Home / Accueil

Royal Military College, MacKenzie Building

Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1993/12/02

General view of Mackenzie Building, 1993.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux publics, M.I. Subercaseaux, 1993.
General view
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Royal Military College, MacKenzie Building
Former Education Block
Ancien édifice de l’enseignement
Building No. 16
Bâtiment no 16

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1876/01/01 to 1878/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/08/15

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Mackenzie Building, also known as Building No. 16 and former Education Block, is situated in the Royal Military College Kingston at Point Frederick Buildings National Historic Site of Canada. It‘s a three-storied rectangular building with symmetrical pavilion massing typical of the Second Empire style. Constructed in 1876-78, a four-storey central tower contains the main entrance that is flanked by five bays to either side. The copper clad mansard roof and classically detailed stone chimneys provide a distinctive roofline. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Mackenzie Building is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical value:
The Mackenzie Building is one of the best examples of the theme of the establishment of a permanent military force in Canada. It was the first principle purpose built college structure at the Royal Military College and was for the training of military and civil engineers in Canada. Lieutenant-Colonel E.O. Hewett is also associated with the Mackenzie building being the first commandant of the facility. Its construction, with the associated economic benefits and the subsequent influx of personnel, had a significant impact on Halifax.

Architectural value:
This building is an excellent example of the Second Empire Style popular in Canada in the 1870s and 1880s used in the context of educational or institutional structures. This style was considered an appropriate medium of expression for local, state or federal building commissions. The goal was to establish a strong, yet dignified presence. One of the unique features of this building is its scale. Its value also lies in the excellent quality of its materials and craftsmanship. It is one of the best surviving works of Thomas Seaton Scott Chief Architect of Public Works.

Environmental value:
The dramatic and boldly sited MacKenzie Building is still the centrepiece among several buildings organised around a parade ground and playing field. Although the site has changed the Mackenzie Building retains its original relationship with the open expanse of the parade ground and is an integral component of the Royal Military College. In Kingston, the Mackenzie building is representative of the Royal Military College and is well known to the students of the college.

Sources: Katherine Spenser-Ross, The MacKenzie Building No 16, Royal Military College, Kingston, Ontario 93-039; The MacKenzie Building No 16, (former Educational Block), Royal Military College, Kingston, Ontario. Heritage Character Statement 93-039.

Character-Defining Elements

The following character-defining elements of the MacKenzie Building should be respected.

Its construction style and good quality materials and craftsmanship as manifested in:
-the copper-clad mansard roof, the round headed dormers, the iron cresting, and the classically detailed stone chimneys;
-the three-storied rectangular symmetrical massing of the building with central four-storey tower; the five bays to either side of the central tower punctured by rectangular basement windows, and two floors of rectangular windows with ear trimmed surrounds. The main entrance including a double leafed wood and glass doorway with iron grilles over the glass panels, a semi-circular transom light, stone quoins and voussoirs;
-the limestone walls, and high quality exterior masonry ornamented with stringcourses between the floors, pilasters framing the central tower, quoins framing the tower ends and the elaborate window surrounds;
-the rich interior detailing, especially in the assembly hall, and elsewhere the Corinthian columns, moulded wood arches, three-foot high wooden wainscoting, six panelled wood doors in the hallways, panelled wood embrasures, coved ceilings, double staircase, decorative iron chandeliers, and memorial stained glass;
-the six panelled wood doors and surrounds of the top and second floors.

The manner in which the building reinforces the setting of the Royal Military College through its construction, scale, and its location, and also its physical and functional relationship to the other buildings on the site.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1993/12/02

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Defence
Military Office

Historic

Architect / Designer

Thomas Seaton Scott

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

6252

Status

Published

Related Places

Exterior view

Point Frederick Buildings National Historic Site of Canada

Located on a peninsula at the mouth of the Cataraqui River in Kingston, Ontario, Point Frederick Buildings National Historic Site of Canada consists of a group of five masonry…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Collège militaire royal, Édifice Mackenzie

Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1993/12/02

Vue générale de l'édifice Mackenzie, 1993.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux publics, M.I. Subercaseaux, 1993.
Vue générale
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Collège militaire royal, Édifice Mackenzie
Former Education Block
Ancien édifice de l’enseignement
Building No. 16
Bâtiment no 16

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1876/01/01 à 1878/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/08/15

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

L’édifice Mackenzie, aussi connu sous les noms Bâtiment no 16 et Ancien édifice de l’enseignement, est situé au Collège militaire royal de Kingston, dans le lieu historique national du Canada des Édifices-de-la-Pointe-Frederick. Il s’agit d’un édifice rectangulaire de trois étages au groupement pavillonnaire symétrique typique du style Second Empire. Il a été construit entre 1876 et 1878. L’entrée principale se trouve dans la tour centrale de quatre étages qui est flanquée de cinq baies de chaque côté. Le toit mansardé, revêtu de cuivre, et les cheminées de pierre à l’ornementation classique confèrent au profil du toit une forme caractéristique. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

L’édifice Mackenzie est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
L’édifice Mackenzie est l’un des meilleurs exemples d’une structure associée au thème de l’établissement d’une force militaire permanente au Canada. Il a été la première structure érigée pour l’enseignement au Collège militaire royal et était réservée à la formation des ingénieurs militaires et civils du Canada. L’édifice est aussi associé au lieutenant-colonel E.O. Hewett, qui fut le premier commandant du collège. La construction du bâtiment, avec les retombées économiques et l’influx de personnel subséquent, a eu une incidence profonde sur le développement de la ville.

Valeur architecturale
Cet édifice est un excellent exemple du style Second Empire qui était en vogue au Canada dans les années 1870 et 1880 pour la construction d’édifices à vocation scolaire ou publique. Ce style était considéré comme une expression appropriée pour les bâtiments publics commandés par les administrations locales, d’État ou fédérales, le but étant d’asseoir une présence forte, mais digne. L’échelle de ce bâtiment en constitue l’une de ses caractéristiques particulières. L’excellente qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution contribue aussi à sa valeur. L’édifice Mackenzie constitue un des meilleurs exemples qui demeurent de l’oeuvre de Thomas Seaton Scott, architecte en chef de Travaux publics.

Valeur environnementale
L’impressionnant édifice Mackenzie, situé bien en évidence, demeure la pièce maîtresse parmi plusieurs édifices disposés autour du terrain de parade et d’un terrain de sport. En dépit des changements apportés au site, l’édifice Mackenzie conserve son rapport original avec l’étendue dégagée du terrain de parade et fait partie intégrante du Collège militaire royal. À Kingston, l’édifice Mackenzie est représentatif du Collège militaire royal et bien connu des étudiants du collège.

Sources : Katherine Spenser-Ross, Édifice MacKenzie, bâtiment 16, Collège militaire royal, Kingston (Ontario) 93-039; Édifice MacKenzie, bâtiment 16, (ancien édifice réservé à l’enseignement), Collège militaire royal, Kingston (Ontario). Énoncé de valeur patrimoniale 93-039.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments suivant qui définissent le caractère de l’édifice MacKenzie, devraient être respectés.

Le style de la construction et la bonne qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
-le toit en mansarde revêtu de cuivre, les lucarnes à tête ronde, la crête de faîte en fer et les cheminées de pierre aux détails classiques;
-le groupement rectangulaire symétrique sur trois étages de l’édifice avec sa tour centrale de quatre étages; les cinq baies de chaque côté de la tour centrale ponctuées de fenêtres rectangulaires de soubassement et les deux étages de fenêtres rectangulaires avec garnitures à évasement; l’entrée principale comprend une porte en bois et en verre à rupture de joint et grilles en fer sur les panneaux de verre, une imposte en demi-lune, le tout entouré de chaînes d’angle et de voussoirs en pierre;
-les murs en pierre calcaire et l’excellente qualité d’exécution de la maçonnerie extérieure ornée d’assises de ceinture entre les étages, de pilastres encadrant la tour centrale et de chaînes d’angle encadrant les tours d’extrémité et de pourtours de fenêtres élaborés;
-la richesse des détails intérieurs, particulièrement de la salle de réunion, et ailleurs avec colonnes corinthiennes, arcades en bois moulé, lambris de trois pieds de haut, portes en bois à six panneaux le long des couloirs, embrasures lambrissées en bois, plafonds à gorge, escalier double, chandeliers décoratifs en fer et vitraux commémoratifs;
-les portes en bois à six panneaux et les pourtours à l’étage supérieur et au deuxième étage.

La façon dont l’édifice rehausse le cadre du Collège militaire royal de par sa construction, son échelle et son emplacement ainsi que son rapport physique et fonctionnel avec les autres bâtiments des lieux.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1993/12/02

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Défense
Bureau militaire

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

Thomas Seaton Scott

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

6252

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Exterior view

Lieu historique national du Canada des Édifices-de-Point-Frederick

Situés sur une péninsule à l’embouchure de la rivière Cataraqui à Kingston, en Ontario, le lieu historique national du Canada des Édifices-de-Point-Frederick consistent en un…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches