Home / Accueil

Armoury

100 Montreal Street, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1989/08/31

Façade of the Armoury, showing the prominent three-storey projecting frontispiece, consisting of a troop door and two flanking stair towers, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Adell, 1989.
Façade
General view of the Armoury, showing its picturesque detailing carried around all sides, embellishing the essentially warehouse-like form of the Armoury, 1988.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Adell, 1988.
General view
No Image

Other Name(s)

Armoury
Kingston Drill Hall
Salle d'exercices de Kingston

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1899/01/01 to 1900/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/07/26

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Located in a residential and commercial district in the former Royal Artillery Park, the Armoury, also known as the Kingston Drill Hall, is a two-storey, heavy stone structure. A long principal façade articulated by a prominent three-storey projecting frontispiece, serves as the main entrance and consists of a troop door and two flanking stair towers. There are two rows of evenly spaced, deeply set windows along the long wall, crenels across the frontispiece, and large decorative corbels around the side towers. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Armoury is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The Armoury is a very good illustration of drill halls built to support an expanded role for the militia, by providing local training facilities for their use. It is of one of the largest and best equipped of the battalion drill halls constructed by the federal government between 1896 and 1911. The Armoury is also significant for its role as the headquarters of the 1863 Princess of Wales Own Regiment, one of the oldest regiments in Canada.

Architectural Value
The Armoury is an excellent example of aesthetic and functional design featuring medieval revival features and picturesque qualities. Its picturesque medieval revival features are derived in simplified form from the Halifax Drill Hall designed by Thomas Fuller, which served as an architectural prototype for the Public Works design staff under his supervision. It is characterized by its functional plan, modern structural design and its medieval revival features.

Environmental Value
A focal point of the local area, the Armoury maintains a position along Montreal Street defining one side of what is left of the Royal Artillery Park. Along with the former barracks on its other side, it defines a limited precinct of important military character. A number of 19th-century stone buildings, including houses, a church and some commercial buildings, unite with the drill hall to establish and enhance the character of the residential neighbourhood that it helped establish. It is a well-known structure whose site, near the centre of the town overlooking the remnants of the Royal Artillery Park gives the building a relatively high visibility and its civic space is often used for community activities.

Sources: Jacqueline Adell, Armoury , Montreal Street, Kingston, Ontario, Federal Heritage Building Report 88-139; Kingston Drill Hall, Montreal Street, Kingston, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement, 88-139.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Armoury should be respected.

Its aesthetic and functional plan, modern structural design and medieval revival features as manifested in:
- its two-storey, heavy stone structure with a long, centrally located principal façade articulated by a prominent three-storey projecting frontispiece, consisting of a troop door and two flanking stair towers, and balanced by two smaller towers located at the junction of the front and side walls enriched with castle-like crenelations and corbels at parapet level;
- its principal façade executed in rough-faced and random coursed Trenton limestone and its picturesque detailing carried around all sides, embellishing the essentially warehouse-like form of the Armoury;
- its wooden windows of varying sizes and shapes set deeply into limestone walls, playing a significant part in establishing the buildings romantic character;
- the layout and design of the Armoury, with offices, messes, and armouries set around three sides of a galleried open hall;
- the iron fink trusses over the drill hall typically employed in turn of the century armouries, which allow for large, open spaces.

The manner in which the Armoury establishes the character of its residential neighbourhood setting.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1989/08/31

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Defence
Armoury or Drill Hall

Historic

Architect / Designer

Thomas Fuller

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

3419

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Manège militaire

100, rue Montréal, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1989/08/31

Façade du manège militaire, qui montre un avant-corps de trois étages terminé par un fronton, muni d’une porte d’entrée pour les troupes flanquée de deux tourelles dans lesquelles se trouvent les escaliers, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Adell, 1989.
Façade
Vue générale du manège militaire, qui montre les détails pittoresques qui ornent tous les murs embellissant le manège militaire dont la forme de base est plutôt celle d’un entrepôt, 1988.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Adell, 1988.
Vue générale
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Manège militaire
Kingston Drill Hall
Salle d'exercices de Kingston

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1899/01/01 à 1900/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/07/26

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Situé dans le quartier résidentiel et commercial qui se dresse aujourd’hui à l’emplacement de l’ancien Royal Artillery Park, le manège militaire, aussi connu sous le nom de la salle d'exercices de Kingston, est un bâtiment de deux étages en grosses pierres. Sa longue façade principale comporte un avant-corps de trois étages terminé par un fronton qui sert d’entrée principale et qui comprend une porte pour les troupes, flanquée de deux tourelles dans lesquelles se trouvent les escaliers. Le long mur de la façade, muni de créneaux, est percé de deux rangées de fenêtres disposées en retrait et selon un espacement régulier; d’imposants encorbellements décoratifs ornent les tourelles d’angle. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le manège militaire est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le manège militaire est un très bon exemple des manèges militaires dont la construction est attribuable à l’élargissement du rôle de la milice, évolution qui a engendré le besoin de créer localement des installations consacrées à l’instruction militaire. Ce manège militaire compte parmi les plus grands et les mieux équipés de tous les manèges construits par le gouvernement fédéral entre 1896 et 1911. Le manège militaire se distingue également en ce qu’il est le poste de commandement du Princess of Wales Own Regiment créé en 1863 et l’un des plus anciens régiments du Canada.

Valeur architecturale
Le manège militaire est un excellent exemple de conception esthétique et fonctionnelle qui fait intervenir des éléments inspirés de la tradition médiévale et des qualités pittoresques. Les traits pittoresques d’inspiration médiévale de l’édifice sont repris quoique, à moindre échelle, de ceux du manège militaire de Halifax conçu par Thomas Fuller, ouvrage qui a servi de prototype architectural aux concepteurs de Travaux publics travaillant sous ses ordres. Le manège militaire se distingue par son plan fonctionnel, sa conception structurelle moderne et ses traits inspirés de la tradition médiévale.

Valeur environnementale
Important point d’intérêt dans la région, le manège militaire est situé sur la rue Montréal, bordant d’un côté ce qui reste du Royal Artillery Park et de l’autre côté, l’ancienne caserne, le tout se trouvant à délimiter un espace restreint à caractère militaire imposant. Divers édifices en pierres datant du XIXe siècle, dont des maisons, une église et quelques bâtiments commerciaux, s’unissent avec le manège militaire pour former et renforcer le cachet du quartier résidentiel, cachet auquel le manège militaire a contribué à façonner. Le manège militaire est un bâtiment bien connu dont l’emplacement, proche du centre-ville et donnant sur les vestiges du Royal Artillery Park, prête à l’édifice une visibilité relativement forte; des activités communautaires se déroulent souvent dans ce lieu.

Sources : Jacqueline Adell, Manège militaire, rue Montréal, Kingston (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche, 88-139; Manège militaire de Kingston, rue Montréal, Kingston (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 88-139.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui caractérisent le manège militaire devraient être respectés.

Son plan à la fois esthétique et fonctionnel, sa conception moderne et ses caractéristiques d’inspiration médiévale, c’est-à-dire :
- son bâtiment à deux étages en grosses pierres avec sa longue façade principale, comprenant au centre un avant-corps de trois étages terminé par fronton, muni d’une porte d’entrée pour les troupes flanquée de deux tourelles dans lesquelles se trouvent les escaliers; à ces tourelles, correspondent deux autres tourelles d’angle, plus petites et placées chacune à l’une et l’autre croisée du mur de façade et des murs latéraux. Les murs sont ornés d’encorbellements et de créneaux au niveau du parapet, rappelant un château-fort;
- la façade principale en moellons de calcaire de Trenton bruts en appareillage irrégulier et les détails pittoresques qui ornent tous les murs embellissent le manège militaire dont la forme de base est plutôt celle d’un entrepôt;
- les fenêtres à encadrement de bois de différentes formes et grandeurs, disposées en retrait des murs de calcaire, et qui jouent une part considérable dans le cachet romantique de l’édifice;
- la forme et l’agencement intérieur du manège militaire, avec ses bureaux, ses mess et ses galeries de tir disposées sur trois des côtés de la grande salle d’exercice où des galeries sont aménagées;
- les fermes en acier de la salle d’exercices, de type Fink, qui sont caractéristiques des manèges militaires du tournant du siècle et qui permettent d’avoir de grands espaces dégagés.

La façon dont le manège militaire est le fondement du caractère du quartier résidentiel où il se trouve.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1989/08/31

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Défense
Manège militaire, salle d'exercices ou arsenal

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

Thomas Fuller

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

3419

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches