Home / Accueil

Wellington Building

180 Wellington St. / Sparks, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1986/06/13

General view of the Wellington Building showing the strong base storey with round-headed openings, a grand three-storey centre portion marked by Corinthian colonnades and pilasters, and a substantial cornice and parapet, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
General view
View of the main facade of the Wellington Building emphasizing the use of quality finish materials on the exterior, including the smooth Indiana limestone cladding with granite base and the bronze grilles and spandrel panels, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Front facade
Side elevation of the Wellington Building showing its formalism, monumental scale and sculptural richness, including the symmetrical and balanced proportions and clear three-part composition, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Side view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1925/01/01 to 1927/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/08/23

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Wellington Building is a six-storey office block, prominently located on the south side of Wellington Street facing Parliament Hill. The original 1927 building has three principal facades, on Wellington, Bank and Sparks, all in a monumental colonnaded Beaux-Arts style. Two upper storeys and a side extension were added in the late 1950s, in a more austere classical vocabulary.

Heritage Value

The Wellington Building is a “Recognized” Federal Heritage Building in part because of its historical associations, but primarily because of its architectural and environmental value.

Historical value:
Originally built as the Canadian headquarters for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, the largest American firm of its kind in the early 20th Century, the Wellington Building testifies to the prominent role of the company in the development of the life insurance industry in Canada. The building’s construction also coincides with the emergence of Ottawa as a regional commercial centre during this period. Initially associated with other prestigious financial institutions along Sparks and Wellington Streets, the building was taken over by the federal government in the 1970s and is now associated with the House of Commons.

Architectural value:
Designed by the noted American architect D. Everett Waid, in collaboration with his Ottawa counterpart, J.A. Ewart, the 1927 building is a sophisticated example of Beaux-Arts design, a style strongly favored by American institutions at the time. The Beaux-Arts style is expressed here in both the monumental symmetrical composition of the exterior facades and in the axial arrangement of its ground floor public spaces. These public spaces, including a celebrated entrance mural, display a high quality of workmanship and materials. At the time of its construction, the building was an example of advanced thinking with regards to efficient office planning for clerical work areas and a concern for health in the workplace. Later layers from the 1950s, in a more austere and less successful classical modernist style, reflect the company’s success and growth.

Environmental value:
Prominently located at the intersection of Bank and Wellington Streets, the Wellington Building strongly contributes to the formality, prestige and monumentality of the building line facing Parliament Hill and to its predominantly classical design, which counterbalances the neo-gothic character of the Parliament buildings. On the opposite Sparks Street elevation, smaller scale retail spaces remain an integral part of the street’s vitality. Because of its monumental design, scale and location, the building is a familiar landmark within the city.

Sources:
Dana Johnston, Metropolitan Life Assurance Building/Wellington Building, Federal Heritage Building Review Office Historic Report, 85-031; Wellington Building, Ottawa, Ontario. Heritage Character Statement, 85-031.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Wellington Building should be respected.

The quality of its Beaux Arts design, as displayed in:
-the formalism, monumental scale and sculptural richness of the main, side and rear elevations of the 1927 building, including their symmetrical and balanced proportions and clear three-part composition - a strong base storey with round-headed openings, a grand three-storey centre portion marked by Corinthian colonnades and pilasters, and a substantial cornice and parapet;
-the axial sequence of public circulation spaces on the ground floor, emphasized by the rich decorative scheme.

The building’s good functional design and corresponding quality of materials and craftsmanship, as manifested in:
-the open concept floor plan with centrally located service and vertical transport cores;
-the use of quality finish materials on the exterior, including the smooth Indiana limestone cladding with granite base and the bronze grilles and spandrel panels;
-the use of noble finishes in the primary interior public spaces, including the remarkable vestibule mosaic, the marble walls and detailing, and the bronze fittings (wall sconces, doors, grilles);
-the compatible finishes of the service and vertical transport cores, including the slate treads, bronze handrails, and marble washroom partitions;
-certain elements of the added layers of the 1950s, including black marble and stainless steel decorative highlights.

The manner in which the building contributes to the prestigious institutional character of the area, and helps define the transition from the Parliamentary and institutional character of Wellington to the more civic and commercial character of Sparks:
-the building’s formality and monumental scale, which anchor the intersection of Wellington and Bank;
-the presence of retail along Sparks Street, contributing to the vitality of that corridor and yet compatible with the primary function of the building as office space.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1986/06/13

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1957/01/01 to 1957/01/01
1959/01/01 to 1959/01/01

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Commerce / Commercial Services
Office or Office Building

Architect / Designer

D. Everett Waid and J.A.Ewart (1927), Marani and Morris (1957-1959)

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

2566

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Édifice Wellington

180 Wellington St. / Sparks, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1986/06/13

Vue générale de l'Édifice Wellington montrant le rez-de-chaussée solide pourvu d’ouvertures cintrées, un grand bloc central de trois étages caractérisé par des colonnades et des pilastres corinthiens, et une corniche et un parapet imposants, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Vue générale
Vue de la façade principale de l'Édifice Wellington mettant de l'emphase sur l’emploi de matériaux de finition de qualité à l’extérieur, y compris le revêtement lisse en pierre calcaire avec une base en granit et des panneaux d’allège, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Façade principale
Vue latérale de l'Édifice Wellington montrant l’échelle formelle et monumentale richement sculptée, y compris ses proportions symétriques et équilibrées et sa nette composition tripartite, 2011.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, M. Therrien, 2011.
Vue latérale

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1925/01/01 à 1927/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/08/23

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

L’édifice Wellington est un immeuble à bureaux de six étages sis bien en évidence du côté sud de la rue Wellington, en face de la Colline du Parlement. Le bâtiment original datant de 1927 comporte trois façades principales donnant sur les rues Wellington, Bank et Sparks, toutes réalisées dans le style monumental des Beaux-Arts à colonnade. Les deux étages supérieurs et l’aile latérale ont été ajoutés à la fin des années 1950 et suivent un vocabulaire classique plus austère.

Valeur patrimoniale

L’édifice Wellington est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu en partie en raison de son importance historique, mais principalement à cause de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Construit à l’origine comme siège social canadien de la Metropolitan Life Insurance Company (Compagnie d’assurances-vie La Métropolitaine au Canada), soit la plus grande compagnie d’assurances-vie américaine au tournant du XXe siècle, l’édifice Wellington reflète le rôle important joué par cette compagnie dans le développement du secteur des assurances-vie au Canada. La construction de l’édifice coïncide aussi avec l’émergence d’Ottawa comme centre de commerce régional. Associé à l’origine aux autres institutions financières prestigieuses qui bordent les rues Sparks et Wellington, l’édifice a été repris par le gouvernement fédéral dans les années 1970 et est aujourd’hui associé à la Chambre des communes.

Valeur architecturale
Conçu par l’architecte américain réputé D. Everett Waid en collaboration avec J.A. Ewart, architecte d’Ottawa, le bâtiment de 1927 est un exemple sophistiqué du style des Beaux-Arts, style très prisé à l’époque pour la construction institutionnelle aux États-Unis. Le style des Beaux-Arts se retrouve ici à la fois dans la composition symétrique et monumentale des façades extérieures et dans la configuration axiale des espaces publics au rez-de-chaussée. Ces espaces publics, notamment la célèbre murale de l’entrée, témoignent de la très grande qualité de l’exécution et des matériaux. À l’époque de sa construction, le bâtiment reflétait une réflexion avant-gardiste quant à la planification efficace des espaces de bureaux, avec des espaces de travail prévus pour les commis et un souci à l’égard de la santé en milieu de travail. Les éléments ajoutés dans les années 1950, d’un style moderne classique plus austère et moins réussi, témoignent du succès et de la croissance de la compagnie.


Valeur environnementale
Situé bien en vue à l’angle des rues Bank et Wellington, l’édifice Wellington contribue beaucoup à la formalité, au prestige et à la monumentalité des bâtiments qui font face à la Colline du Parlement. Sa conception essentiellement classique fait contrepartie au caractère néo-gothique des édifices du Parlement. En face de la façade qui donne sur la rue Sparks, les établissements commerçants, de moindre échelle, demeurent un élément intégrant du dynamisme de la rue. En raison de son plan monumental, de son échelle et de son emplacement, le bâtiment constitue un repère familier dans la ville.

Sources :
Dana Johnston, édifice de la Metropolitan Life Insurance /édifice Wellington, Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche, 85-031; Édifice Wellington, Ottawa, Ontario. Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale, 85-031.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de l’édifice Wellington, devraient être respectés.

la qualité de sa conception inspirée du mouvement des Beaux-Arts, c’est-à-dire :
-l’échelle formelle et monumentale des façades principale, latérale et arrière richement sculptées du bâtiment original datant de 1927, y compris leurs proportions symétriques et équilibrées et leur nette composition tripartite, soit un rez-de-chaussée solide pourvu d’ouvertures cintrées, un grand bloc central de trois étages caractérisé par des colonnades et des pilastres corinthiens, et une corniche et un parapet imposants;
-la configuration axiale des espaces publics du rez-de-chaussée, qui sont rehaussés par une ornementation riche.

La bonne conception fonctionnelle du bâtiment et la qualité résultante des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
-la disposition en enfilade du point de service central et des axes de circulation verticale;
-l’emploi de matériaux de finition de qualité à l’extérieur, y compris le revêtement lisse en pierre calcaire de l’Indiana avec une base en granit, des grilles en bronze et des panneaux d’allège;
-l’emploi de finitions nobles dans les principaux espaces publics intérieurs, y compris la remarquable mosaïque dans le vestibule, les murs et détails en marbre et les accessoires en bronze (appliques murales, portes, grilles);
-les finis compatibles des centres de service et des axes de circulation verticale, y compris les marches en ardoise, les rampes en bronze et les partitions en marbre dans les salles de bain;
-certains éléments datant des ajouts faits dans les années 1950, dont le marbre noir et les éléments décoratifs en acier inoxydable.

La façon dont le bâtiment contribue au prestigieux caractère institutionnel du secteur et aide à définir la transition entre le caractère parlementaire institutionnel de la rue Wellington et le cachet plus civique et commercial de la rue Sparks :
-la formalité et l’échelle monumentale du bâtiment, qui fait office de point d’ancrage de l’angle des rues Wellington et Bank;
-la présence de commerces le long de la rue Sparks, ce qui contribue au dynamisme de ce corridor tout en demeurant compatible avec la fonction principale du bâtiment comme immeuble à bureaux.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

1986/06/13

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

1957/01/01 à 1957/01/01
1959/01/01 à 1959/01/01

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Commerce / Services commerciaux
Bureau ou édifice à bureaux

Architecte / Concepteur

D. Everett Waid and J.A.Ewart (1927), Marani and Morris (1957-1959)

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

2566

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches