Home / Accueil

Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions

Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1997/03/20

Exterior photo of the Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions, showing Kingston limestone, ashlar stone walls with regular pattern loopholes, 1996.; (Graham, Parks Canada Agency, Agence Parcs Canada, October 1996.)
Side View
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1936/01/01 to 1938/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2006/01/23

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The reconstructed Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions constitute a specialized defensive military structure integral to Fort Henry National Historic Site of Canada. The prominent and formidable Curtain Wall of ashlar masonry contains the entrance to the redoubt of Fort Henry. A substantial gate with high round-headed arch is centred in a symmetrically disposed range of casemates closing the south side of the redoubt. The casemates are small containing an entrance door and one window. From the centre block containing the gate the wall recedes in two stages to the main wall plane. The ditch façade features loopholes and a vaulted entrance passage from the drawbridge to the parade. The solidly built interior spaces demonstrate a simple geometry with plain surfaces. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The reconstructed Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions are a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of their historical associations and architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value:
The reconstructed Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions are one of the best examples of a structure associated with the theme of the defence of Canada from the threat of the United States between the war of 1812 and 1870, and also the theme of the development of the Canadian military from 1871-91. Its original construction, the subsequent economic benefits and the resulting influx of personnel had a significant impact on Kingston. The reconstruction was implemented with funds made available by the Public Works Construction Act of 1934, which was designed to provide relief during the Great Depression in the form of spending on Public Works.

Architectural Value:
The reconstructed Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions followed the site evidence and documents prepared by Nicolls. Although there are minor discrepancies between the original and the present structure it is considered a reasonable image of the one from the 19th century which was a very good example of a functional 19th century military defence design, the Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions are designed to contain the formidable main entrance to the parade ground and redoubt. Its specialized features, construction techniques and its use of materials express its very good functional design. It exhibits very good quality work and craftsmanship.

Environmental Value:
As an integral component of the Fort Henry Defence Complex the reconstructed Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions remains unchanged and has retained its character. The Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions reinforces the coastal defence and military setting of Fort Henry and is a well known symbol of Kingston.

Sources: Fern Graham, Fort Henry, Kingston Ontario. Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Report 95-051; Fort Henry, Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions, Kingston, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 95-051.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions should be respected.

Its functional military defence design and good quality materials and craftsmanship as evidenced in
-the simple, plain geometric massing of the solidly built ashlar faced Curtain wall and Demi-Bastions;
-the substantial gate with high round-headed arch centred in a symmetrically disposed range of small casemates comprising of an entrance door and one window, which close the south side of the redoubt;
-the vaulted passage from the drawbridge to the parade;
-the Kingston limestone, ashlar stone walls of the Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions with regular pattern loopholes;
-the stairways in the far corners of the curtain wall leading to the terreplein of the Demi-Bastions.

The manner in which the Curtain Wall and Demi-Bastions reinforce the military character of Fort Henry.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1997/03/20

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Defence
Military Defence Installation

Architect / Designer

William Lyon Sommerville

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

7854

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Commissariat Stores / Reverse Fire Chamber East

Commissariat Stores/ Reverse Fire Chamber East, also known as Forward Battery, is a specialized defensive military structure integral to the Fort Henry Defence Complex, located…

General view

Commissariat Stores / Reverse Fire Chamber West

The Commissariat Stores/ Reverse Fire Chamber West, also known as Advanced Battery, is a specialized defensive military structure integral to the Fort Henry Defence Complex,…

General view

Fort Henry National Historic Site of Canada

Fort Henry National Historic Site of Canada is a 19th-century British military fortress situated on Point Henry between the mouth of Kingston harbour and a second natural harbour…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Courtine et demi-bastions

Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1997/03/20

Photo extérieur de la courtine et demi-bastions, montrant les murs en calcaire de Kingston taillé avec l’agencement régulier des meurtrières;, 1996.; (Graham, Parks Canada Agency, Agence Parcs Canada, October 1996.)
Vue de côté
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1936/01/01 à 1938/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2006/01/23

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

La courtine et les demi-bastions reconstruits constituent un ouvrage militaire défensif spécialisé qui fait partie intégrante du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Henry. L’évidente et formidable courtine en pierre calcaire taillée abrite l’entrée de la redoute du fort Henry. Un imposant portail, pourvu d’une haute voûte en plein cintre, est centré dans une rangée de casemates symétriques qui ferment le côté sud de la redoute. Les casemates sont petites, présentant une porte d’entrée et une fenêtre. Depuis le bloc central qui contient le portail, le mur accuse un recul en deux plans pour rejoindre le plan du mur principal. La façade qui donne sur le fossé est percée de meurtrières et d’un passage qui mène au terrain de parade, en passant par un pont-levis. Les espaces intérieurs solidement construits reflètent une géométrie simple avec des surfaces unies. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

La courtine et les demi-bastions reconstruits sont un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de leur importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’ils présentent sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’ils occupent au sein de leur milieu.

Valeur historique
La courtine et les demi-bastions reconstruits comptent parmi les meilleurs exemples d’une structure associée au thème de la défense du Canada contre la menace américaine entre les guerres de 1812 et de 1870 ainsi qu’au thème du développement des forces militaires canadiennes entre 1871 et 1891. La construction de cette structure, avec les retombées économiques et l’influx de personnel qui en ont résulté, a eu une incidence profonde sur la ville de Kingston. La reconstruction a été financée en vertu de la Loi de 1934 sur la construction d’ouvrages publics, mesure adoptée pendant la Dépression pour soulager le chômage en consacrant des fonds aux ouvrages publics.

Valeur architecturale
La reconstruction de la courtine et des demi-bastions s’est faite en fonction des vestiges présents sur les lieux et de documents préparés par Nicolls. En dépit de légères différences entre la structure d’origine et la structure actuelle, on considère que celle-ci est une image raisonnablement fidèle de la structure du XIXe siècle, qui était un très bon exemple d’un ouvrage militaire fonctionnel à vocation défensive. La courtine et les demi-bastions sont conçus de façon à contenir l’entrée formidable qui mène au terrain de parade et à la redoute. La solidité de la conception fonctionnelle est évidente dans les caractéristiques spécialisées de l’ouvrage, les techniques de construction et les matériaux employés. La facture et l’exécution sont de très belle qualité.

Valeur environnementale
En tant qu’élément intégral du complexe défensif du fort Henry, la courtine et les demi-bastions reconstruits sont inchangés et ont conservé leur caractère d’origine. La courtine et des demi-bastions rehausse le cadre militaire et de défense côtière du fort Henry et est connue des habitants de la région et des personnes qui visitent Kingston.

Sources : Fern Graham, Fort Henry, Kingston (Ontario). Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche 95-051;Fort Henry, courtine et demi-bastions, Kingston (Ontario), Énoncé de valeur patrimoniale 95-051.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de la courtine et des demi-bastions, devraient être respectés.

Sa conception militaire défensive fonctionnelle et la bonne qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
-le groupement géométrique simple des solides courtine et demi-bastions en pierre calcaire taillée;
-l’imposant portail, pourvu d’une haute voûte en plein cintre, centré dans une rangée de petites casemates symétriques qui ferment le côté sud de la redoute et qui présente chacune une porte d’entrée et une fenêtre;
-le passage voûté qui va du pont-levis au terrain de parade;
-les murs en calcaire de Kingston taillé de la courtine et des demi-bastions, avec l’agencement régulier des meurtrières;
-les escaliers, dans les coins de la courtine, qui mènent au terre-plein des demi-bastions.

La façon dont la courtine et les demi-bastions rehaussent le caractère militaire de fort Henry.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1997/03/20

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Défense
Installation de défense militaire

Architecte / Concepteur

William Lyon Sommerville

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

7854

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Magasin de l'intendance / chambre de tir à revers est

Le magasin de l’intendance / chambre de tir à revers est, aussi connu sous le nom de batterie avancée, est une structure militaire défensive spécialisée qui fait partie intégrante…

General view

Magasin de l'intendance / chambre de tir à revers ouest

Le magasin de l’intendance / chambre de tir à revers ouest, aussi connu sous le nom de batterie avancée, est une structure militaire défensive spécialisée qui fait partie…

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Henry

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Henry, forteresse militaire britannique datant du XIXe siècle, est situé sur Point Henry, entre l’entrée du port de Kingston et un…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches