Home / Accueil

Former Geological Survey of Canada Building

541 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1986/05/28

General view of the main facade of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building emphasizing the simple Italianate detailing, including bracketed eaves, and cornices, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Front façade
Side view of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building showing the even, regularly placed door and window openings with distinct classical decorative trim identifying each storey, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Side view
Corner view of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building showing the hipped, low-pitched metal clad roof on the Sussex Drive section and the gable roof on the George street wing, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Corner view

Other Name(s)

Former Geological Survey of Canada Building
Former Geological Survey of Canada Building
Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada
Clarendon Hotel
Hôtel Clarendon

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1837/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2006/05/11

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is a prominent building on Sussex Drive in Ottawa. A corner building, the two principal facades face Sussex Drive and George Street. It is a well-proportioned, three-storey stone structure of classical influence. Its many regularly placed windows give the building a well-balanced appearance. Behind the structure is an attractive courtyard. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value:
The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is associated with the early development of Ottawa, formerly known as Bytown. The building’s varied history reflects many themes, including the important social and economic roles of hotels, and the staging of cultural and political events in 19th century Bytown. It is also associated with the continuing development of Sussex Drive as a primary commercial and symbolic corridor in the city. The early role as the museum and offices of the Geological and Natural History Survey of Canada, the first Canadian museum of national scope, adds to the historical value of the building. The building is also associated with James Skead (1817-1884) a prominent local businessman who became a member of the provincial legislative assembly, and Alfred Selwyn (1824-1902), a noted geologist who became director of the Geological Survey of Canada.

Architectural Value:
The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is valued for its very good aesthetics and is one of the oldest extant buildings in the downtown area. The well-proportioned, classically inspired building has Italianate detailing evidenced in the bracketed eaves and the elaborate cornices. Classical influence can be seen in the massing and the rigidly symmetrical window arrangement. Good functional design is evident in the adaptability of the design. Good craftsmanship can be seen in the limestone walls and the detailing of the stonework.

Environmental Value:
The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building reinforces the historic / commercial / institutional character of the market area in Ottawa and is a familiar city landmark to local residents, people working in the vicinity and pedestrians.

Sources:
Julie Harris, Former Geological Museum, 541 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, Heritage Buildings Review Office Report 85-058.

Geological Museum (former), 541 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 85-058.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Former Geological Survey of Canada Building should be respected, for example:

Its very good aesthetics, good functional design, and good craftsmanship, for example:

-The three-storey, L-shaped massing of the structure with a low-pitched metal roof;
-The walls of irregularly coursed limestone, with dressed stone window surrounds, sills, string coursing and corner quoins;
-The principal (Sussex Drive) façade;
-The hipped, low-pitched metal clad roof on the Sussex Drive section and the gable roof on the George street wing;
-The simple Italianate detailing, including bracketed eaves, and cornices;
-The even, regularly placed door and window openings with distinct classical decorative trim identifying each storey;
-The wood-framed staircase at the main entry;
-The patterns of access into the building.

The manner in which the former Geological Museum is compatible with the formal character of the setting that contains official and governmental buildings, and is a familiar city landmark as evidenced by:

-Its scale, design and materials that maintain a visual and physical relationship with the surrounding block of buildings and complement the streetscape;
-Its familiarity to visitors, passing pedestrians, and local residents owing to its location on a busy corner of Sussex Drive and its National Historic Sites commemorative plaque on the Sussex Drive façade.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1986/05/28

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Commerce / Commercial Services
Eating or Drinking Establishment

Historic

Leisure
Museum
Government
Office or office building

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

2662

Status

Published

Related Places

Corner view

Former Geological Survey of Canada Building National Historic Site

The Former Geological Survey of Canada Building is a relatively plain three-storey, stone building located on a prominent corner in Ottawa’s Byward market area. The designation…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada

541, promenade Sussex, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1986/05/28

Vue générale de l'entrée principale de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada mettant de l'emphase sur les détails simples inspirés du style à l’italienne, y compris les consoles de l’avant-toit et les corniches, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Façade avant
Vue de côté de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada montrant les portes et fenêtres régulièrement espacées avec des éléments de décor classiques pour distinguer les étages, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Vue de côté
Vue en angle de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada montrant le toit en croupe à faible pente recouvert de métal de la section qui donne sur la promenade Sussex et le toit à deux versants de l’aile sur la rue George, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Vue en angle

Autre nom(s)

Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada
Former Geological Survey of Canada Building
Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada
Clarendon Hotel
Hôtel Clarendon

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1837/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2006/05/11

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

L’ancien Musée géologique est un bâtiment visible sur la promenade Sussex, à Ottawa. Bâtiment en coin, ses deux façades principales donnent l’une sur la promenade Sussex et l’autre, sur la rue George. Il s’agit d’un édifice en pierre bien proportionnée, de trois étages, qui présente des influences classiques. Ses nombreuses fenêtres régulièrement espacées donnent au bâtiment un aspect équilibré. Une jolie cour fermée se trouve à l’arrière. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada est associé aux premières années du développement d’Ottawa, autrefois appelée Bytown. La riche histoire du bâtiment invoque plusieurs thèmes, dont le rôle économique et social important des hôtels et l’organisation d’activités politiques et culturelles à Bytown au XIXe siècle. Le bâtiment est aussi associé au développement soutenu de la promenade Sussex comme principale artère commerciale et symbolique de la ville. L’utilisation à une date reculée du bâtiment comme musée et bureaux de la Commission géologique et d’histoire naturelle du Canada – premier musée canadien d’envergure nationale – rehausse la valeur historique du bâtiment. Le bâtiment est également associé à James Skead (1817-1884), un important homme d’affaires de la région qui a été député à l’assemblée législative provinciale, et à Alfred Selwyn (1824-1902), éminent géologue qui est devenu directeur de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Valeur architecturale
La valeur de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada découle de sa très belle esthétique. Ce bâtiment compte parmi les plus anciens de ceux encore en place dans le centre-ville. Bien proportionné et d’inspiration classique, il présente des détails empruntés au style à l’italienne, comme les consoles de l’avant-toit et les corniches élaborées. L’influence classique paraît dans la volumétrie du bâtiment et la disposition rigoureusement symétrique des fenêtres. La fonctionnalité se manifeste dans la souplesse du plan tandis que la qualité de l’exécution se voit dans les murs en calcaire et les détails de la maçonnerie.

Valeur environnementale
L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada renforce le caractère historique, commercial et institutionnel du marché à Ottawa et est un repère connu des personnes qui habitent le secteur ou y travaillent et des piétons.

Références :
Julie Harris, ancien Musée géologique, 541, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 85-058.

Musée géologique (ancien), 541, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 85-058.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada, devraient être respectés, par exemple :

Son esthétique supérieure, sa bonne fonctionnalité et la qualité de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :

-la volumétrie sur trois étages de cet édifice en forme de L , coiffé d’un toit en métal à faible pente;
-les murs en pierre calcaire posée en assises irrégulières avec les cadres et les appuis des fenêtres, le bandeau et les chaînages de pierres d’angle en pierre de taille;
-la façade principale (promenade Sussex);
-le toit en croupe à faible pente recouvert de métal de la section qui donne sur la promenade Sussex et le toit à deux versants de l’aile sur la rue George;
-les détails simples inspirés du style à l’italienne, y compris les consoles de l’avant-toit et les corniches;
-les portes et fenêtres régulièrement espacées avec des éléments de décor classiques pour distinguer les étages;
-l’escalier à ossature de bois à l’entrée principale;
-les accès au bâtiment.

La façon dont l'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada s’accorde avec le caractère formel du cadre, où se trouvent d’autres immeubles officiels et gouvernementaux, et est un repère connu dans la ville, c’est-à-dire :

-son échelle, son style et les matériaux employés qui entretiennent un rapport physique et visuel avec les blocs de bâtiments voisins et rehaussent le paysage urbain;
-le fait qu’il est connu des visiteurs, des piétons et des résidants du secteur, vu son emplacement à un coin fréquenté de la promenade Sussex et la plaque commémorative posée par la Commission des lieux historiques nationaux sur la façade de la promenade Sussex.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

1986/05/28

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Commerce / Services commerciaux
Établissement de restauration ou de débit de boissons

Historique

Gouvernement
Bureau ou édifice à bureau
Loisirs
Musée

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

2662

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Front façade

Lieu historique national du Canada de l'Ancien-Édifice-de-la-Commission-Géologique-du-Canada

L'Ancien édifice de la Commission géologique du Canada est un bâtiment simple en pierre à trois étages, situé en évidence sur un coin de rue du Marché By à Ottawa. La désignation…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches