Home / Accueil

Craigdarroch National Historic Site of Canada

1050 Joan Crescent, Victoria, British Columbia, V8S, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1992/06/08

General view of Craigdarroch, showing the mix of stylistic elements deriving from a variety of architectural vocabularies, 1994.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Butterill, 1994.
General view
Detail view of Craigdarroch, showing the exterior forms and elements, 1996.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, Barrett & MacKay, 1996.
Detail view
Interior view of Craigdarroch, showing the original materials and craftsmanship, 1994.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Butterill, 1994.
Interior view

Other Name(s)

Château Dunsmuir
Craigdarroch Castle
Château Craigdarroch
Dunsmuir Castle
Craigdarroch National Historic Site of Canada

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1887/01/01 to 1890/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/03/31

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Situated on the summit of the highest hill adjacent to downtown Victoria, British Columbia, Craigdarroch National Historic Site of Canada is a well-known and prominent landmark. Its Scottish Baronial design combines an eclectic fusion of elements borrowed from various architectural styles to evoke the romantic image of a hilltop castle. Built between 1887 and 1890, the castle is distinguished by its distinctive combination of materials, asymmetrical massing with a strong vertical emphasis, steeply-pitched picturesque roofline, and rich contrast of materials, colours and details. The building occupies a remnant of the original 11-hectare (28 acres) Dunsmuir estate and dominates the surrounding Rockland residential area of Victoria. The designation refers to the house on its legal lot as of 1992.

Heritage Value

Craigdarroch was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1992 because:
- it is an imposing landmark and a fine and early example of an eclectic mansion in the west; and,
- it is illustrative of an age when the conspicuous display of wealth was the accepted norm.

Occupying a hill overlooking downtown Victoria, Craigdarroch’s dramatic profile was purposefully designed to assert the wealth and social stature of its original owner, Robert Dunsmuir, a wealthy industrialist who had amassed his fortune from Vancouver Island coal. Craigdarroch epitomizes the “bonanza castle,” a term used to describe oversized mansions built as symbols of success for wealthy North American industrialists during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

No expense was spared to ensure that Craigdarroch was the largest, most elaborate mansion in western Canada. Architect Warren H. Williams combined elements from a variety of architectural styles to create a dramatic design that was intended to evoke the impression of a castle from Dunsmuir’s native Scotland. The high level of craftsmanship evident in the exterior masonry and detailing is also evident in the wall and floor surfaces, stained glass, and joinery found throughout the interior. The combination of native and imported materials—British Columbia sandstone and granite, locally manufactured wrought iron, Italian marble and Vermont slate, terracotta tile from California, and imported interior wood panelling—was unprecedented in western Canada at the time, and established new standards for opulence within the region. Craigdarroch is one of the earliest, most flamboyant and best preserved of the bonanza castles built in Canada.

Craigdarroch subsequently housed the Craigdarroch Military Hospital (1919-21), Victoria College (1920-1946) and the Victoria Conservatory of Music (1968-79). It is now operated as a house museum.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, June 1992.

Character-Defining Elements

Aspects of this site which contribute to its heritage value include:
- its hill-top location which makes it clearly visible from downtown Victoria, especially from Fort Street, and which affords sightlines from the building towards the Juan de Fuca Strait, Olympic Mountains, Sooke Hills, Mount Douglas and Mount Tolmie;
- the mix of stylistic elements deriving from Jacobean (pedimented dormers, balconettes, corbelling), Queen Anne Revival (variations in colour and texture), Romanesque Revival (window detailing, circular tower and stonework), and Chateau (steep hipped roof, round spires and decorated gables), architectural vocabularies which convey the eclecticism characteristic of late Victorian architecture;
- the historic exterior building materials, including grey granite (foundation and staircases), pink granite (verandah and entrance columns), grey sandstone (exterior walls, eaves and pediment trim, chimneys), Vermont red slate (roof surfaces), terracotta (roof ridge and hip caps), lead (balconette decks);
- the exterior forms and elements including the carriage entrance, circular tower, tower balcony, circular bay, verandah, fenestration, carved stone capitals and column details, brackets, finials, and urns;
- the original interior plan and spatial organization which creates separate spheres for public and private activities and conveys a hierarchy of space from public rooms to private family chambers and service areas;
- the original interior materials and craftsmanship, including fireplaces, wood and tiled floor surfaces, imported wood panelling in main hall, library and stairwell, stained glass windows, fireplaces, doors, mouldings and carved details such as thistle motifs and moral inscriptions, built-ins, elaborate plasterwork in the main hall, original painted ceiling surfaces and architectural hardware;
- the original elements that reflect luxury features of a Victorian mansion, including spacious bathrooms, generous natural lighting, and labour-saving devices such as a laundry chute and dumbwaiter;
- its setting within a landscaped garden.




Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date


Historical Information

Significant Date(s)


Theme - Category and Type

Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life
Architecture and Design

Function - Category and Type




Architect / Designer

Warren H. Williams


Thomas Moffat

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Québec.

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier




Related Places

south elevation

Craigdarroch Castle

Craigdarroch Castle is a four and one-half storey High Victorian mansion on the crest of the Rockland residential neighborhood.


Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada Craigdarroch

1050, croissant Joan, Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, V8S, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1992/06/08

Vue générale de Craigdarroch, qui montre le mélange d'éléments de divers vocabulaires architecturaux, 1994.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Butterill, 1994.
Vue générale
Vue détaillée de Craigdarroch, qui montre les formes et les éléments extérieurs, 1996.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, Barrett & MacKay, 1996.
Vue détaillée
Vue de l'intérieur de Craigdarroch, qui montre les matériaux et les œuvres des ouvriers spécialisés d'origine, 1994.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, J. Butterill, 1994.
Vue de l'intérieur

Autre nom(s)

Château Dunsmuir
Craigdarroch Castle
Château Craigdarroch
Craigdarroch
Craigdarroch
Dunsmuir Castle
Lieu historique national du Canada Craigdarroch

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1887/01/01 à 1890/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/03/31

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada Craigdarroch, situé au sommet d'une colline proche du centre-ville de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, est un point d'intérêt éminent et renommé. Sa conception en manoir écossais combine de façon éclectique des éléments provenant de divers styles architecturaux, si bien qu'il évoque un château romantique perché sur une colline. Construit de 1887 à 1890, ce château se démarque à cause de sa combinaison unique de matériaux, de son volume asymétrique à fort accent vertical, de sa ligne de toiture pittoresque à forte pente, et du riche contraste de ses matériaux, de ses couleurs et de ses ornements. L'édifice est situé sur une partie de ce qui subsiste du domaine d'origine de Dunsmuir, qui mesurait 11 hectares (28 acres). Il domine le quartier résidentiel de Rockland, de la ville de Victoria. La désignation a trait au bâtiment sur son lotissement légal tel qu'il était en 1992.

Valeur patrimoniale

Craigdarroch a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1992 parce que :
- elle est une curiosité marquante de Victoria ainsi qu'un bel exemple des premières maisons dans le goût éclectique à avoir été construites dans l'Ouest; et,
- elle évoque une époque où faire étalage de ses richesses était une attitude tout à fait légitime.

Le profil impressionnant du château, perché sur une colline surplombant le centre-ville de Victoria, a été conçu exprès pour exprimer ouvertement la richesse et le statut social de son premier propriétaire, Robert Dunsmuir, un riche industriel qui a fait fortune grâce à l'exploitation du charbon sur l'île de Vancouver. Craigdarroch incarne le château de type «Bonanza», terme pouvant décrire les manoirs construits pour de riches industriels nord-américains à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècles, pour symboliser leur réussite.

À ce titre, on a tout fait pour s'assurer que Craigdarroch soit le manoir le plus grand et le mieux ouvragé dans l'Ouest canadien. Son architecte, Warren H. Williams a combiné des éléments de divers styles architecturaux pour créer une conception impressionnante voulant évoquer un château d'Écosse, patrie d'origine de Dunsmuir. L'excellente qualité du travail des ouvriers spécialisés, évidente dans la maçonnerie et les ornements extérieurs, est tout aussi manifeste dans le parement des murs et des planchers, les vitraux et la menuiserie de l'intérieur. La combinaison de matériaux canadiens et importés (grès et granit de la Colombie-Britannique, fer forgé fabriqué localement, marbre italien et ardoise du Vermont, carreaux de terre cuite de Californie, lambris d'intérieur de bois importés), qui était sans précédent dans l’Ouest canadien à l'époque, a établi de nouvelles normes d'opulence dans la région. Craigdarroch est un des premiers, des plus flamboyants et des mieux conservés des châteaux de type «Bonanza» construits au Canada.

Par la suite, Craigdarroch a accueilli l'hôpital militaire de Craigdarroch (de 1919 à 1921), le Collège de Victoria (de 1920 à 1946), et le Conservatoire de musique de Victoria (de 1968 à 1979). Aujourd'hui, il est exploité comme maison-musée.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, juin 1992.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les caractéristiques qui confèrent à ce site sa valeur patrimoniale, notons :
- sa situation au sommet d'une colline qui le rend nettement visible depuis le centre-ville de Victoria, et surtout de la rue Fort, et qui lui offre de beaux points de vue sur le détroit de Juan de Fuca, les monts Olympiques, les collines Sooke, le mont Douglas et le mont Tolmie;
- le mélange d'éléments de divers styles, et notamment les vocabulaires architecturaux de style à la manière jacobienne (lucarnes à fronton, petits balcons, encorbellements), de style néo-Queen Anne (diversité des couleurs et des textures), de style néo-roman (ornements des fenêtres, tour circulaire et maçonnerie de pierre), et de style château (toit en croupe très pentu, flèches rondes, et pignons décorés), qui expriment les caractéristiques éclectiques de l'architecture de la fin de l'époque victorienne;
- les matériaux d'époque de l'extérieur de l'édifice, y compris le granit gris (fondations et escaliers), le granit rose (véranda et colonnes d'entrée), le grès gris (murs extérieurs, avant-toit et cordon du fronton, cheminées), l'ardoise rouge du Vermont (surface du toit), la terre cuite (ligne de couronnement et tuiles de croupe), et le plomb (tabliers des petits balcons);
- les formes et les éléments extérieurs, y compris la porte cochère, la tour circulaire, le balcon de la tour, la baie circulaire, la véranda, la fenestration, les chapiteaux en pierre sculptée et les ornements des colonnes, les consoles, les fleurons et les urnes;
- le plan intérieur et l'organisation spatiale d'origine qui créent des sphères différentes pour les activités publiques et privées, et instaurent une hiérarchie des salles publiques, allant des chambres privées familiales aux zones de service;
- à l’intérieur, les matériaux et les œuvres des ouvriers spécialisés d'origine, y compris les foyers, les sols recouverts de plancher de bois et carrelés, les panneaux de bois importé du hall principal, de la bibliothèque et de la cage d'escalier, les vitraux des fenêtres, les foyers, les portes, les moulures, et les ornements sculptés comme les motifs en forme de chardon, les inscriptions à caractère moral, les meubles encastrés, les plâtrages ouvragés du hall principal, et les plafonds peints et la quincaillerie architecturale d'origine;
- les éléments d'origine attestant la richesse d'un manoir victorien, y compris les spacieuses salles de bains, l'abondante lumière naturelle, et les dispositifs de service pratiques comme la descente de linge et le monte-plats;
- son emplacement dans un jardin paysager.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1992/06/08

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Exprimer la vie intellectuelle et culturelle
L'architecture et l'aménagement

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Résidence
Domaine

Architecte / Concepteur

Warren H. Williams

Constructeur

Thomas Moffat

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5e étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec.

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

93

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches