Home / Accueil

Museum and Caretaker's House

Louisbourg, Nova Scotia, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1991/08/08

Side view of the Museum and Caretaker's House, showing the simple rectangular massing of the two buildings with the one-and-one-half-storey construction.; Canadian Parks Services, Human Resources Directorate /  Service canadien des parcs, Direction des ressources humaines, n.d.
Side view
Detail view of the Museum showing the elegant cut stone entry surround of the entrance.; National Film Board of Canada \ Office national du film du Canada, D622089, n.d.
Detail
No Image

Other Name(s)

Museum / Caretaker's Residence
Museum and Caretaker's House

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1935/01/01 to 1936/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/07/05

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Situated within the picturesque setting of the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada, the Museum and Caretaker’s House are both sandstone-faced one-and-one-half-storey buildings with simple rectangular footprints. The slightly bell cast copper roofs are pierced by a stone chimney on the Caretaker’s residence, and by hipped dormers on both buildings. The principle façade of the House faces the north end of the Museum across a square walled courtyard. A formal symmetry is evident in the placement of dormers and multi-paned segmentally arched windows. The windows and door surrounds are of dressed stone and the Museum’s stone door surround is surmounted by a dormer with elaborate Baroque detailing. The Museum’s rear elevation is pierced with loophole windows. The designation is confined to the footprints of the buildings.

Heritage Value

The Museum and Caretaker’s House are Classified Federal Heritage buildings because of their historical associations, and their architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value:
The Museum and Caretaker’s House are very good examples of structures built to present and commemorate Canadian history. In this case it is the theme of French-British conflict. The buildings constitute one of the very best examples of the type of project implemented with funds made available by the Public Works Construction Act of 1934, which was designed to provide relief during the Great Depression in the form of spending on Public Works. The Museum is associated with John Stewart McLennan, an early proponent of the reconstruction of the Fortress of Louisbourg and who was instrumental in the eventual commitment of Federal Funds for its development. The Museum is also associated with Katherine Mclennan, his daughter who served as the honorary curator from its inception until 1961.

Architectural Value:
The Museum and Caretaker’s House are very good examples of buildings derived from simplified French colonial architecture of the Baroque era, and reflect the popularity of colonial revival styles in the 1920s and 1930s. The Museum and Caretaker’s House’s values reside in their simplified French colonial Baroque style, symmetrical massing, and the very good quality of their materials and craftsmanship.
While they are two separate buildings, they were designed and built as one project, with common foundations and shared services.

Environmental Value:
Prominent and highly visible for 25 years as the only buildings on the site, they are now neither as noticeable nor as central to the operation of the National Historic Site. The historical relationship between the buildings and the immediate environment remains unchanged. They remain significant as a symbol of the site’s beginnings and as structures that reinforce the historical nature of the site without attempting to replicate original buildings. They reinforce the present character of the area being familiar landmarks to both residents and visiting tourists.

Sources: Shannon Rickets, Museum and Caretaker’s House, Fortress of Louisbourg National Park, Nova Scotia. Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Report 90-304;Fortress of Louisbourg National Park, Museum and Caretakers House, Nova Scotia, Heritage Character Statement 90-304.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Museum and Caretaker’s House should be respected.

Its French colonial architecture of the Baroque era inspired design and good quality materials and craftsmanship as evidenced in:
- the simple rectangular massing of the two buildings with the one-and-one-half-storey construction;
- the slightly bell cast hipped roofs pierced with hipped dormers and covered with copper sheeting;
- the sandstone stonework of the exterior walls with the window and door surrounds of dressed stone;
- the elegant cut stone entry surround of the entrance;
- the interior ornamental beams springing from decorative plaster shields and geometric cornice mouldings.

The manner in which the buildings reinforce the historic site within the dramatic open landscape of the area.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1991/08/08

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Leisure
Museum

Historic

Residence
Single Dwelling

Architect / Designer

W.D. Cromerty

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

4777

Status

Published

Related Places

General view showing defensive wall and cannons.

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Fortress of Louisbourg is the largest reconstructed 18th-century French fortified town in North America, located on the southeast edge of Louisbourg Harbour adjacent to the…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Musée et la maison du gardien

Louisbourg, Nouvelle-Écosse, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1991/08/08

Vue latérale du musée et de la maison du consierge, montrant le groupement simple et rectangulaire des deux édifices d’un étage et demi avec leurs toits en croupe revêtus de cuivre où sont percées des lucarnes à comble brisé.; Canadian Parks Services, Human Resources Directorate /  Service canadien des parcs, Direction des ressources humaines, n.d.
Vue de la façade latérale
Vue des détails du musée démontrant l’élégant chambranle en pierre taillée de l’entrée.; National Film Board of Canada \ Office national du film du Canada, D622089, n.d.
Détail
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Museum / Caretaker's Residence
Musée et la maison du gardien

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1935/01/01 à 1936/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/07/05

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Situés dans le cadre pittoresque du lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, le musée et la maison du gardien sont tous deux des édifices en grès d’un étage et demi dont le contour au sol forme un simple rectangle. Les deux sont coiffés de toits en croupe revêtus de cuivre où sont percées des lucarnes à comble brisé; une cheminée en pierres se dresse sur le toit de la maison du gardien. La façade principale de la maison fait face à l’extrémité nord du musée et donne sur une cour carrée enfermée par des murs. Une symétrie formelle se remarque dans la disposition des lucarnes et des fenêtres à arc segmentaire et à carreaux multiples. Les chambranles de porte et de fenêtre sont en pierre taillée; le chambranle en pierre de la porte du musée est surmonté d’une lucarne comportant des détails ouvragés d’inspiration baroque. La face arrière du musée est percée de meurtrières. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol des bâtiments.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le musée et la maison du gardien ont été désignés édifices fédéraux du patrimoine classés en raison de leur importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’ils présentent sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’ils occupent au sein de leur milieu.

Valeur historique
Le musée et la maison du gardien sont de très bons exemples de structures construites pour présenter et commémorer l’histoire du Canada. Dans ce cas, le thème retenu est celui des conflits opposant Français et Britanniques. Le musée et la maison du gardien sont un des plus beaux exemples des édifices bâtis en vertu de la Loi canadienne de 1934 sur la construction d’ouvrages publics qui se voulait une mesure d’aide pendant la dépression, sous forme de dépenses consacrées aux travaux publics. Le musée est associé à John Stewart McLennan, qui fut une des premières personnes à proposer l’idée de reconstruire la forteresse et qui influença la décision du gouvernement fédéral de consacrer des fonds au projet. Le musée est aussi associé à Katherine McLennan, sa fille, qui en fut la conservatrice honoraire depuis sa création jusqu’en 1961.

Valeur architecturale
Le musée et la maison du gardien sont un très bel exemple de l’architecture coloniale française du siècle baroque et traduit la popularité des styles néo-coloniaux au cours des années 1920 et 1930. La valeur du musée et la maison du gardien réside dans son style inspiré de l’architecture coloniale française du siècle baroque, du groupement symétrique des édifices et de la qualité supérieure des matériaux et de l’exécution. Le musée et la maison du gardien sont deux bâtiments distincts, mais sur les plans et dans les faits, il s’agit d’une construction unique, avec une seule fondation et des équipements techniques communs.

Valeur environnementale
Le musée et la maison du gardien ont dominé les lieux et ont été hautement visibles pendant 25 ans puisqu’ils étaient les seules structures sur place; ils sont aujourd’hui nettement moins visibles et leur rôle dans l’exploitation du lieu historique nationale a perdu de son importance. Le rapport historique entre les édifices et le cadre n’a pas changé. Ils continuent d’être un symbole important des débuts du lieu et affirment le caractère historique de l’endroit sans chercher à reproduire fidèlement les bâtiments d’origine. Ils soulignent le caractère actuel de l’endroit et sont un point de repère familier tant pour les gens de la région que pour les touristes.

Sources : Shannon Rickets, Musée et maison du gardien, lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de- Louisbourg (Nouvelle-Écosse). Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche 90-304; Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, Musée et maison du gardien (Nouvelle-Écosse), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 90-304.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère du musée et la maison du gardien devraient être respectés.

Leur style inspiré de l’architecture coloniale française du siècle baroque et la qualité supérieure des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- le groupement simple et rectangulaire des deux édifices d’un étage et demi avec leurs
toits en croupe revêtus de cuivre où sont percées des lucarnes à comble brisé;
- les façades extérieures en grès percées de fenêtres et de portes à chambranles en pierre taillée;
- l’élégant chambranle en pierre taillée de l’entrée;
- à l’intérieur du musée, les poutres d’ornement qui surgissent des écussons de plâtre décoratifs et les moulures crénelées des corniches.

La façon dont les édifices affirment le caractère historique de l’endroit dans un saisissant panorama dégagé.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1991/08/08

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Loisirs
Musée

Historique

Résidence
Logement unifamilial

Architecte / Concepteur

W.D. Cromerty

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

4777

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view showing defensive wall and cannons.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg est la plus grande reconstruction de ville fortifiée française du XVIIIe siècle en Amérique du Nord, située à…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches