Home / Accueil

Blockhouse

Prescott, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1993/11/15

Corner view of the Blockhouse, showing the square, three-storey massing with pyramidal roof, and the chimneys, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Corner view
Corner view of the Blockhouse, showing the centrally placed gun ports of the second floor, each flanked by four single-rifle loopholes trimmed with lighter coloured stonework, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Corner view
Interior view of the Blockhouse, showing the powder magazine with thick arched ceilings arched with brick, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Interior view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1838/01/01 to 1839/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/08/04

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Blockhouse is located at the Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, overlooking the St. Lawrence River. An imposing, pyramidal-roofed structure with massive masonry walls, it is the most prominent structure at the fort. Small windows, loopholes and gun ports add to the structure’s formidable, military appearance. A wooden gallery, clad with vertical wood siding, surrounds the overhanging upper floor. This key defensive feature is cantilevered on large stone and wooden corbels. The structure stands on an open grassed area within the earthworks. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Blockhouse is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value:
The Blockhouse is one of the best examples of a building associated with the period of active defence of Upper Canada, specifically the upper St. Lawrence frontier in the post-Rebellion era. Fort Wellington formed part of the fortifications originally constructed by the British during the War of 1812. A new fort, with the present blockhouse, was built over the ruins of the early fort in response to the Rebellion of 1837 and the threat of the American invasion. The heavily fortified blockhouse was central to the defensive capabilities of the fort; it was the principal building for housing the garrison and storing supplies during the militia phase and later during the occupation by the Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment. The Blockhouse also contributed to the economic development of the garrison town, and to the town of Prescott in the late 1830s and 1840s.

Architectural Value:
Valued for its excellent aesthetic design Fort Wellington Blockhouse is the largest and most elaborate example of this building type in Canada. The symmetrical, square composition has sparse, evenly spaced wall apertures and quality stonework that lend elegance to the structure. The pyramidal roof is typical of the military type roof. The gallery is one of the key features defining the defensive function of the Blockhouse. Excellent functional design is evidenced in elaborate defensive elements such as the walls that are four feet (1.2 meters) thick at the base and two feet (60 centimetres) thick at the upper storey. The loopholes, machicolations and gun ports would also have provided excellent protection against an assault. Excellent craftsmanship and materials are evident in the masonry walls, the contrasting stone trim, and also in the brick vaulting in the magazine.

Environmental Value:
The Fort Wellington Blockhouse establishes the historic character of Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada and is a well-known regional landmark to residents and to visitors.

Sources: James De Jonge, Four Buildings, Four Buildings, Fort Wellington National Historic Site, Prescott, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, Building Report 90-305; Fort Wellington Blockhouse, Fort Wellington National Historic Site, Prescott, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 90-305

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Blockhouse at Fort Wellington should be respected.

Its excellent aesthetics, its functional design and quality materials and craftsmanship, for example:
- the square, three-storey massing with pyramidal roof, and the chimneys;
- the massive construction, with evenly coursed masonry walls that extend to the top of the third storey, four feet thick at the base, and two feet thick at the upper storey;
- the upper, third floor surrounded by a wooden gallery clad with vertical wood siding and cantilevered on large stone and wooden corbels, and the loopholes, machicolations and two windows on each elevation of the gallery;
- the centrally placed gun ports of the second floor, each flanked by four single-rifle loopholes trimmed with lighter coloured stonework;
- the single, ground floor entrance on the south façade protected by flanking single rifle loopholes, and also the ventilation ports of the other three façades;
- the interior layout and fabric, including the doors and windows and their placement, and the fittings and hardware;
- the powder magazine and armoury with thick arched ceilings arched with brick, the thick, interior masonry walls that support the beams of the second and third floors, and the non-sparking copper sheeting, wood plank flooring and plaster;
- the foundations that incorporate some of the subterranean foundation of the previous structure.

The manner in which the Blockhouse at Fort Wellington establishes the historic character of the National Historic Site of Canada and is a symbolic and familiar landmark of the region, as evidenced by:
- its simple, massive design and materials that harmonize with the nearby earthworks, front gate, the caponnière and other buildings within the military setting;
- its role as the main component within the group of structures that comprise Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada complex, and its tall and highly visible profile that rises above the earthworks, which make it familiar to the local community and visitors.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1993/11/15

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Defence
Military Defence Installation

Architect / Designer

The Royal Engineers

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

4780

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada

Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada is one of the best preserved nineteenth-century fortifications in Canada. The current structure dates from 1838 and is built on…

Historic image

Officers' Quarters

Located at the Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, the Officers’ Quarters overlooks the St. Lawrence River. The single-storey clapboard-clad log or squared-timber…

Corner view

Caponier

The Caponier at Fort Wellington is located at the Fort Wellington National Historic Site of Canada, which overlooks the St. Lawrence River. Jutting out of the earthworks into the…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Blockhaus

Prescott, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1993/11/15

Vue en angle du Blockhaus, qui montre la volumétrie carrée de trois étages avec un toit pyramidal percé de cheminées, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Vue en angle
Vue en angle du Blockhaus, qui montre au deuxième étage, les canonnières centrales flanquées par quatre meurtrières entourées de pierres de couleur plus pâle, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Vue en angle
Vue de l'intérieur du Blockhaus, qui montre la poudrière qui présentent des plafonds épais en voûte et en brique, 1991.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1991.
Vue de l'intérieur

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1838/01/01 à 1839/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/08/04

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le Blockhaus se trouve au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort Wellington, en surplomb du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cet imposant bâtiment aux murs massifs en maçonnerie, coiffé d’un toit pyramidal, domine le fort. Son allure militaire formidable est renforcée par les petites fenêtres, les meurtrières et les canonnières. Une galerie en bois revêtue d’un bardage vertical entoure l’étage supérieur qui fait saillie. Cet élément défensif clé repose sur de grands corbeaux en bois et en pierre. Le Blockhaus se dresse sur un terrain gazonné ouvert, à l’intérieur du remblai de terre. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Blockhaus est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le Blockhaus est l’un des meilleurs exemples d’un bâtiment associé à la période de défense active du Haut-Canada, et particulièrement à la frontière formée par le Saint-Laurent, après la Rébellion. Le Fort Wellington faisait partie des fortifications construites à l’origine par les Britanniques pendant la guerre de 1812. Un nouveau fort, comprenant l’actuel blockhaus, a été construit sur les ruines de ce premier fort en réaction à la Rébellion de 1837 et à la menace d’une invasion américaine. Cet ouvrage solidement fortifié était au centre du système défensif du fort car il était le principal bâtiment où logeait la garnison et où étaient entreposées les provisions pendant la présence de la milice au fort et, plus tard, pendant son occupation par le Royal Canadian Rifle Regiment. Le Blockhaus a aussi stimulé le développement économique de la ville de garnison et de Prescott à la fin des années 1830 et dans les années 1840.

Valeur architecturale
La valeur du blockhaus du Fort Wellington découle de l’excellence de sa conception esthétique. Ce blockhaus est le plus grand et le plus imposant du genre au Canada. La composition carrée et symétrique présente quelques ouvertures régulièrement espacées dans les murs et une maçonnerie de pierre de qualité qui ajoute de l’élégance au bâtiment. Le toit en forme de pyramide est typique des ouvrages militaires. La galerie compte parmi les éléments clés qui témoignent de la fonction défensive du Blockhaus. La fonctionnalité est présente dans les éléments défensifs élaborés, comme les murs de 1,2 mètre (quatre pieds) d’épaisseur à la base et de 60 centimètres (deux pieds) d’épaisseur au niveau supérieur. Les meurtrières, mâchicoulis et canonnières auraient aussi fourni une excellente protection en cas d’attaque. L’excellence de l’exécution et des matériaux employés est évidente dans les murs en maçonnerie avec l’entourage en pierre qui contraste ainsi que dans la voûte en brique de la poudrière.

Valeur environnementale
Le Blockhaus affirme le caractère historique du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort Wellington et est un repère bien connu pour les habitants de la région et les visiteurs.

Sources : James De Jonge, quatre bâtiments, lieu historique national du Canada du Fort Wellington, Prescott (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche, rapport 90-305; Blockhaus du fort Wellington, Fort Wellington, Prescott (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 90-305.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère du Blockhaus du Fort Wellington, devraient être respectés.

L’excellence de son esthétique, sa fonctionnalité et la qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- la volumétrie carrée de trois étages avec un toit pyramidal percé de cheminées;
- la construction massive, avec des murs en maçonnerie en appareil régulier qui s’élèvent jusqu’au troisième étage et qui mesurent 1,2 mètre (4 pieds) d’épaisseur à la base et 60 centimètres (2 pieds) au niveau supérieur;
- le troisième étage entouré par une galerie en bois revêtue d’un bardage vertical et qui repose sur de grands corbeaux en bois et en pierre et les meurtrières, mâchicoulis et deux fenêtres qui percent chacun des côtés de la galerie;
- au deuxième étage, les canonnières centrales flanquées par quatre meurtrières entourées de pierres de couleur plus pâle;
- l’entrée unique au rez-de-chaussée qui se trouve sur la façade sud et est protégée de chaque côté par des meurtrières simples ainsi que les ouvertures de ventilation des trois autres façades;
- le plan intérieur et les éléments structuraux, dont les portes et fenêtres et leur disposition, ainsi que les accessoires et la quincaillerie;
- la poudrière et le dépôt d’armes, qui présentent des plafonds épais en voûte et en brique, les murs intérieurs en maçonnerie épaisse qui soutiennent les poutres des deuxième et troisième étages et le revêtement en cuivre ne produisant pas d’étincelles, le revêtement en bois du plancher et le plâtre;
- les fondations qui intègrent des parties de les fondations souterraines du fort d'origine.

La façon dont le blockhaus du Fort Wellington affirme le caractère historique du lieu historique national du Canada, constitue un symbole et est un repère connu dans la région, c’est-à-dire :
- sa conception simple et massive et les matériaux qui s’harmonisent avec le remblai de terre voisin, la porte d’entrée, la caponnière et les autres bâtiments dans le cadre militaire de l’endroit;
- son rôle à titre d’élément principal du groupe de bâtiments qui forment le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington et sa silhouette haute et très visible qui s’élève au-dessus du remblai et qui en fait un repère familier dans les environs et pour les visiteurs.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1993/11/15

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Défense
Installation de défense militaire

Architecte / Concepteur

Royal Engineers

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

4780

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington est une des fortifications du XIXe siècle les mieux préservées du Canada. La structure actuelle, qui date de 1838, a été…

Historic image

Logements des officiers

Le bâtiment des logements des officiers fait partie du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, emplacement qui surplombe la rivière Saint-Laurent. Le bâtiment est…

Corner view

Caponnière

La caponnière du fort Wellington se trouve au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Wellington, emplacement qui surplombe le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Placée en saillie du…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches