Home / Accueil

Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall National Historic Site of Canada

801 11th St. SW, Calgary, Alberta, T3C, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1989/06/22

General view of Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall, August 2004.; Parks Canada/Parcs Canada, 2004
General view
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall
Manège militaire Mewata / manège militaire de Calgary
Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall National Historic Site of Canada

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1917/01/01 to 1918/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/06/09

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall National Historic Site of Canada is a large, Tudor Revival style drill hall, located in Calgary, Alberta. The size of the structure, its very complete facilities, and prominent location all speak to the pride in which Canada's emerging military was held at the time of its construction, and to the central role the military was to play in Canadian history in the 20th century. The official recognition refers to the exterior and interior of the building on its property at the time of its designation in 1989.

Heritage Value

Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1989 because:
- it is a good representative example from the third phase of drill hall construction in Canada (1896-1918);
- the scale and bold design of the Mewata Armoury exemplify the wave of national pride that greeted Canada's strong performance in the South African War and which led to a dramatic increase in militia enrolment in western Canada;
- for many years it has been home to the King's Own Calgary Regiment and the Calgary Highlanders, both of which were established in 1910.


The Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall features elements of the third phase of drill halls constructed in Canada, characterized by a departure from the picturesque Romanesque Revival of earlier drill halls, to a more monumental late mediaeval Tudor Revival style. The reduction in superfluous ornamentation and the simplicity of composition reflect a desire to impose discipline on architectural design, typical of the third phase of drill hall construction in Canada.

The scale and bold design of the Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall exemplify the wave of national pride that greeted Canada's strong performance in the South African War. In western Canada, this military enthusiasm led to a dramatic increase in militia enrolment and resulted in the construction of new drill halls and armouries on an unprecedented scale. The Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall, one of the largest and most fully equipped of its type, was built in 1917-1918. For many years it has been home to the King's Own Calgary Regiment and the Calgary Highlanders, both of which were established in 1910.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, June 1989.

Character-Defining Elements

Aspects of this site which contribute to its heritage value include:
- those elements which speak to the third phase of drill hall construction, namely the rational, Beaux-Arts-style interior layout with a large, central drill space surrounded by areas for ancillary functions including weapons storage and practice, physical training and educational programmes, and washrooms;
- those elements which speak to the scale and bold design of the drill hall, specifically the Tudor-revival architectural style evoking medieval fortifications, represented by four large, square, bastion-like corner towers linked by continuous crenelated exterior walls and decorative touches including stylized bartizans, narrow windows and firing slits, red brick surfacing enlivened by decorative stone work, string courses, lintels, voussoirs, and a towered central Tudor-arched entry recalling fortress gates;
- surviving original Tudor-Revival-style interior decor, including the fireplaces, wood wall panelling and faux beams of the officers' mess;
- those elements which speak of the pride attached to Canada's military performance overseas, namely the prominent location and high profile accorded this building in its urban landscape.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date

1989/06/22

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Defence
Armoury or Drill Hall

Historic

Architect / Designer

T.W. Fuller

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

15

Status

Published

Related Places

Corner view

Mewata Armoury

Mewata Armoury, also known as the Mewata Drill Hall, occupies a site in downtown Calgary. It is a large, low-massed structure in the Tudor Gothic style, and is set around a large…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada du Manège-Militaire-Mewata / Manège-Militaire-de-Calgary

801, 11ième rue sud-ouest, Calgary, Alberta, T3C, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1989/06/22

Vue générale du manège militaire Mewata / manège militaire de Calgary, août 2004.; Parks Canada/Parcs Canada, 2004
Vue générale
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Mewata Drill Hall / Calgary Drill Hall
Manège militaire Mewata / manège militaire de Calgary
Lieu historique national du Canada du Manège-Militaire-Mewata / Manège-Militaire-de-Calgary

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1917/01/01 à 1918/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/06/09

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Manège-Militaire-Mewata / Manège-Militaire-de-Calgary est un vaste manège militaire du style néo-Tudor, situé à Calgary (Alberta). La taille de l’édifice, ses équipements très complets et son emplacement privilégié témoignent de la fierté que suscitait la force militaire canadienne naissante au moment de la construction de l’édifice, et le rôle central que les militaires devaient jouer dans l’histoire canadienne du XXe siècle. La reconnaissance officielle désigne l’extérieur et l’intérieur de l’édifice sur son terrain au moment de la désignation en 1989.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le manège militaire Mewata / manège militaire de Calgary a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada car :
- l’édifice illustre bien la troisième phase du programme de construction de manèges au Canada (1896-1918);
- les dimensions et le plan audacieux du manège militaire Mewata témoignent de la vague de fierté nationale avec laquelle le Canada a salué les exploits de ses fils pendant la Guerre d'Afrique du Sud et de l’enthousiasme qui a contribué à la forte croissance de l’enrôlement dans la milice dans l’Ouest canadien, et
- depuis nombre d’années, il abrite le King’s Own Calgary Regiment et les Calgary Highlanders, tous deux fondés en 1910.

Le manège militaire Mewata / Manège militaire de Calgary présente des éléments de manèges de la troisième période de construction au Canada, qui se démarquent par leur éloignement du style néo-roman pittoresque au profit d’un style néo-tudor plus monumental, d’inspiration médiévale. Une réduction dans l’ornementation superflue, accompagnée d’une composition plus simple, reflète une volonté d’imposer une certaine discipline à la conception architecturale, approche typique du troisième stade de construction de manège militaire au Canada.

Les dimensions et le plan audacieux du manège militaire Mewata / manège militaire de Calgary témoignent de la fierté avec laquelle le Canada a salué les exploits de ses fils pendant la Guerre d'Afrique du Sud. Dans l’Ouest canadien, cet enthousiasme militaire a suscité une vague d’enrôlements dans la milice, suivie d’un vaste programme de construction de nouveaux manèges. Le manège militaire Mewata / manège militaire de Calgary, l’un des plus grands et des mieux équipés de ce genre, a été bâti en 1917-1918. Depuis nombre d’années, il abrite le King’s Own Calgary Regiment et le Calgary Highlanders, tous deux fondés en 1910.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, juin 1989.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les aspects contribuant à la valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu, il faut noter :
- les éléments qui témoignent de la troisième phase du programme de construction de nouveaux manèges, à savoir, le plan intérieur rationnel de style Beaux-Arts, le vaste espace d’exercice au centre, entouré d’espaces réservés aux fonctions d’appoint comme le dépôt d’armes et l’entraînement aux armes, l’entraînement physique et les programmes de préparation, et les toilettes;
- les éléments qui témoignent des dimensions et du plan audacieux de ce manège militaire, en particulier le style architectural néo-Tudor rappelant les fortifications médiévales, représenté ici par quatre vastes tours d’angle carrées en forme de bastions reliées par des murs extérieurs crénelés continus, les éléments décoratifs comme les échauguettes stylisées, les ouvertures étroites et les meurtrières, le revêtement de brique rouge rehaussé par le traitement décoratif de la pierre, les assises de ceinture, les linteaux, les voussoirs, et une tour-porche centrale à voûte, de style Tudor, rappelant le portail des forteresses;
- le décor intérieur témoignant du style néo-Tudor d’origine, notamment les foyers, boiseries et fausses poutres du mess des officiers;
- les éléments qui témoignent de la fierté reliée aux exploits militaires du Canada outre-mer, à savoir l’emplacement bien en vue et le prestige de cet édifice dans son paysage urbain.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1989/06/22

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Défense
Manège militaire, salle d'exercices ou arsenal

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

T.W. Fuller

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

15

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Corner view

Manège militaire Mewata

Le manège militaire Mewata, aussi connu sous le nom de la salle d'exercices Mewata, se trouve dans le centre-ville de Calgary. Il s’agit d’un vaste bâtiment bas, exécuté dans le…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches