department of National Defence / Ministère de la Défense nationale, 1980.
General view
General view of Building 28 (Governor General's Residence), showing its lightwell along the front of the building allowing light into the basement, and the white painted projecting wood porches that span the lightwell, 1993.; Parks Canada Agency/Agence Parcs Canada, C. Rodriguez, 1993.
General view

Other Name(s)

Building 28
Residence of the Governor General
Résidence du Gouverneur général
Old Officers’ Barracks
Ancienne Caserne des officiers

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1831/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/02/27

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

On attractively landscaped grounds, with a spectacular view of the St. Lawrence River, on the King’s Bastion side of the Québec Citadel National Historic Site of Canada, Building 28, also known as the Residence of the Governor General, is attached to the Former Officer’s Barracks. It is a horizontal two-storey, stone building made up of regularly divided bays with a hipped roof pierced by several stone chimney stacks. A modern addition on the northeast side elevation is designed with the same architectural expression of the older building. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

Building 28 is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
Building 28 is one of the best examples associated with the defence of British North America during the period following the War of 1812. The building, which served as a curtain wall linking Mann’s Bastion and the King’s Bastion, was an integral part of the defensive system. The building is also associated with all of the Governor Generals of Canada who have lived there since Lord Dufferin in 1872, and with the two Québec Conferences of 1943 and 1944. The building is an excellent example that highlights the military role of the Québec Citadel, which had a major impact on the civilian administration and local development of the city of Québec.

Architectural Value
Building 28 is an excellent example of a successful combination of a 19th-century British military building and modern design. This harmonious integration of the old with the new results in an elegant ensemble in which the neoclassical spirit is found throughout. Its excellent functional design responded to two very different requirements serving as a defensive curtain wall and as living quarters for the officers at the Citadel. Elias Walker Durnford supervised the design and construction of the Citadel and is a leading figure in the history of the fortress.

The Environmental Value
Standing parallel to the parade ground, Building 28, with its attractively landscaped grounds including a lawn, trees and stone curbs, forms one of the most striking architectural elements at the Citadel and reinforces the historical military visual character of its surroundings. The building is well known by sight to the residents of the Citadel and is also visible from outside of the complex. It is known by sight to the many residents of Québec and to tourists who have walked along the Promenade des Gouverneurs, the scenic walkway just below the Citadel.

Sources: Rhona Godspeed, The Citadel, Québec, Québec, Federal Heritage Building Report 88-161; Governor Generals Residence, Building 28, The Citadel, Québec, Québec, Heritage Character Statement, 88-161.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of Building 28 should be respected.

Its functional, combination of British military and modern design, with neoclassical decorative elements and high quality craftsmanship such as:
- its massing consisting of a long, seven bay, horizontal, two-storey masonry building, with a basement level, a hipped roof pierced by several stone chimney stacks, and a modern wing emulating this massing comprised of reinforced concrete with glazed solariums and copper roofs;
- its symmetry and regularly-spaced bays reflecting the British neoclassical style;
- its classical elements in both the old and new wing, which include pilasters supporting a continuous cornice, and smoothly finished stone;
- its light well along the front of the building allowing light into the basement, and the white painted projecting wood porches that span the light well;
- its defensive-type system of construction which includes the compartmentalization of the interior spaces on either side of a central corridor and thick walls and vaults to make the building more bomb-proof;
- its large ballroom and two solariums;
- its interior period ornament that reflect the high standing of building such as the foyer, extensive woodwork, mantelpieces, leaded windows, fanlight transom, and plaster ceiling moldings.

The manner in which Building 28 reinforces the historical defensive military character of its fort setting located in the Québec Citadel National Historic Site of Canada.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1993/06/29

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1980/01/01 to 1980/01/01

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Residence
Single Dwelling

Architect / Designer

Elias Walker Durnford

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

4824

Status

Published

Related Places

Aerial view

Québec Citadel National Historic Site of Canada

The Québec Citadel National Historic Site of Canada is the 19th-century fortress located on Cap Diamant in the centre of Québec City. This great stone fortress sits with its back…

General view

Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada

The Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada comprises a number of sites associated with the city of Québec’s historic defence systems. Its components are located…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Bâtiment 28

Québec, Québec, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1993/06/29

Vue générale du bâtiment 28 (résidence du Gouverneur général), montrant la volumétrie du bâtiment, soit un long bâtiment de maçonnerie de deux étages, formé de sept baies, 1993; Parks Canada Agency/Agence Parcs Canada, C. Rodriguez, 1993.
Vue générale
Vue générale du bâtiment 28, qui montre la symétrie et l’espacement régulier des baies, reflet de la tradition néo-classique britannique, 1980.; Department of National Defence / Ministère de la Défense nationale, 1980.
Vue générale
Vue générale du bâtiment 28 (résidence du Gouverneur Général), montrant le puits de lumière qui court le long de la façade du bâtiment et qui éclaire le sous-sol et les porches de bois en saillie, peints en blanc, qui portent sur le puits de lumière, 1993; Parks Canada Agency/Agence Parcs Canada, C. Rodriguez, 1993.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

Bâtiment 28
Residence of the Governor General
Résidence du Gouverneur général
Old Officers’ Barracks
Ancienne Caserne des officiers

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1831/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/02/27

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Sis sur un terrain joliment paysagé avec une vue imprenable sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent du côté du bastion du Roi du lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-de-Québec, le bâtiment 28, aussi connu sous le nom de la résidence du Gouverneur général, est lié à l’ancienne caserne des officiers. Il s’agit d’un long bâtiment de maçonnerie de deux étages, qui se découpe en baies égales et qui est surmonté d’un toit en croupe percé par plusieurs souches de cheminée en pierre. Une aile moderne, ajoutée du côté nord-est, reprend le style architectural de la partie principale du bâtiment. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le bâtiment 28, est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le bâtiment 28 est l’un des plus beaux exemples d’un bâtiment associé au thème de la défense de l’Amérique du Nord britannique après la guerre de 1812. Le bâtiment, qui faisait office de courtine reliant les bastions de Mann et du Roi, faisait partie intégrante de ce système de défense. Le bâtiment 28 est aussi associé à tous les gouverneurs généraux du Canada qui y ont résidé depuis lord Dufferin en 1872, ainsi qu’aux deux conférences de Québec, tenues en 1943 et en 1944. Le bâtiment 28 témoigne du rôle militaire de la Citadelle, qui a eu un impact important sur l’organisation administrative et sur le développement territorial de la ville de Québec.

Valeur architecturale
Le bâtiment 28 est un excellent exemple du mariage réussi d’un bâtiment militaire britannique du XIXe siècle et de la conception moderne. L’intégration harmonieuse du bâtiment d’origine et de l’aile nouvelle résulte en un ensemble élégant qui baigne dans le même esprit néo-classique. La conception fonctionnelle supérieure du bâtiment d’origine répondait à deux impératifs fondamentalement distincts : servir d’une part de courtine, à des fins défensives, et d’autre part de logement pour les officiers de la Citadelle. Elias Walker Durnford, qui a supervisé la conception et la construction de la Citadelle, compte parmi les figures marquantes de l’histoire de la forteresse.

Valeur environnementale
Le bâtiment 28, parallèle au terrain de parade, est bordé par un terrain agréablement paysagé avec une pelouse, des arbres et des murets en pierres et forme l’un des éléments architecturaux les plus frappants de la Citadelle, en plus de rehausser le caractère visuel historique et militaire de l’endroit. Le bâtiment est un point d’intérêt bien en vue pour les habitants de la ville de Québec et pour les touristes qui déambulent sur la promenade des Gouverneurs, un sentier panoramique sous la Citadelle.

Sources : Rhona Godspeed, La Citadelle, Québec (Québec), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport 88-161; Résidence du gouverneur général, bâtiment 28, La Citadelle, Québec (Québec), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale, 88-161.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère du bâtiment 28 devraient être respectés.

Sa conception fonctionnelle, inspirée du style militaire britannique et de la tradition moderne, avec ses éléments décoratifs d’inspiration néo-classique et la qualité supérieure de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- la volumétrie du bâtiment, soit un long bâtiment de maçonnerie de deux étages, formé de sept baies avec un sous-sol, surmonté d’un toit en croupe percé par plusieurs souches de cheminée en pierre, et une aile moderne qui reprend la volumétrie du bâtiment d’origine et qui est faite de béton armé avec des solariums vitrés et un toit en baguettes de cuivre;
- la symétrie et l’espacement régulier des baies, reflet de la tradition néo-classique britannique;
- les éléments classiques que l’on retrouve tant dans le bâtiment d’origine que dans l’aile nouvelle, notamment les pilastres qui soutiennent une corniche continue et le traitement lisse de la pierre;
- le puits de lumière qui courent le long de la façade du bâtiment et qui éclairent le sous-sol et les porches de bois en saillie, peints en blanc, qui couvrent bien la lumière;
- le système de construction de type défensif, soit la compartimentation de l’espace intérieur de part et d’autre d’un corridor central, l’emploi de murs épais et de voûtes pour assurer une résistance supérieure aux bombes;
- la grande salle de bal et les deux solariums;
- l’ornementation intérieure d’époque qui reflète l’importance du bâtiment, notamment le foyer, le foisonnement de boiseries, les manteaux de cheminée, les vitrages plombés, les impostes en éventail et les moulures de plafond en plâtre.

La façon dont le bâtiment 28 rehausse le caractère historique, militaire et défensif de son emplacement dans un fort situé au lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-de-Québec.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1993/06/29

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

1980/01/01 à 1980/01/01

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Résidence
Logement unifamilial

Architecte / Concepteur

Elias Walker Durnford

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

4824

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Aerial view

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-de-Québec

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-de-Québec est une forteresse du XIXe siècle sise sur le cap Diamant au coeur de la ville de Québec. Faisant dos à la falaise…

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada des Fortifications-de-Québec

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Fortifications-de-Québec se compose de plusieurs lieux associés aux systèmes de défense historiques de la ville de Québec. Ces…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches