Home / Accueil

Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling

Strawberry Island, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 2006/12/14

General view of Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling, showing its design and materials typical of the combined square, tapered lighttower and dwelling, 1996.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, Bill Caesar, 1996.
General view
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling
Phare et atelier
Lighttower and Workshop

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1881/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/07/08

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling consists of a three-storey lighttower with an attached, one-and-a-half-storey, gable-roofed dwelling and a one-storey, shed-roofed kitchen. A straight cornice supporting a railed observation platform and octagonal lantern tops the square, tapered tower. Both dwelling and tower sections feature pedimented window surrounds projecting from the tapered walls. The lighthouse is located on a small, low-lying point of land at the northern tip of Strawberry Island, just off the northeastern shore of Manitoulin Island, and overlooks the North Channel in Lake Huron. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling is a very good illustration of the theme of aids to navigation in Canadian inland waters at a time of rapid economic development in the Great Lakes area. As the first light at this strategic location, the lighthouse was built in 1881 to guard the approach to a narrow section of the North Channel and served the developing fishing and shipping industry on Manitoulin Island and the port of Little Current. Over its long life, the lighthouse has been tended by a number of dedicated keepers, namely: Brian McKay, William Mackenzie, Roxy Smith and Alvin Stuart. The lighthouse is associated with the community’s rapid growth linked to local industries, including lumbering and fishing on Manitoulin Island. It continues to operate as an aid to recreational vessels.

Architectural Value
The Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling is a very good example of a combined square, tapered, straight-corniced tower and dwelling. It is notable for its pleasing proportions, its picturesque qualities, its use of red and white colours, its detailing and the vertical alignment of its window openings. Built according to plans prepared by the Department of Marine and Fisheries, it is a simple and elegant response to the combined functional requirements of dwelling and light. The lighthouse was well built, using durable materials and quality of the craftsmanship that reflects the standards of the time. The lighthouse has been carefully maintained over time and retains its appeal while it is used as a seasonal dwelling.

Environmental Value
Surrounded by shoreline on three sides and resting on carefully tended grounds with an informal landscape of small trees, the Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling reinforces the maritime character of the area. The lighthouse sits on a low plane within a nature reserve, isolated from other construction, and is only accessible by boat. Aside from for the enlargement of the deck around the entrance, the site has remained largely unchanged, and the relationship between the lighthouse and its surrounding landscape has retained its character. The lighthouse is well known to recreational boaters navigating the North Channel and is a celebrated symbol for the region.

Sources: Damien Busi, Lighttower and Workshop, Strawberry Island Lighstation, Strawberry Island, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Building Report 06-087; Lighttower and Dwelling, Strawberry Island, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement, 06-087.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Strawberry Island Combined Lighthouse and Dwelling should be respected.

The features that illustrate the theme of aids to navigation in Canadian inland waters during the economic development of the Great Lakes, notably:
- its design and materials typical of the combined square, tapered lighttower and dwelling;
- its strategic location on a narrow section of the North Channel.

Its very good aesthetic design, very good functional design, and its good quality craftsmanship and materials, as manifested in:
- its pleasing proportions and picturesque qualities, characterized by its form, low massing, tapered walls, straight cornice, and cast-iron octagonal lantern set within a railed observation platform;
- its distinctive profile, consisting of a square tapered tower integrated with an attached one-and-a-half-storey gable-roofed dwelling and shed-roofed kitchen;
- the vertical alignment of window openings on each of three sides of the tower with pediments projecting from the tapered walls;
- its simple interior plan, with living space located on each floor of the tower, as well as in the dwelling and kitchen extension, and wooden interior stairs providing access to the light;
- the use of basic durable materials, such as a wood frame construction clad with clapboard and set on a stone foundation;
- the use of white colour for the walls and contrasting red colour for the window surrounds, lantern and roofs of the dwelling, which increase the structure’s daytime visibility.

The manner in which the building reinforces the maritime character of the area and functions as landmark for the region, as evidenced in:
- its siting on a low-lying point of land, isolated from other structures and surrounded by shoreline on three sides;
- its prominent location on the northern tip of Strawberry Island;
- its visibility from the water and the town of Little Current.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

2006/12/14

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Transport-Water
Navigational Aid or Lighthouse

Architect / Designer

Department of Marine and Fisheries

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

11761

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Phare et résidence combinés de l'île Strawberry

Strawberry Island, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 2006/12/14

Vue générale du phare et résidence combinés de l'île Strawberry, qui montre sa conception et ses matériaux typiques du phare au plan carré à la forme effilée qui intègre une fonction résidentielle, 1996.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, Bill Caesar, 1996.
Vue générale
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Phare et résidence combinés de l'île Strawberry
Phare et atelier
Lighttower and Workshop

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1881/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/07/08

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le phare et la résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry se compose d’une tour de trois étages et d’une maison d’un étage et demi au toit à deux versants, avec en annexe, un bâtiment d’un étage à toit en appentis où la cuisine est aménagée. Le phare au plan carré et à la forme effilée se termine par une corniche droite qui supporte la plate-forme d’observation munie d’une rambarde qui entoure la lanterne octogonale. La tour et la résidence présentent des fenêtres dont les chambranles surmontés d’un fronton sont en saillie. Le phare se trouve sur une petite pointe qui forme une dépression à l’extrémité nord de l’île Strawberry, juste au nord-est de l’île Manitoulin, et il domine le North Channel du lac Huron. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le phare et la résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu pour ses associations historiques ainsi que ses valeurs architecturale et environnementale.

Valeur historique
Le phare et la résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry est un très bon exemple permettant d’illustrer le thème des aides à la navigation dans les eaux continentales canadiennes à une époque de développement rapide de l’économie de la région des Grands Lacs. En tant que premier phare à cet endroit stratégique, il a été construit en 1881 afin de garder l’approche d’une section étroite du North Channel. Il a contribué au développement de la pêche et de la marine marchande de l’île Manitoulin et du port de Little Current. Tout au long de sa longue histoire, le phare a été gardé par plusieurs gardiens dévoués, notamment : Brian McKay, William Mackenzie, Roxy Smith et Alvin Stuart. Le phare est associé à la croissance rapide de la communauté liée au développement des industries locales, incluant l’exploitation forestière et la pêche sur l’île Manitoulin. Il continue aujourd’hui de jouer son rôle d’aide à la navigation pour les embarcations de plaisance.

Valeur architecturale
Le phare et la résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry est un très bon exemple d’une combinaison de résidence et de phare au plan carré, à la forme effilée et à la corniche en saillie. Il se distingue par ses proportions agréables, son caractère pittoresque, l’utilisation des couleurs blanche et rouge, ses détails et l’alignement vertical de ses fenêtres. Construit à partir de plans du ministère de la Marine et des Pêcheries, il s’agit d’une réponse simple et élégante à la combinaison d’exigences fonctionnelles liées à la résidence et au phare. Le phare est bien construit, à partir de matériaux durables et la qualité de l’exécution reflète les normes de l’époque. Le phare a été bien entretenu et il conserve toujours son attrait même s’il est maintenant utilisé comme une résidence saisonnière.

Valeur environnementale
Encadré par le rivage sur trois de ses côtés et situé sur un terrain gazonné bien entretenu parsemé d’arbres, le phare et la résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry renforce le caractère maritime du secteur. Il est implanté sur un terrain bas au sein d’un secteur naturel, isolé des autres bâtiments et accessible que par bateau. Son emplacement est demeuré largement intact, à l’exception de l’agrandissement de la terrasse près de l’entrée principale. Sa relation avec le paysage environnant a donc conservé son caractère. Le phare est bien connu des marins qui naviguent sur le North Channel et il est reconnu comme l’un des symboles de la région.

Sources: Damien Busi, Phare et résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry, Station de l’île Strawberry, île Strawberry, Ontario. Bureau d’examen des edifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 06-087; Phare et résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry, Ile Strawberry, Ontario, Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale, 06-087.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère du phare et de la résidence combinés de l’île Strawberry devraient être respectés.

Les traits qui illustrent le thème des aides à la navigation dans les eaux continentales canadiennes pendant une période de développement économique des Grands Lacs, notamment :
- sa conception et ses matériaux typiques du phare au plan carré à la forme effilée qui intègre une fonction résidentielle ;
- sa position stratégique dans une section étroite du canal Nord.

Sa très bonne conception esthétique et fonctionnelle et la bonne qualité de l’exécution et des matériaux, qui se manifestent dans :
- ses proportions agréables et son caractère pittoresque, caractérisés par ses formes, sa base massive, son plan carré et ses murs effilés, sa corniche droite, sa lanterne octogonale placée sur une plate-forme d’observation entourée d’une rambarde ;
- son profil particulier, composé d’une tour au plan carré et à la forme effilée intégrée à une résidence d’un étage et demie-surmontée d’un toit à deux versants et d’une cuisine à toit en appentis en annexe ;
- l’alignement vertical de ses fenêtres sur chacun des trois côtés de la tour et leurs frontons en saillie ;
- son plan intérieur simple, avec des espaces habitables situés sur chacun des niveaux de la tour, ainsi que dans la résidence et l’annexe de la cuisine, et l’escalier en bois permettant d’accéder au faisceau de lanterne ;
- l’utilisation de matériaux simples et durables, comme la structure de bois recouverte de clin de bois reposant sur des fondations de pierre ;
- l’utilisation de la couleur blanche pour les murs et du rouge pour le chambranle des fenêtres, la lanterne et les toits de la résidence, qui améliorent sa visibilité pendant la journée.

La manière dont le phare renforce le caractère maritime du secteur et agit en tant que point de repère pour la région, qui se manifestent dans :
- son implantation sur les basses terres de l’île, isolé des autres bâtiments et encadré par le rivage sur trois de ses côtés;
- sa localisation à l’extrémité nord de l’île Strawberry ;
- sa visibilité à partir du large ainsi que de la ville de Little Current.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

2006/12/14

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Transport maritime
Phare ou aide à la navigation

Architecte / Concepteur

Ministère de la Marine et des Pêcheries

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Salle de documentation, 5e étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec.

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

11761

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches