Home / Accueil

Parkwood National Historic Site of Canada

270 Simcoe Street North, Oshawa, Ontario, L1G, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1989/02/24

South Lawn and c. 1917 Mansion designed by Darling & Pearson; Harold Clark Photography
South Lawn and c. 1917 Mansion designed by Darling
Formal Garden c. 1935; 2-acre art moderne masterpiece designed by John Lyle; Harold Clark Photography
Formal Garden c. 1935
Drawing Room filled with original furnishings & art, including a Steinway & Sons Art Case piano; Harold Clark Photography
Interior Photo

Other Name(s)

Parkwood National Historic Site of Canada
Parkwood Estate & Gardens
Domaine et jardins Parkwood

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1915/01/01 to 1940/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/02/27

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Parkwood is a grand, residential estate developed between 1915 and 1940 by Canadian industrialist Colonel R.S. McLaughlin and his wife, Adelaide Louise Mowbray McLaughlin. The estate comprises a two-and-a-half storey, masonry Beaux-Arts style mansion, surrounded by 4.8 hectares of elaborately designed grounds and ancillary buildings. The interior of the residence is richly decorated in revival styles suited to the function of each space and contains a large collection of period furnishings, fine and decorative arts. Ancillary buildings at the estate include a gatehouse, garages, a teahouse/gazebo, and extensive greenhouses. Substantial hedges delineate the major areas of the property (entrance court, pleasure grounds, service area and stable and farm sectors) as well as individual garden areas. The extensive formal gardens include a sunken garden with a Japanese pavilion, an enclosed Italian garden with a lily pool, a sweeping front lawn with terrace and walkway gardens leading to a summer house, a tennis court, a monotone "white" garden, a rose garden, a cutting garden, an orchard, and an Art Deco style water garden. The estate takes up an entire city block, and is surrounded by a masonry wall along its front and wooden fencing along the other three sides. It is centrally located in the city of Oshawa, Ontario. The designation refers to the estate, its built and landscaped components, as well as the period contents.

Heritage Value

The national significance of Parkwood National Historic Site of Canada, the estate of Colonel Sam McLaughlin, lies in the house, with its collection of period furnishings and decorative art, and in the grounds, with the formal gardens. Further significance lies in the succession of prominent designers associated with the estate.

The Parkwood estate is among the finest and most intact surviving examples of Canadian architectural and landscape design, period furnishings and decorative art during the interwar period. The main residence, designed by Canadian architects Frank Darling and John Pearson, shows the influence of the American Beaux-Arts style. Its gardens deftly blend English and North American traditions through the use of spaces, plantings, vegetations, garden furnishings and visual relationships.

Parkwood Estate exemplifies R. S. (Samuel) McLaughlin’s leadership position within Canada's business and social elites in the first half of the 20th century. The changes directed by Colonel McLaughlin and his wife, Adelaide Louise Mowbray McLaughlin, during 55 years of residence at the estate contribute greatly to its richness and to its capacity to express the life of a privileged and affluent Canadian family.

Parkwood’s planning, design and construction represent the work of some of the country’s leading architects, landscape architects, artists and artisans during the period 1915 to 1940. Darling and Pearson, Canada's most prominent architectural firm of the period, designed the 55-room main residence and coordinated the design of the entire estate with its numerous outbuildings. Landscape architects William E. Harries and Alfred V. Hall directed the first changes to the grounds following its purchase by McLaughlin. The gardens were expanded in the 1920s by Canada's leading horticulturalist and landscape architects Howard Burlingham Dunnington-Grubb and Lorrie Alfreda Dunnington-Grubb and include statuary by Toronto sculptors Frances Loring and Florence Wyle. The superb Art Deco water garden, built in 1935-6, was designed by John Lyle. The Japanese garden located in one of the estate's greenhouses was designed by George Tanaka in 1963.

Numerous works of art, art objects and furnishings accumulated by the McLaughlins remain in the main residence and in the gardens, adding to the sumptuousness and completeness of the estate's design and decoration. They include a bedroom suite and furnishings designed in the Art Deco style by John Lyle.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, February 1989; Commemorative Integrity Statement, September 1998.

Character-Defining Elements

Key elements associated with the heritage value of Parkwood include:
- its association with Col. R. S. McLaughlin as reflected in its scale and appointment, its American Beaux-Arts styling, elements associated with the automobile including the entry drive, garage, and parking areas, surviving elements of the original state-of-the-art mechanical systems, portraits and personal items associated with McLaughlin, including murals by Fred S. Challener and Frederick Haines depicting the McLaughlin family, and plantings surviving from the McLaughlin period in the greenhouses.
- the comprehensiveness and aesthetic coherence of its cultural landscape with its buildings and landscape elements, organization into distinct entry, core, recreational and support areas, the organization of the grounds into a series of outdoor rooms, its gardens as designed by prominent Canadian designers, its service areas including support buildings, vegetable gardens, orchard, and grape arbour, the setting of the house on the highest point of land within the property, and viewscapes to and from the house that connect outdoor and indoor spaces.
- its main residence, notably its American Beaux-Arts architecture, including its large scale, bold detailing, symmetry, formality, and rich Classical Revival exterior treatment, the variety of exterior finishes, its integrated recreational facilities, its fine interior detailing, including decorative painting of walls and ceilings, and interior murals created by Fred S. Challener and Frederick Haines, the master bedroom suite, notably its furnishings and its bathroom designed in the Art Deco style by John Lyle, and paintings by highly regarded European and Canadian artists, including the Group of Seven.
- the landscaping including the use of trees and perimeter fencing to screen the estate, hedges to establish boundaries of outdoor areas, the curved entry drive, with its plantings, flagpole and gates, unifying elements including the repeated wood or wrought-iron fencing, structures that link indoor and outdoor spaces, including the pergola along the east façade of the house, the south terrace and terrace garden, the walk to the summer house, and the summer house;
- discrete landscape elements, including garden statuary, the gated entrance and semi-circular drive, the terrace garden, the sundial garden, the tennis court, the cutting garden, the white garden, the rose garden, the naturalist setting of the lawn areas, the pond and rockery, and the intimate spaces created by level changes, gazebos and hidden paths, lawns with their picturesque compositions, the sunken garden and its approaches, garden sculptures created by Florence Wyle and by Frances Loring;
- surviving elements of the original design by William E. Harries and Alfred V. Hall;
- surviving landscape elements designed by the Dunnington-Grubbs, including path surfaces, flower beds, the Italian garden, latticework fencing, the terrace garden, the summer house, the tennis court, the rose garden, the cutting garden, the sunken garden, the rock garden and pond, and the shady walk through fruit trees;
- surviving landscape elements designed by John Lyle, including the Art Deco water garden, with its reflecting pool, clipped cedars, parterre gardens, fountains, pathways, mechanical systems, ornamentation, boxed plantings, and tea house;
- the Japanese garden designed by George Tanaka.




Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date


Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1916/01/01 to 1917/01/01

Theme - Category and Type

Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life
Architecture and Design

Function - Category and Type




Architect / Designer

William E. Harries & Alfred V. Hall


Dickie Construction Company

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier




Related Places



Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada Parkwood

270, rue Simcoe nord, Oshawa, Ontario, L1G, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1989/02/24

Terrain sud et manoir conçu vers 1917 par Darling & Pearson; Harold Clark Photography
Terrain sud et manoir conçu vers 1917 par Darling
Jardin classique (vers 1935); Chef d'oeuvre d'art moderne de 2 acres conçu par John Lyle; Harold Clark Photography
Jardin classique (vers 1935)
Salon avec ses oeuvres d'art et ameublement originaux, y compris un piano Art Case de Steinway & Sons.; Harold Clark Photography
Image intérieur

Autre nom(s)

Lieu historique national du Canada Parkwood
Parkwood
Parkwood
Parkwood Estate & Gardens
Domaine et jardins Parkwood

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1915/01/01 à 1940/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/02/27

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Parkwood est un grand domaine résidentiel développé de 1915 à 1940 par le colonel R.S. McLaughlin, un industriel canadien, et par sa femme Adelaide Louise Mowbray McLaughlin. Le domaine se compose d'une grande résidence de deux étages et demi en maçonnerie de style Beaux-Arts, entourée d'un terrain paysagé très ouvragé de 4,8 hectares, et de bâtiments secondaires. L'intérieur de la résidence est richement décoré selon des styles convenant aux fonctions de chaque espace, et il contient une collection très riche en ameublement d’époque, en beaux-arts et en arts décoratifs. Les bâtiments secondaires du domaine comprennent la maison du gardien, les garages, une maison de thé/belvédère, et de grandes serres. Des haies bien fournies délimitent les diverses zones de la propriété (cour d'entrée, terrains récréatifs, zone de services, et secteurs de l'écurie et de la ferme), tout comme les aires de jardins individuels. Les grands jardins officiels comprennent un jardin en contrebas avec un pavillon japonais, un jardin italien clôturé avec un bassin de plantes aquatiques, une grande pelouse qui descend en pente majestueuse à l’avant avec une terrasse, et les jardins du sentier menant à la maison d'été, un court de tennis, un jardin blanc monochrome, une roseraie, un jardin de fleurs à couper, un verger et un jardin d'eau de style Art déco. Le domaine, qui occupe tout un pâté de maisons de la ville, est bordé d'un mur sur le devant de la propriété et d'une clôture en bois le long les trois autres côtés. Il est situé au centre de la ville d'Oshawa, en Ontario. La désignation a trait au domaine, à ses composantes bâties et paysagées, et à leurs contenus d'époque.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le lieu historique national du Canada Parkwood, le domaine du colonel Sam McLaughlin, revêt une importance nationale à cause de la maison, avec sa collection d'ameublement et d'art décoratif d'époque, et de son terrain, notamment ses jardins classiques. La succession d'architectes renommés associés à ce domaine lui confère un attrait supplémentaire.

Le domaine Parkwood est un des plus beaux exemples qui subsistent, pratiquement intact, de conception architecturale et paysagère canadienne, et d'ameublement et d'art décoratif d'époque datant de l'entre-deux-guerres. La résidence principale, conçue par les architectes canadiens Frank Darling et John Pearson, est influencée par le style Beaux-Arts américain. Ses jardins combinent adroitement les traditions britannique et nord-américaine, comme l'attestent l'utilisation des espaces, des plantations, de la végétation, du mobilier de jardin, et les liens visuels entre les divers éléments.

Le domaine Parkwood témoigne du rôle prépondérant que R. Samuel McLaughlin a joué au sein de l'élite sociale et d'affaires du Canada dans la première moitié du XXe siècle. Les modifications apportées par le colonel McLaughlin et sa femme, Adelaide Louise Mowbray McLaughlin, pendant les 55 ans où ils l'ont habité, contribuent largement à l'opulence de ce domaine, qui illustre la vie d'une famille canadienne riche et privilégiée.

La planification, la conception et la construction de Parkwood sont l'œuvre de plusieurs architectes, architectes paysagers, artistes et ouvriers spécialisés renommés du pays, qui l'ont réalisé de 1915 à 1940. Darling & Pearson, le cabinet d'architectes le plus en vue du Canada à l'époque, a réalisé les plans de la résidence principale de 55 pièces, et coordonné la conception intégrale du domaine, avec ses nombreux bâtiments annexes. Les architectes paysagers William E. Harries et Alfred V. Hall ont dirigé les premières modifications apportées au terrain suite à son achat par McLaughlin. Howard Burlingham Dunnington-Grubb et Lorrie Alfreda Dunnington-Grubb, les horticulteurs et architectes paysagers les plus renommés du Canada, ont agrandi ces jardins dans les années 1920. On y a notamment installé des statues sculptées par Frances Loring et Florence Wyle, des artistes de Toronto. John Lyle a dessiné le magnifique jardin d'eau de style Art déco, aménagé en 1935-36, et George Tanaka a conçu en 1963 le jardin japonais situé dans une des serres du domaine.

La résidence et les jardins contiennent encore un grand nombre d'oeuvres et d'objets d'art ainsi que de pièces de mobilier ramassés par les McLaughlin, qui complètent la conception et la décoration du domaine et ajoutent à sa magnificence. On y trouve notamment un mobilier et des accessoires de chambre à coucher de style Art déco conçus par John Lyle.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, février 1989; Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative, septembre 1998.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les éléments liés à la valeur patrimoniale de Parkwood, notons :
- ses liens avec le colonel R. S. McLaughlin reflétés dans les dimensions et la création du domaine dans son ensemble, son style Beaux-Arts américain, les éléments associés à l'utilisation d'automobiles, y compris l'entrée des véhicules, le garage et les zones de stationnement, les éléments subsistants des systèmes mécaniques d'origine dernier cri, les portraits et articles personnels associés à McLaughlin, y compris des murales de Fred S. Challener et de Frederick Haines représentant la famille McLaughlin et les plates-bandes subsistantes de l'époque de McLaughlin dans les serres;
- le caractère complet et la cohérence esthétique de ses éléments bâtis et paysagés, son plan comportant une entrée distincte, un noyau central, des aires de loisirs et des zones de service, l'articulation du terrain en une séries de pièces extérieures distinctes, ses jardins, conçus par des architectes paysagers canadiens de renom, ses zones de service, y compris les bâtiments secondaires, les jardins alimentaire, le verger et la vigne de la tonnelle, la situation de la maison sur le point le plus élevé de la propriété et les perspectives depuis et vers la maison, reliant clairement les espaces extérieurs et intérieurs;
- les éléments liés au style Beaux-Arts américain de l'architecture du domaine, y compris ses grandes dimensions, ses ornements hardis, sa symétrie et son caractère formel, et le riche traitement néoclassique de son extérieur, la diversité des finitions extérieures, ses installations de loisirs intégrées, ses délicats ornements intérieurs, y compris la peinture décorative des murs et des plafonds, et les peintures murales intérieures réalisées par Fred S. Challener et Frederik Haines, la suite de la chambre des maîtres de maison, notamment son ameublement et la salle de bains de style Art déco conçus par John Lyle et les tableaux de peinture d'artistes européens et canadiens renommés, y compris le Groupe des sept;
- les éléments paysagers, y compris les arbres et la clôture d'enceinte masquant le domaine, les haies délimitant les espaces extérieurs, l'allée d'entrée incurvée, avec ses plantations, son mât porte-drapeau et ses portails, les éléments qui unifient le terrain par leur répétition de clôture de bois ou de fer forgé entourant la propriété, les structures qui relient les espaces intérieurs et extérieurs, y compris la pergola longeant la façade est de la maison, la terrasse sud et le jardin en terrasse, l'allée menant à la maison d'été, et cette dernière;
- les divers éléments paysagers, y compris les statues dans le jardin, le portail d'entrée et l'allée semi-circulaire, le jardin en terrasse, le jardin au cadran solaire, le court de tennis, le jardin de fleurs à couper, le jardin blanc, le jardin rose, l'emplacement naturel des zones gazonnées, l'étang et la rocaille, les espaces intimes créés par les changements de niveaux, les belvédères et les allées cachées, ses pelouses et leur composition pittoresque, le jardin en contrebas et ses approches, les sculptures du jardin, réalisées par Florence Wyle et Frances Loring;
- les éléments subsistants de la conception d'origine de William E. Harries et de Alfred V. Hall;
- les éléments paysagers qui subsistent conçus par les Dunnington-Grubbs, y compris les surfaces des allées, les massifs de fleurs, le jardin italien, les clôtures en treillis, le jardin en terrasse, la maison d'été, le court de tennis, la roseraie, le jardin de fleurs à couper, le jardin en contrebas, le jardin de rocaille et l'étang, et l'allée ombragée traversant le verger;
- les éléments paysagers subsistants conçus par John Lyle, y compris le jardin d'eau de style Art déco avec son miroir d'eau, ses cèdres taillés, ses parterres de broderies, ses fontaines, ses allées, ses systèmes mécaniques, son ornementation, ses plates-bandes, et sa maison de thé;
- le jardin japonais conçu par George Tanaka.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1989/02/24

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

1916/01/01 à 1917/01/01

Thème - catégorie et type

Exprimer la vie intellectuelle et culturelle
L'architecture et l'aménagement

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Résidence
Domaine

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

William E. Harries & Alfred V. Hall

Constructeur

Dickie Construction Company

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

445

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches