Home / Accueil

Beechey Island Sites National Historic Site of Canada

Beechey Island, Nunavut, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1993/11/20

General view of the Franklin wintering camps area showing two graves reproduction, one being the grave of William Braine who served in the Royal Marine and took part in the Franklin Expedition in HMS Erebus, 2015.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada, A.Fitzsimmons, 2015.
General view
General view of the surrounding of Northumberland House, showing a tin can cross and the monument to Franklin, 2015.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada, S. Fitzsimmons, 2015.
General view
General view of the ruins of Northumberland House and the former contents of the house scattered about the area including barrel staves and coal, 2015.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada, S. Fitzsimmons, 2015.
General view

Other Name(s)

Beechey Island Sites National Historic Site of Canada
Beechey Island Sites
Sites de l'île Beechey
Franklin Wintering Camp, Northumberland House, H.M.S. Breadalbane, Devon Island site
Campement d'hiver Franklin, maison Northumberland, H. M. S. Breadalbane, site de l'île Devon

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2010/06/17

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Beechey Island Sites National Historic Site of Canada is located primarily on Beechey Island, a peninsula connected to Devon Island, in the Arctic Archipelago of Nunavut. It is a bare, windswept island, which rises to a small hill, fringed by a narrow beach. This setting provided suitable flat and sheltered land for Arctic expeditions. The site is comprised of five archaeological sites on Beechey Island, and Devon Island and in the nearby sea, namely the Franklin wintering camp of 1845-46, Northumberland House, the Devon Island site at Cape Riley, two message cairns and HMS Breadalbane National Historic Site of Canada. Official recognition refers to six polygons encompassing the principal archaeological zones both on land and in nearby shallow waters in their existing spatial relationships.

Heritage Value

Beechey Island Sites was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1993 because:
- it comprises the 1845-46 wintering site of Sir John Franklin's ill-fated Northwest Passage Expedition as well as an archaeological complex containing representatives of most types of 19th-century Arctic exploration sites;
- the Island is also an important shrine for visitors because of its association with the "grand rendezvous" for the Franklin search expeditions of 1852-54, which resulted in the exploration and mapping of a large part of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago, and with the "myth of Franklin".

Beechey Island Sites is associated with the exploration of Canada’s High Arctic. Over the years, many different ship crews wintered here, beginning with Sir John Franklin’s team in 1845-46. The party wintered on Beechey Island during its search for a Northwest Passage, but became icebound off King William Island the next year. All eventually perished, leaving scanty records of the exploration. As a result of their disappearance, Franklin’s expedition became the cause of a massive survey and exploration of a large portion of the Canadian Arctic. Beechey Island was used as a base and supply depot for these expeditions for the next decade. The search led to further significant discoveries, including the discovery of three Northwest Passages and the mapping of half of the Canadian Arctic. This flurry of activity left a large number of archaeological resources on the island and in the waters adjacent, ranging from cairns and graves to the ruins of wooden buildings and the wreck of HMS Breadalbane.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board, Minutes, November 1993, July 2007.

Character-Defining Elements

Key elements contributing to the heritage value of this site include:
- its location on Beechey Island, Devon Island and the nearby sea in the Arctic Archipelago of Nunavut;
- its setting on a bare, windswept landscape, which rises to a small hill, fringed by a narrow beach, providing suitable flat and sheltered land for Arctic expeditions;
- any archaeological resources related to the Franklin wintering camp, including any remaining structural material or artifacts from the washing, drying, and forge areas, the carpenter’s shop, the storehouse and the garden area, as well as any grave mounds, memorials, cairns, and depressions;
- any archaeological resources related to Northumberland House, including any remaining structural materials, tent rings, cairns, memorials, and artifacts;
- any archaeological resources related to HMS Breadalbane National Historic Site of Canada, including the underwater remains of the ship, the hull, fragments of the vessel and the surrounding debris field;
- any archaeological resources related to the Devon Island site at Cape Riley, including pre-contact tent-rings and structures, structural features from the Franklin occupation and the Franklin search expeditions, cairns and artifacts, including those from the cargo of HMS Breadalbane;
- the two cairns located at the top of Beechey Island;
- evidence of pre-contact Aboriginal and Inuit occupation, including tent rings, structural material, and artifacts;
- the integrity of any surviving or as yet unidentified archaeological remains which may be found within the site in their original placement and extent, including any above ground or below ground or underwater archaeological remains related to the occupation by Sir John Franklin’s expedition, and by subsequent expeditions;
- viewscapes to and from each site and across Erebus and Union Bays.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date

1993/11/20

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1845/01/01 to 1846/01/01
1852/01/01 to 1854/01/01

Theme - Category and Type

Peopling the Land
People and the Environment
Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life
Science

Function - Category and Type

Current

Undetermined (archaeological site)
Exposed Site

Historic

Religion, Ritual and Funeral
Mortuary Site, Cemetery or Enclosure
Community
Settlement

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

Heritage Conservation and Commemoration Directorate, Documentation Centre, 3rd Floor, Room 366, 30 Victoria St, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

809

Status

Published

Related Places

Franklin Expedition member

Beechey Island

Located in the Canadian Arctic Archipelago, Beechey Island is associated with one of the most tragic episodes of arctic exploration history. During the winter of 1845-46, Sir John…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada des Sites-de-l'Île-Beechey

Beechey Island, Nunavut, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1993/11/20

Vue générale du camp d'hivernage de Franklin montrant deux reproductions de stèles dont une étant celle de William Braine qui a servi dans la Marine Royale et pris part à l'expédition Franklin à bord du HMS Erebus, 2015.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada, A.Fitzsimmons, 2015.
Vue générale
Vue générale des alentours de la maison Northumberland montrant une croix formée de boîtes en étain et le monument à Franklin, 2015.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada, A. Fitzsimmons, 2015.
Vue générale
Vue générale des vestiges de la maison Northumberland et des restes du contenu de l'époque éparpillés dont des douves de tonneaux et du charbon, 2015.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada, A. Fitzsimmons, 2015.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

Beechey Island Sites
Sites de l'île Beechey
Franklin Wintering Camp, Northumberland House, H.M.S. Breadalbane, Devon Island site
Campement d'hiver Franklin, maison Northumberland, H. M. S. Breadalbane, site de l'île Devon
Lieu historique national du Canada des Sites-de-l'Île-Beechey

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2010/06/17

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Sites-de-Beechey Island est principalement situé sur Beechey Island, une péninsule reliée à Devon Island, dans l’archipel Arctique, au Nunavut. Cette île dénudée et balayée par les vents se compose d’une petite colline entourée d’une étroite plage. Sa topographie en faisait un lieu suffisamment plat et abrité pour servir lors des expéditions dans l’Arctique. Le lieu comprend cinq sites archéologiques, situés sur Beechey Island et Devon Island et dans les eaux environnantes, à savoir le camp d’hivernage utilisé en 1845-1846 par les membres de l’expédition de Franklin, la maison Northumberland, le site archéologique de Devon Island, situé au Cape Riley, deux cairns portant des inscriptions et le lieu historique national du Canada de la HMS Breadalbane. La reconnaissance officielle vise six polygones qui englobent les principales zones archéologiques à la fois sur terre et dans les eaux peu profondes environnantes ainsi que les liens spatiaux existant entre eux.

Valeur patrimoniale

Les Sites de Beechey Island ont été désignés lieu historique national du Canada en 1993 parce que :
— ils comprennent l'endroit où Sir John Franklin et ses hommes ont passé l'hiver 1845-1846 pendant leur malheureuse expédition en vue de découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest ainsi qu'un ensemble archéologique où sont représentés presque tous les types d'endroits qui ont été explorés dans l'Arctique au XIXe siècle;
— l'île est également un haut lieu pour les visiteurs, parce qu'elle rappelle le grand rendez-vous des expéditions parties à la recherche de Franklin entre 1852 et 1854, expéditions grâce auxquelles une grande partie de l'archipel arctique canadien a pu être explorée et sa configuration reportée sur des cartes géographiques, et parce qu'elle évoque aussi le «mythe de Franklin».

Les Sites de Beechey Island est associé à l’exploration du Haut-Arctique canadien. Au fil des ans, de nombreux équipages hivernèrent sur l’île, à commencer par l’équipe de sir John Franklin, en 1845-1846. Les membres de l’expédition passèrent l’hiver à cet endroit, durant leurs recherches du passage du Nord Ouest, mais se retrouvèrent pris dans les glaces l’hiver suivant, au large de King William Island. Ils finissent tous par périr, laissant ainsi très peu de traces de leur travail d’exploration. Les recherches lancées à la suite de la disparition de Franklin et de son équipe donnèrent lieu à l’exploration d’une grande partie de l’Arctique canadien et à des travaux importants de cartographie de la région. Pendant les dix années qui suivirent, Beechey Island fût utilisé comme base et dépôt de vivres pour ces expéditions de recherche, qui menèrent aussi à d’autres avancées significatives, y compris la découverte de trois passages du Nord-Ouest et la cartographie de la moitié de l’Arctique canadien. En raison de ces activités intensives, de nombreuses ressources archéologiques furent retrouvées sur l’île et dans les eaux avoisinantes, notamment des cairns, des tombes, des ruines de bâtiments en bois et l’épave du HMS Breadalbane.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, novembre 1993, juillet 2007.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les éléments caractéristiques qui donnent au lieu sa valeur patrimoniale, notons :
— son emplacement, sur Beechey Island, Devon Island et dans les eaux environnantes de l’archipel Arctique, au Nunavut;
— sa situation, sur une île dénudée et balayée par les vents formée d’une colline entourée d’une plage étroite, ce qui en faisait un lieu suffisamment plat et abrité pour servir lors des expéditions dans l’Arctique;
— les ressources archéologiques liées au camp d’hivernage de Franklin, y compris les structures et artéfacts provenant des installations de lavage et de séchage, de la forge, de l’atelier du charpentier, de l’entrepôt et du jardin, les monticules funéraires, les monuments commémoratifs, les cairns et les dépressions;
— les ressources archéologiques associées à la maison Northumberland, notamment les structures, les cercles de tente, les cairns, les monuments commémoratifs et les artéfacts;
— les ressources archéologiques sous-marines liées au lieu historique national du Canada de la HMS Breadalbane, entre autres les vestiges, les fragments, la coque du navire et le champ de débris avoisinant;
— les ressources archéologiques associées au site de Devon Island, situé au Cape Riley, y compris les structures et les cercles de tente construits avant l’arrivée des premiers Européens, les structures érigées par les membres de l’expédition de Franklin et les équipes parties à leur recherche, les cairns et les artéfacts, y compris ceux provenant de la cargaison de la HMS Breadalbane;
— les deux cairns érigés au sommet de Beechey Island;
— les traces de l’occupation de l’endroit par les Autochtones et les Inuits avant l’arrivée des premiers Européens, y compris les cercles de tente, les structures et les artéfacts;
— l’intégrité des vestiges archéologiques qui subsistent ou qui n’ont pas encore été mis au jour, mais qui pourraient l’être à leur emplacement et dans leur état d’origine, y compris les vestiges qui se trouvent en surface ou sous la terre ou l’eau et qui sont liés à l’occupation de l’endroit par Franklin et son équipe et par les expéditions subséquentes;
— les points de vue sur les sites archéologiques et les points de vue qui s’offrent depuis ces sites sur Erebus Bay et Union Bay.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1993/11/20

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

1852/01/01 à 1854/01/01
1845/01/01 à 1846/01/01

Thème - catégorie et type

Exprimer la vie intellectuelle et culturelle
Les sciences
Un territoire à peupler
Les habitants et l'environnement naturel
Économies en développement
Communications et transport

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Communauté
Établissement

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale de la conservation et de la commémoration du patrimoine, Centre de documentation, 3e étage, salle 366, 30 rue Victoria, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

809

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Franklin Expedition member

Île Beechey

L’île Beechey, située dans l’archipel arctique canadien, est liée à l’un des épisodes les plus tragiques de l’histoire de l’exploration de l’Arctique. Pendant l’hiver 1845-1846,…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches