Home / Accueil

Cabot Tower

Signal Hill Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1988/12/01

General view of Cabot Tower, showing its two-storey 9.4-metre (30-foot) square structure and three-storey 15.24-metre (50-foot) octagonal tower, 1988.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, I. Doull , 1988.
Side view
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1900/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/05/06

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Located at the highest point of Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada, overlooking the city and the ocean, the Cabot Tower built of irregularly coursed red sandstone is composed of a two storey, 9.4-metre (30-foot), square structure with a three storey, 15.24-metre (50-foot) octagonal tower that stands on the southeast corner of the building. The corners are buttressed at the first floor level and further emphasized through the use of heavier blocks of stone. On the main body of the building, at the top of the second storey level, is a line of repeating pattern like an exaggerated dentil row or inverted crenulations. The attached tower which houses the main entrance, is very plain with a double stringcourse marking the divisions between second and third storeys and heavy corbel tables marking the eight corners of the turret at the flared upper level. The windows on both the corner turret and the body of the tower proper are rectangular and set under heavy stone lintels. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Cabot Tower is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The Cabot Tower is one of the best examples illustrating the evolution of communications in Canada from the earliest aural and visual systems, through to the long-distance, wireless transmission of the human voice. The tower housed signalling functions until 1958, and is associated with Guglielmo Marconi who received the Nobel Prize in 1909 for physics and communication and who received the first trans-Atlantic transmission of the human voice at Signal Hill in 1920. It was built as a monument to John Cabot’s 1497 voyage to North America and to the 60th anniversary of Queen Victoria’s reign.

Architectural Value
Cabot Tower is a very good example of the late-Gothic revival style. Its highly integrated design, its form, secondary elements, materials and the manner in which they are worked and assembled contribute to its solid enduring appearance. Reinforced by the use of large blocks of stone, irregularly coursed sandstone, buttresses at the corners, crenulations and other Scottish-Baronial details, its solid and monumental appearance characterize the structure. Its architect, William Howe Greene was a prominent St. John’s architect and an associate of the Royal Institute of British Architects. Having completed many commissions in St. John’s, Cabot Tower had a very high profile and is a very good example of his work.

Environmental Value
Cabot Tower, situated at the highest point at Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada establishes the present character of the area within its dramatic natural setting. More than a local landmark, many Canadians perceive it as a symbol of Newfoundland. The tower’s physical prominence, overlooking the city and ocean makes it visually conspicuous and easily identifiable. The symbol of the tower has become public domain used locally in commercials, calendars, post cards, pins, books and tourism materials.

Sources:
Kate MacFarlane, Cabot Tower, Signal Hill National Historic Site, St. John’s, Newfoundland, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Building Report 88-043; Cabot Tower, Signal Hill National Historic Site, St. John’s, Newfoundland, Heritage Character Statement 88-043.

Character-Defining Elements

The character defining elements of the Cabot Tower should be respected.

Its very good example of late-Gothic revival style with its highly integrated design, form, fine materials and craftsmanship as manifested in:
-its two-storey 9.4-metre (30-foot) square structure and three-storey 15.24-metre (50-foot) octagonal tower;
-the entirety of the exterior elevations with its solid and monumental appearance reinforced by the use of large blocks of stone, irregularly coursed sandstone, buttresses at the corners, crenellations and Scottish-Baronial details;
-the attached tower housing the main entrance with a double stringcourse marking the divisions between second and third storeys and heavy stone corbel tables marking the eight corners of the turret at the flared upper level;
-the rectangular window openings set under heavy stone lintels on both the corner turret and the body of the tower;
-its interior layout and fabric that relate to its function as a signal and communications tower.

The manner in which Cabot Tower establishes the present character of Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada within its dramatic natural setting and is perceived as the symbol of Newfoundland.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1988/12/01

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Health and Research
Research Facility
Community
Commemorative Monument

Architect / Designer

William Howe Greene

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

3263

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Tour Cabot

Chemin Signal Hill, St. John's, Terre-Neuve et Labrador, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1988/12/01

Vue générale de la tour Cabot montrant la structure carrée de 9,4 mètres (30 pieds) à deux étages et la tourelle octogonale de 15,24 mètres (50 pieds) à trois étages, 1988.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, I. Doull , 1988.
Vue de la façade latérale
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1900/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/05/06

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Dressée au plus haut point du lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill, dominant la ville et l’océan, la tour Cabot est une structure carrée de 9,40 mètres (30 pieds), à deux étages, construite en blocs de grès rouge irrégulièrement disposés; une tourelle octogonale de 15,24 mètres (50 pieds), à trois étages, se dresse à l’angle sud-est du bâtiment. Les angles du rez-de-chaussée sont pourvus de contreforts et l’effet est accentué par l’emploi de blocs de pierre plus gros. Sur la partie principale de l’édifice, le haut du second étage est agrémenté d’une ligne à motif répété qui rappelle un denticule exagéré ou des créneaux inversés. La tourelle qui abrite l’entrée principale est très sobre : un simple bandeau double marque la division entre le deuxième et le troisième étages et, en sa partie supérieure évasée, de lourdes entablures en encorbellement marquent les huit coins. Les fenêtres de la tourelle et de la tour même sont rectangulaires et posées sous de lourds linteaux en pierre. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

La tour Cabot a été désignée édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’elle présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’elle occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
La tour Cabot évoque l’évolution des communications au Canada depuis les premiers systèmes de transmission de la voix et de l’image à la transmission sans fil de la voix humaine sur de longues distances. La tour a abrité des dispositifs de signalisation jusqu’en 1958; elle est associée à Guglielmo Marconi qui, en 1909, s’est mérité le prix Nobel de physique et de communications et qui a reçu la première transmission transatlantique de la voix humaine à Signal Hill en 1920. La tour Cabot a été construite pour commémorer le voyage que Jean Cabot fit en Amérique du Nord en 1497 et le 60e anniversaire du règne de la Reine Victoria.

Valeur architecturale
La tour Cabot est construite dans le style néo gothique tardif. Il s’agit d’une conception très homogène dont la forme, les éléments secondaires et les matériaux et la façon dont ceux-ci sont travaillés et assemblés se combinent pour lui donner une apparence solide et durable. Cette impression de solidité et cet aspect monumental sont accentués par l’utilisation de gros blocs de pierre, de blocs de grès irrégulièrement disposés, de contreforts dans les angles, de créneaux et d’autres détails s’inspirant des demeures seigneuriales d’Écosse. La tour a été construite selon les plans de William Howe Greene, éminent architecte de St. John’s et associé du Royal Institute of British Architects. Auteur de maints édifices à St. John’s, la Tour Cabot est célèbre et constitue un très bel exemple de son oeuvre.

Valeur environnementale
La tour Cabot, qui se dresse au plus haut point du lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill, rehausse le caractère actuel de l’endroit dans son cadre naturel saisissant. Plus qu’un simple point d’intérêt local, bien des Canadiens la considèrent comme un symbole de Terre-Neuve. La grande visibilité de la tour, qui domine la ville et l’océan, la rend facile à repérer et à reconnaître. Le symbole de la tour est entré dans le domaine public au point où il est utilisé localement dans les publicités, les calendriers, les cartes postales, les épinglettes, les livres et les documents touristiques.

Sources :
Kate MacFarlane, Tour Cabot, Lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill, St. John’s (Terre-Neuve). Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche 88-043; Tour Cabot, Lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill, St. John’s (Terre-Neuve). Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 88-043.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de la tour Cabot, devraient être respectés.

La tour est un très bel exemple du style néo gothique tardif, avec sa conception très homogène et sa forme qui intègrent des matériaux de qualité et témoignent d’une belle exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- la structure carrée de 9,4 mètres (30 pieds) à deux étages et la tourelle octogonale de 15,24 mètres (50 pieds) à trois étages;
-l’intégralité des faces externes dont l’apparence solide et monumentale est accentuée par l’utilisation de gros blocs de pierre, de blocs de grès irrégulièrement disposés, de contreforts dans les angles, de créneaux et d’autres détails s’inspirant des demeures seigneuriales d’Écosse;
-la tourelle qui abrite l’entrée principale et qui est pourvue d’un simple bandeau double entre les deuxième et troisième étages et, en sa partie supérieure évasée, d’entablures en encorbellement en lourde pierre pour marquer les huit coins;
-les fenêtres rectangulaires posées sous de lourds linteaux en pierre dans la tourelle d’angle et la tour;
-les éléments intérieurs, comme la disposition et le tissu, qui ont trait à son rôle de tour de signalisation et de communication.

La façon dont la tour Cabot rehausse le caractère actuel du lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill dans son cadre naturel saisissant et le fait qu’elle soit considérée comme un symbole de Terre-Neuve.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1988/12/01

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Santé et recherche
Centre de recherche
Communauté
Monument commémoratif

Architecte / Concepteur

William Howe Greene

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

3263

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches