Home / Accueil

13 Main Street South

13, Main Street S., County of Brant, Ontario, N0E, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1981/08/04

Of note is the heavily rusticated stone masonry and the massive northeast tower.; Kayla Jonas, 2007
West Façade, Sunnyside, 2007
Featured is the inscription, “Sunnyside A.D. 1888” on the date stone.; Kayla Jonas, 2007
Date Stone, Sunnyside, 2007
Of note are the third-storey arches, cresting and balustrade detailing.; Kayla Jonas, 2007
Northeast Tower, Sunnyside, 2007

Other Name(s)

13 Main Street South

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)


Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/07/08

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Sunnyside, located at 13 Main Street South, is situated on the west side of Main Street South, between Beverley and High Street in the former Village of St. George, now the County of Brant. The property consists of a three-storey red-brick building that was constructed circa 1888.

The property was designated in 1981 by the former Township of South Dumfries for its architectural and historical value or interest under Part IV of the Ontario Heritage Act (By-law 30-81).

Heritage Value

Sunnyside is set back 80 feet from the street, which was an old trick for making a house more prominent than neighbouring houses. This setback continues to contribute to its prominence today.

Sunnyside stands as a memorial to its former owners, Dr. and Mrs. E.E. Kitchen, who contributed much to the life and times of their era and to their community. Dr. Kitchen's wife, Annie Charlton, was a friend of Mrs. Adelaide Hunter Hoodless, founder of the Women's Institute. Mrs. Kitchen supported Mrs. Hoodless in her work by holding Women's Institute meetings at Sunnyside.

In addition, Sunnyside stands as a tribute to the Reeve and Councillors who had the foresight and sense of history to preserve and restore Sunnyside. Their work bound together the period of the 1880s, when Sunnyside was built, to the 1980s, when it was restored and returned to its community to serve as the Township of South Dumfries Municipal Office.

The name “Sunnyside” suggests that the Kitchen's house was to represent all the best in life. Built in 1888, it is a fine example of the Romanesque Revival style of architecture. Sunnyside is distinguished by Gothic details, including rounded Roman arches which appear over the doors and windows. The high sloping mansard roof and massive northeast tower are also prominent characteristic of this house.

Sources: Township of South Dumfries By-law 30-81

Character-Defining Elements

Features that contribute to the heritage value of Sunnyside include its:
- mansard slate roof
- stone mullion window treatments
- stone detailing on the exterior walls of heavily rusticated masonry
- three-storey northeast tower including the windows, dormers, balustrade detailing in front of the windows and the cresting
- third-storey arched dormers and rooflines
- two-storey bay window on the front façade.
- 80 foot setback from the street which distinguishes the house from others nearby




Recognition Authority

Local Governments (ON)

Recognition Statute

Ontario Heritage Act

Recognition Type

Municipal Heritage Designation (Part IV)

Recognition Date


Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1981/01/01 to 1981/01/01

Theme - Category and Type

Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life
Architecture and Design

Function - Category and Type



Single Dwelling

Architect / Designer




Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

County of Brant Community and Development Services 66 Grand River Street North Paris, ON N3L 2M2

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier




Related Places



Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Nearby Places