Home / Accueil

Brock’s Monument

Queenston Heights National Historic Site of Canada, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1990/03/15

View of the base of Brock's Monument, showing its low enclosing wall set on a slightly elevated platform, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1989.
Detail view
View of Brock's Monument, showing the monument’s tall, elegant form and geometric massing which consists of a tall circular column on a square base, ca. 1920.; Archives of Ontario / Archives publiques de l'Ontario, ca./vers 1920.
General view
Detail view of Brock's Monument, showing a military trophy of classical armour, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1989.
Detail view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1853/01/01 to 1856/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/08/01

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Set in landscaped park grounds, Brock’s Monument dominates the view from Queenston Heights over the Niagara River. Constructed of stone, this outstanding example of Neoclassical design is a beautifully detailed and proportioned composition featuring a 4,8 metre (16 foot) statue of Major General Sir Isaac Brock atop a classical fluted column. The column rises from an elaborate pedestal anchored on a rusticated square base. Trophies of classical armour stand at the corners of a low enclosing wall. Four figures symbolizing victory adorn the column’s capital. An interior stone staircase leads to a viewing deck at the top. A crypt beneath the monument contains the bodies of General Brock and Colonel MacDonnell. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

Brock’s Monument is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
Brock’s Monument is one of the best examples of a structure associated, through both its symbolism and its own history as a structure, with the emergence of Canada as a distinct nation. Sir Isaac Brock was killed at the Battle of Queenston Heights on October 13, 1812, at the defeat of the invading American forces and is therefore considered to be the founding hero of Upper Canada. The elegant monument replaces an earlier monument to the same event, dated 1823, but destroyed in 1840 by one of the participants in the rebellion of 1837, who had objected to its Tory associations. The 1853 monument was funded by public subscription from all parts of upper Canadian society. It was thus a monument to the strongly nationalist Canadian sentiments of the 1850s.

Architectural Value
Valued for its excellent aesthetic design, Brock’s Monument is an outstanding example of Neoclassical design. The memorial column is one of the largest and most elaborate examples in Canada, and one of the tallest in the world. The monument is one of few in Canada that can be entered. The slender structure exhibits excellent functional design, as it remains upright, resisting both the compressive force of its own mass, and also the forces of nature. The interior houses a gallery space and a stone staircase that leads to the viewing deck at the top of the monument. The excellent workmanship and materials are exemplified by the high quality masonry executed by contractor J. Worthington. Skillful stone carving is seen in the many sculptured elements. The designer William Thomas, 1800-1860, was a leading Canadian Neoclassical architect of the time.

Environmental Value
Brock’s Monument establishes the historic character of Queenston Heights Park. A landmark of major importance, it dominates the Niagara escarpment. It can be seen for miles around and is regional landmark to the local community and visitors from around the world.

Sources: Joan Mattie, Brock’s Monument, Queenston Heights, Queenston, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, Building Report 89-018; Brock’s Monument, Queenston, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 89-018.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of Brock’s Monument should be respected.

Its excellent aesthetics, its functional design and quality materials and craftsmanship, for example:
- the monument’s tall, elegant form and geometric massing which consists of a tall circular column on a square base;
- the highly ordered, balanced Neoclassical composition;
- the upper section of the monument, a Composite order fluted column that rises to a highly worked capital, the volutes comprising four outward facing figures symbolizing victory, and above on a pedestal, the 4,8 metre (sixteen-foot) figure of Brock;
- the square basement of rusticated stone with an inset, heavy oak door set with bronze patterae, the three progressively smaller pedestals that extend upward, each with moulded caps and treated with different sculptural effects;
- the construction material of local Queenston limestone;
- at the base of the monument, military trophies of classical armour stand at the corners of a low, enclosing wall set on a slightly elevated platform;
- the many sculptured elements including the military trophies, the rampant lions, the bas reliefs, the elaborate capital on the column, and the other flutings and mouldings that grace the monument;
- the interior gallery space that runs around the perimeter of the inner pedestal, which holds the staircase;
- the circular staircase of 235 stone blocks lighted by loophole openings placed at intervals that lead to the viewing deck at the top of the monument;
- the crypt under the floor sealed by granite slabs that contains the entombed bodies of General Brock and Colonel MacDonnell;

The manner in which Brock’s Monument establishes the historic character of Queenston Heights National Historic Site of Canada and is a symbolic and well-known landmark of the region, as evidenced by:
- its elegant Neoclassical design and materials that harmonize with the landscaped park setting;
- its role as the main component commemorating the battle of Queenston Heights, which makes it a symbolic, regional landmark, and its tall, stately profile that rises above the escarpment and is visible for miles, and is well-known to locals and visitors.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1990/03/15

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Architect / Designer

William Thomas

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

3620

Status

Published

Related Places

Queenston Heights, aerial view

Queenston Heights National Historic Site of Canada

Queenston Heights is an extensive hillside area on the Niagara escarpment, centred on a heavily wooded, landscaped park which includes an elegant 57.9 metres (190 foot),…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Monument Brock

Lieu historique national du Canada des Hauteurs-de-Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1990/03/15

Vue de la base du monument Brock montrant le mur bas qui entoure le monument et repose sur une plate-forme légèrement surélevée, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1989.
Vue en détail
Vue du monument Brock, qui montre la forme haute et élégante du monument et sa volumétrie géométrique formée par une haute colonne circulaire reposant sur une base carrée, vers 1920.; Archives of Ontario / Archives publiques de l'Ontario, ca./vers 1920.
Vue générale
Vue en détail du monument Brock, qui montre un trophée militaire en armure classique, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 1989.
Vue en détail

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1853/01/01 à 1856/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/08/01

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Situé dans un parc aménagé, le monument Brock domine le panorama des hauteurs de Queenston, en surplomb de la rivière Niagara. Construit en pierre, cet exemple exceptionnel du style néoclassique est une composition aux détails et aux proportions d’une grande beauté qui comporte une statue de 4,8 mètres (16 pieds) de hauteur du major-général sir Isaac Brock juché au sommet d’une colonne cannelée classique. La colonne repose sur un socle ouvragé fixé à une base carrée en pierre rustiquée. Les angles du mur bas qui entoure le monument sont décorés de statues stylisées. Quatre figures, symbolisant la victoire, décorent le chapiteau de la colonne. Un escalier en pierre intérieur permet d’accéder à la plate-forme d’observation au sommet du monument. Les dépouilles du général Brock et du colonel MacDonnell se trouvent dans une crypte sous le monument. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le monument Brock est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le monument Brock est l’un des meilleurs exemples d’une structure qui, par son symbolisme et son histoire propre, est associée à l’émergence du Canada comme nation à part entière. Sir Isaac Brock est tombé pendant la bataille des hauteurs de Queenston le 13 octobre 1812, en arrêtant l’invasion des forces américaines et, pour cette raison, est considéré comme le héros fondateur du Haut-Canada. Ce monument élégant remplace un ouvrage antérieur commémorant le même événement, datant de 1823, mais qui a été détruit en 1840 par l’un des acteurs de la Rébellion de 1837 qui s’objectait à ses associations avec les Conservateurs. Le monument érigé en 1853 a été financé par souscription publique auprès de la société du Haut-Canada. Il s’agit donc d’un monument qui symbolise l’esprit nationaliste canadien des années 1850.

Valeur architecturale
Estimé pour l’excellence de sa conception esthétique, le monument Brock est un exemple exceptionnel du style néoclassique. La colonne commémorative est l’une des plus grandes et des plus ouvragées au Canada, et l’une des plus hautes du monde. Le monument est l’un des rares au Canada dans lequel il est possible de pénétrer. Cette structure élancée témoigne d’une excellente fonctionnalité dans la mesure où elle demeure en place, résistant à la fois à la force de compression exercée par sa propre masse et aux forces de la nature. À l’intérieur se trouve une galerie et un escalier en pierre qui mène au belvédère au sommet du monument. La maçonnerie de haute qualité exécutée par l’entrepreneur J. Worthington témoigne de l’excellence de l’exécution et des matériaux employés. La sculpture adroite de la pierre se voit dans les nombreux éléments sculptés. Le concepteur, William Thomas (1800-1860), était un éminent architecte canadien de tradition néoclassique.

Valeur environnementale
Le monument Brock affirme le caractère historique du parc des hauteurs de Queenston. Repère de grande importance, il domine l’escarpement du Niagara. Il est visible à des milles à la ronde et fait office de repère régional pour les gens de la région et les visiteurs venus du monde entier.

Sources : Joan Mattie, monument Brock, hauteurs de Queenston, Queenston (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche, rapport 89-018; Monument Brock, Queenston (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 89-018.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère du monument Brock, devraient être respectés.

L’excellence de son esthétique, sa fonctionnalité et la qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- la forme haute et élégante du monument et sa volumétrie géométrique formée par une haute colonne circulaire reposant sur une base carrée;
- la composition néoclassique équilibrée et strictement ordonnée;
- la partie supérieure du monument, soit une colonne cannelée d’ordre composite qui repose sur le chapiteau très ouvragé, les volutes formant quatre figures orientées vers l’extérieur qui symbolisent la victoire et, au-dessus, sur un socle, la statue de Brock de 4,8 mètres (16 pieds) de hauteur;
- la base carrée en pierre rustiquée percée d’une lourde porte en chêne garnie de patères en bronze, les trois segments progressivement plus petits qui s’élèvent au-dessus, séparés par des capuchons moulés et traités avec différents effets sculptés;
- la construction en pierre calcaire de Queenston d’extraction locale;
- à la base du monument, les trophées militaires en armure classique qui se dressent aux angles du mur bas qui entoure le monument et repose sur une plate-forme légèrement surélevée;
- les nombreux éléments sculptés dont les trophées militaires, les lions, les bas-reliefs, le chapiteau ouvragé de la colonne et les autres volutes et moulures qui décorent le monument;
- la galerie intérieure qui fait le tour du périmètre du socle interne qui renferme l’escalier;
- l’escalier circulaire formé de 235 blocs en pierre éclairé par des meurtrières placées à intervalles réguliers et qui mène au belvédère au sommet du monument;
- la crypte aménagée sous le plancher, scellée par des dalles de granit, qui renferme la dépouille du général Brock et du colonel MacDonnell.

La façon dont le monument Brock affirme le caractère historique du lieu historique national du Canada des Hauteurs-de-Queenston et est un symbole et un repère bien connu dans la région, c’est-à-dire :
- son style néoclassique élégant et les matériaux employés, qui s’harmonisent avec le cadre de parc aménagé;
- son rôle comme principal élément commémoratif de la bataille des hauteurs de Queenston, ce qui en fait un symbole et un repère dans la région, et sa haute silhouette solennelle qui se dresse au-dessus de l’escarpement, est visible à des kilomètres à la ronde et est bien connue des gens de la région et des visiteurs.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1990/03/15

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

William Thomas

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

3620

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Queenston Heights, aerial view

Lieu historique national du Canada des Hauteurs-de-Queenston

Les hauteurs de Queenston sont une vaste étendue de terrain située sur un versant de l’escarpement du Niagara, au milieu d’un parc paysager et boisé où l’on trouve un magnifique…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches