Home / Accueil

Stanley Park National Historic Site of Canada

Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, V6G, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1988/11/11

General view of Stanley Park, showing its setting which combines forest, mountains and ocean, 2010.; Stanley Park, Stephen Downes, 2010.
General view
Detail view of Stanley Park, showing the bronze sculpture of a killer whale by Bill Reid at the main entrance of the Vancouver Aquarium, 2008.; Vancouver Aquarium, Bronze Sculpture, Adrian F1, 2008.
Detail view
General view of Stanley Park, showing the diversity of cultural elements including garden landscapes, 2010.; Stanley Park, Stephen Downes, 2010.
General view

Other Name(s)

Stanley Park National Historic Site of Canada
Stanley Park
Parc Stanley

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1888/01/01 to 1988/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/06/04

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Stanley Park National Historic Site of Canada is a magnificent green oasis in the midst of the heavily built urban landscape of Vancouver. Comprising forested and recreational land, the park is surrounded by English Bay, First Narrows, and Burrard Inlet on three sides, and bordered on the fourth by the central business district and west-end residential neighbourhood of the City of Vancouver. Official recognition refers to the natural and cultural resources within the park’s boundaries.

Heritage Value

Stanley Park was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1988 because:
- in its splendid setting and through the relationship between its natural environment and its cultural elements developed over time, it epitomizes the large urban park in Canada.

Stanley Park was developed on a peninsula that served first as a First Nations ceremonial site, then as a British military reserve, and then finally was established as a public park in 1888. Developed by the City of Vancouver between 1913 and 1936, its early superintendent, W.S. Rawlings was influenced by British antecedents, blending natural features with gardens, designed landscapes and recreational facilities. Additional attractions, including an aquarium, miniature train and children’s zoo, were added during the post-war period. The park has also continued to be a ceremonial site, commemorating notable people and events such as Pauline Johnson, Lord Stanley, John Drainie, the Vancouver Centennial, British Columbia lumbermen, Japanese Canadians in World War I, the Salvation Army, and the shipwrecks of the Chehalis, Beaver, and HMS Egeria, among others.

Over the years, several architects and landscape architects have made specific contributions to the ambience of the park. These include William Livingstone (Pavilion Garden, 1913), Thomas Mawson (Lost Lagoon and Causeway, 1916-26), Charles Marenga (Harding Memorial, 1923 and Promenade, 1925), Walker and McPherson (Pitch and Putt Golf Course, 1932), Percy Underwood (Stanley Park Pavilion addition 1946-50 and the Golf Course Ticket Booth, 1953-55), and Alleyne Cook (Ted and Mary Greig Rhododendron Garden, 1989). In addition, the park showcases the work of several particularly skilled craftspersons including James Cunningham (master mason, rustic stonework), Bill Reid (reproduction of Skedans Mortuary Pole by Jackson, Chief of Skidegate), Doug Cranmer (reproduction of Nhe-is-bik Salmon Pole by Willie Seaweed, restoration of Wakias Pole and Pole of Yakdzi Myth), Ellen Neel (restoration of Thunderbird House Posts), Yurhwaya (Wakias Pole), Yaakutlas, Charlie James (Thunderbird House Posts, Sisa-kaulas Pole), Sydney March (sculptor, Lord Stanley Monument), Shuswap First Nation (Petroglyph Rock), and Elek Imredy (bronze memorial, Girl in a Wet Suit, 1970).

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, 1988; Commemorative Integrity Statement, June 2002.

Character-Defining Elements

Key elements that contribute to the heritage character of the site include:
-its setting which combines forest, mountains and ocean;
-the inter-relationships of the relative locations, functions and material components of the natural and cultural areas;
-the integrity and abundance of natural elements, such as new and old growth forest, intertidal and near shore habitats, and bedrock geology;
-the diversity of cultural elements including garden landscapes, designed park landscapes, buildings and structures associated with park activities, monuments, athletic facilities, and outdoor museum displays;
-the designed gardens in thee integrity of layout, plant varieties, feature elements and structures of their original materials and proportions;
-the locations, composition, built features and plantings of the designed landscapes, including those associated with the Lord Stanley Monument, Brockton Point, Ceperley Meadows, the Seawall, the Lost Lagoon, the Pavilion and Malkin Bowl, Lumberman’s Arch, the tennis courts and lawn bowling green, the rose garden, and special plantings with cultural significance, such as memorial trees and the Hollow Tree;
-the designed fresh water features such as Lost Lagoon and Ceperley Stream, including their placements, design, plantings, and landscape features;
-recreational areas, beaches and swimming pools, including Second Beach and Third Beach, children’s playgrounds at Ceperley Meadows and the Children’s Water Park, playing fields and sports facilities including Brockton Point Oval and Athletic Grounds, Cricket Pitch, Prospect Point Playing Field, outdoor tennis courts, lawn bowling green, and multi-purpose outdoor spaces including picnic areas at Ferguson Point, Ceperley/Second Beach, Prospect Point, and grounds at the Lumberman’s Arch and Brockton Point, locations, layouts, plantings, special-purpose features, and associated buildings and structures;
-heritage buildings including Stanley Park Pavilion, the Sports Pavilion, or Fish House, Rose Garden Cottage, and the Golf Course Ticket Booth, in their rustic design expressed through natural materials and varied surfaces including, random coursed granite walls, vertical log surfaces, cedar shingle roofs, timber bracketing and balusters, and multiple-paned windows, overhanging eaves, exposed rafter ends, gables, and extensions into the landscape via balconies, verandahs, gables, French doors and plentiful fenestration;
-the Vancouver Aquarium in its traditions of public education regarding the marine environment and conservation issues, and the bronze sculpture of a killer whale by Bill Reid at the main entrance;
-the design and composition of the promenade pedestrian bridge;
-rustic stonework on landscape elements such as the seawall, bridges, staircases, retaining walls, and pathways;
-the craftsmanship, design, materials and siting of the First Nations Frontal, House and Mortuary Pole Collection, specific monuments;
-the layout, footprints, pathways, composite materials, and vistas of the heritage trails and scenic roads, including Stanley Park Drive and North Lagoon Drive;
-the footprint, path, accessibility, construction and craftsmanship of the Seawall, including the special interpretive features and the Nine o’Clock Gun;
-the design, material composition, and landscape features of the causeway;
-the location of archaeological sites associated with early park development and facilities;
-viewscapes within the park that embrace natural and cultural elements, and those from the park to the surrounding area to the ocean, to the coastal terrestrial environs, and to the urban environment, to English Bay and the surrounding mountains and forest.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date

1988/11/11

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life
Sports and Leisure

Function - Category and Type

Current

Leisure
Park

Historic

Architect / Designer

Elek Imredy

Builder

James Cunningham

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Québec.

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

84

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada du Parc-Stanley

rue Georgia, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, V6G, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1988/11/11

Vue générale du parc Stanley, qui montre son cadre qui allie forêt, montagnes et océan, 2010.; Stanley Park, Stephen Downes, 2010.
Vue générale
Vue détaillée du parc Stanley, qui montre la sculpture en bronze de Bill Reid, qui représente un épaulard, à l'entrée principale de l'aquarium de Vancouver, 2008.; Vancouver Aquarium, Bronze Sculpture, Adrian F1, 2008.
Vue détaillée
Vue générale du parc Stanley, qui montre la diversité des éléments culturels, y compris les paysages des jardins, 2010.; Stanley Park, Stephen Downes, 2010.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

Lieu historique national du Canada du Parc-Stanley
Stanley Park
Parc Stanley

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1888/01/01 à 1988/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/06/04

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Parc-Stanley est une magnifique oasis verte au milieu du paysage urbain de Vancouver. Le parc, qui comprend des terrains forestiers et récréatifs, est entouré sur trois côtés par la baie English, les First Narrows et l’Inlet Burrard, et est bordé sur le quatrième côté par le quartier central des affaires et le quartier résidentiel West End de Vancouver. La reconnaissance officielle fait référence aux ressources naturelles et culturelles à l’intérieur des limites.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le parc Stanley a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1988 parce que :
- dans son cadre splendide et par la relation entre son environnement naturel et ses éléments culturels développés au fil du temps, il incarne le grand parc urbain au Canada.

Le parc Stanley a été aménagé sur une péninsule qui a d’abord servi de lieu de cérémonie aux Premières nations, puis de réserve militaire britannique et, enfin, de jardin public en 1888. La ville de Vancouver l’a aménagé entre 1913 et 1936. Influencé par des antécédents britanniques, son premier superintendant, W.S. Rawlings, a marié les caractéristiques naturelles avec les jardins, les aménagements paysagers et les installations récréatives. Pendant la période de l’après-guerre, des attractions supplémentaires ont été ajoutées, y compris un aquarium, un petit train et un zoo pour les enfants. Le parc continue d’être un lieu cérémoniel où l’on célèbre le souvenir de personnes et d’événements importants, comme Pauline Johnson, Lord Stanley, John Drainie, le Vancouver Centennial, les bûcherons de la Colombie-Britannique, les Canadiens d’origine japonaise de la Première Guerre mondiale, l’Armée du Salut, et les naufrages du Chehalis, du Beaver, et du HMS Egeria, entre autres.

Au fil des ans, plusieurs architectes et architectes paysagistes ont apporté des contributions particulières à l’ambiance du parc, y compris William Livingstone (Pavilion Garden, 1913), Thomas Mawson (Lost Lagoon et Causeway 1916-26), Charles Marenga (monument commémoratif Harding, 1923 et pont promenade, 1925), Walker et McPherson (terrain de golf Pitch and Putt, 1932), Percy Underwood (Stanley Park Pavilion, ajout en 1946-1950, et la billetterie du terrain de golf, 1953-1955) et Alleyne Cook (le jardin Ted and Mary Greig Rhododendron, 1989). De plus, les œuvres d’artistes très talentueux sont exposées dans le parc, y compris James Cunningham (maître maçon, ouvrage rustique en pierre), Bill Reid (reproduction du pôle mortuaire Skedans par Jackson, chef de la bande de Skidegate), Doug Cranmer (reproduction du pôle Nhe-is-bik Salmon par Willie Seaweed, restoration du pôle Wakias et du pôle du mythe Yakdzi), Ellen Neel (restoration des poteaux de maison Thunderbird), Yurhwaya (pôle Wakias), Yaakutlas, Charlie James (poteaux de maison Thunderbird, pôle Sisa-Kaulas), Sydney March (sculpteur, monument à la mémoire de Lord Stanley), la Première nation Shuswap (rocher avec pétroglyphes), et Elek Imredy (monument commémoratif en bronze, Girl in Wet Suit - Fille en combinaison de plongée, 1970).

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, 1988; Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative de juin 2002.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les éléments qui contribuent à la valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu, notons :
-son cadre qui allie forêt, montagnes et océan;
-l’interrelation entre les différents emplacements, les fonctions et les éléments matériels des zones naturelles et culturelles;
-l’intégrité et l’abondance d’éléments naturels, comme la forêt de peuplement ancien et nouveau, les habitats intertidaux et près du rivage, la géologie du soubassement;
-la diversité des éléments culturels, y compris les paysages des jardins, les paysages classés du parc, les bâtiments et les structures associés aux activités du parc, les monuments commémoratifs, les installations sportives, et les expositions en plein air du musée;
-les jardins personnalisés, dans l’intégrité de leur agencement, de la variété des plantes, des éléments caractéristiques et des structures de chacun dans leurs matériaux et leurs proportions originaux;
-les lieux, la composition, les caractéristiques bâties et les plantations, les paysages dessinés, comme ceux qui sont associés au monument commémoratif Stanley, Brockton Point, Ceperley Meadows, la digue, le Lost Lagoon, le pavillon et le Malkin Bowl, le Lumberman’s Arch, les terrains de tennis et de boulingrin, le jardin de roses et les plantations spéciales, les arbres commémoratifs et le Hollow Tree (l’arbre creux);
-les caractéristiques d’eau fraîche classées, dont le Lost Lagoon et le ruisseau Ceperley, y compris leur emplacement, leur conception, les plantations associées, les caractéristiques paysagères artificielles;
-les aires de loisirs, les plages, les piscines aux plages Second Beach et Third Beach, les terrains de jeux pour les enfants et le parc aquatique pour enfants, les terrains de jeu et les installations sportives, y compris Brockton Point Oval and Athletic Grounds, Cricket Pitch, le terrain de jeu Prospect Point, et les espaces extérieurs polyvalents, des lieux, des agencements, des plantations, des caractéristiques à usage déterminé, des édifices et des structures associés;
-les édifices du patrimoine, y compris le Stanley Park Pavilion, le Sports Pavilion, le Rose Garden Cottage, la billetterie du terrain de golf, dans leur conception rustique exprimée dans les surfaces variées, les murs de granit posés par assises irrégulières, les surfaces en rondins verticaux, les toits de bardeaux de cèdre, encadrement et balustres en bois, fenêtres à vitres multiples, avant-toits, bords à chevrons apparents, pignons, et extensions dans les paysages grâce à l’utilisation de balcons, de vérandas, de pignons, de porte-fenêtres et de fenêtres en quantité;
-l'aquarium de Vancouver avec sa tradition d'éducation publique sur l'environnement marin et les enjeux de conservation, et sa sculpture en bronze par Bill Reid à l'entrée principale, qui représente un épaulard;
-la conception et la composition du pont promenade piétonnier;
-la maçonnerie en pierre rustique sur les éléments du paysage comme la digue, les ponts, les escaliers, les murs de soutènement et les sentiers;
-le travail artisanal, la conception, les matériaux et la situation de la collection de devants d’autel, de maisons et de pôles mortuaires des Premières nations, les monuments commémoratifs particuliers;
-l’aménagement, les tracés, les voies, les composites et les perspectives des sentiers du patrimoine et des routes touristiques Stanley Park et des promenades North Lagoon;
-le tracé, le passage, la construction et le travail d’artisanat de la digue y compris les caractéristiques d’interprétation et le Nine o’Clock Gun;
-la conception, la composition du matériel, et les caractéristiques paysagères du pont-jetée;
-l’emplacement des sites archéologiques associés avec l’ancienne utilisation et la création du parc;
-la vue à l’intérieur du parc qui embrasse des éléments naturels et culturels, et depuis le parc sur la zone environnante, y compris l’océan, la côte voisine, et l’environnement urbain, la baie English et les montagnes et les forêts.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1988/11/11

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Exprimer la vie intellectuelle et culturelle
Les sports et les loisirs

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Loisirs
Parc

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

Elek Imredy

Constructeur

James Cunningham

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec.

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

84

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches