Home / Accueil

St. Andrews Blockhouse

Joe's Point Road, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1999/12/09

Corner view of St. Andrews Blockhouse, showing the squat square profile, pyramidal roof, entrance and the artillery gunports, machicolation loopholes and musketry holes, 1998.; Parks Canada Agency/Agence Parcs Canada, 1998.
General view
General view of the rear and side elevations of the St. Andrews Blockhouse showing the simple, well-proportioned, geometric massing of the squat square profile with a pyramidal roof, 1998.; Parks Canada Agency/ Agence Parcs Canada, 1998.
General View
Panoramic view of the St. Andrews Blockhouse emphasizing its imposing size and specialized military defence design which make it a well-known feature of the national historic site of Canada, 2003.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, B. Townsend, 2003.
Panorama

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1813/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2007/06/27

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The St. Andrews Blockhouse overlooks the harbour and waterfront of St. Andrews. It is an imposing, square, wooden defensive structure whose second floor overhangs the ground floor. Its solidity and other defence features distinguish it. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The St. Andrews Blockhouse is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value:
The St. Andrews Blockhouse is associated with the defence of British North America against American privateers and military forces during the War of 1812. It was funded and built by local citizens with militia support, and was the only privately financed fortification of the war. It did not see active service and was used as barracks for the local garrison. It is the only remaining blockhouse in Canada from the War of 1812.

Architectural Value:
The St. Andrews Blockhouse is a good example of a functional 19th-century military defence design. Its defensive details include loopholes and portholes for musketry and small-calibre artillery, and an overhanging second floor. Its open undivided interior permitted the free movement of men and equipment of the defence battery. Intended as a temporary and cost-effective measure, the blockhouse is of solid construction and exhibits good craftsmanship in the execution of its construction and details.

Environmental Value:
The St. Andrews Blockhouse reinforces the character of the military setting and is a familiar landmark and symbol to local people and visitors to the St. Andrews Blockhouse National Historic Site of Canada.

Sources: Ian Doull, St. Andrews Blockhouse National Historic Site of Canada, Joe’s Point Road, St. Andrews, New Brunswick. Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Report 98-120; St. Andrews Blockhouse Joe’s Point Road, St. Andrews, New Brunswick. Heritage Character Statement 98-120.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the St. Andrews Blockhouse should be respected.

The functional military defence design and good quality materials and craftsmanship, for example:
- the simple, well-proportioned, geometric massing of the squat square profile with a pyramidal roof;
- the carefully constructed 30.5-centimeter (12-inch) thick, heavy timber walls laid horizontally and dovetailed at the corners with its exterior clad in shingles;
- the single entrance;
- the defence-related elements such as the centrally placed artillery gunports in each of the second storey walls, the machicolation loopholes in the second-storey overhang and the musketry holes cut in the ground-floor walls.

The manner in which the St. Andrews Blockhouse reinforces the military character of St. Andrews Blockhouse National Historic Site of Canada and acts as a regional landmark as evidenced by:
- its ongoing visual relationship to the harbour and waterfront within its park-like setting;
- its imposing size and specialized military defence design which make it a well-known feature of the national historic site of Canada.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1999/12/09

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Leisure
Historic or Interpretive Site

Historic

Defence
Military Defence Installation

Architect / Designer

Unknown

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

8762

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

St. Andrews Blockhouse National Historic Site of Canada

St. Andrews Blockhouse is a wooden defensive structure located on the west point of the harbour at the extreme edge of the historic town of St. Andrews, New Brunswick.

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Blockhaus de St. Andrews

chemin Joe's Point, Saint Andrews, Nouveau-Brunswick, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1999/12/09

Vue en angle du blockhaus de St. Andrews, montrant le bâtiment bas, le toit pyramidal et les meurtrières centrales d’artillerie, les meurtrières dotées de mâchicoulis et les meurtrières percées, 1998.; Parks Canada Agency/Agence Parcs Canada, 1998.
Vue générale
Vue générale de l'élévation arrière du Blockhaus de St. Andrews montrant la volumétrie géométrique simple et bien proportionnée de ce bâtiment carré bas coiffé d’un toit pyramidal, 1998.; Parks Canada Agency/ Agence Parcs Canada, 1998.
Vue générale
Vue panoramique du Blockhaus de St. Andrews mettant de l'emphase sur sa taille imposante et sa conception militaire défensive spécialisée, qui en font un élément connu du lieu historique national du Canada, 2003.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, B. Townsend, 2003.
Panorama

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1813/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2007/06/27

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le blockhaus de St. Andrews donne sur le port, sur le bord de mer de St. Andrews. Il s’agit d’un imposant bâtiment défensif en bois, de forme carrée, dont l’étage est en surplomb par rapport au rez-de-chaussée. Le bâtiment se distingue par sa solidité et ses autres éléments défensifs. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le blockhaus de St. Andrews est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le blockhaus de St. Andrews est associé à la défense de l’Amérique du Nord britannique contre des corsaires et militaires américains pendant la Guerre de 1812. Sa construction a été financée et réalisée par la population locale avec le soutien de la milice, ce qui en fait la seule fortification construite pendant la guerre au moyen de fonds privés. Le blockhaus n’a pas servi activement, mais a servi de casernement pour la garnison locale. Il s’agit du seul blockhaus datant de la Guerre de 1812 qui subsiste au Canada.

Valeur architecturale
Le blockhaus de St. Andrews est un bon exemple d’une conception militaire défensive fonctionnelle datant du XIXe siècle. Divers éléments témoignent de sa fonction défensive, dont les meurtrières de fusillade et de pièces de petit calibre et l’étage placé en surplomb par rapport au rez-de-chaussée. L’intérieur dépourvu de cloisons favorisait le libre déplacement des soldats et du matériel de défense. Construction prévue comme temporaire et peu coûteuse, le blockhaus est en réalité une construction solide qui témoigne d’une exécution soignée et du souci des détails.

Valeur environnementale
Le blockhaus de St. Andrews renforce le caractère du cadre militaire et constitue un repère familier et un symbole pour les gens de la région et les visiteurs du lieu historique national du Canada du Blockhaus-de-St. Andrews.

Sources: Ian Doull, Lieu historique national du Canada du Blockhaus-de-St. Andrews, chemin Joe’s Point, St. Andrews (Nouveau-Brunswick). Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 98-120; Blockhaus de St. Andrews, chemin Joe’s Point, St. Andrews (Nouveau-Brunswick). Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 98-120.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère du blockhaus de St. Andrews, devraient être respectés.

La conception militaire défensive fonctionnelle et la qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- la volumétrie géométrique simple et bien proportionnée de ce bâtiment carré bas coiffé d’un toit pyramidal;
- les murs faits de rondins équarris de 30,5 cm (12 pouces) de côté, soigneusement posés à l’horizontale et assemblés à queue d’aronde aux coins, avec un revêtement de bardeaux à l’extérieur;
- l’entrée unique;
- les éléments liés à la défense, comme les meurtrières centrales d’artillerie percées dans chacun des murs de l’étage, les meurtrières dotées de mâchicoulis percées dans le surplomb de l’étage et les meurtrières percées dans les murs du rez-de-chaussée.

La façon dont le blockhaus de St. Andrews renforce le caractère militaire du lieu historique national du Canada du Blockhaus-de-St. Andrews et fait office de point de repère dans la région, c’est-à-dire :
- son rapport visuel soutenu avec le port et le bord de mer, dans un cadre évocateur d’un parc;
- sa taille imposante et sa conception militaire défensive spécialisée, qui en font un élément connu du lieu historique national du Canada.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

1999/12/09

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Loisirs
Site historique ou d'interprétation

Historique

Défense
Installation de défense militaire

Architecte / Concepteur

Inconnu

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

8762

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada du Blockhaus-de-St. Andrews

Le blockhaus de St. Andrews est une structure défensive en bois située sur la pointe ouest du port, à l'extrême limite de la ville historique de St. Andrews (Nouveau-Brunswick).

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches