Home / Accueil

Rideau Hall : Complex as a whole

1 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1987/01/16

General view MacKay Castle, 2006.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 2006.
General view
General view of the secondary gates and fences.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada.
General view
General view of the gate lodge.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada.
General view

Other Name(s)

Rideau Hall : Complex as a whole
Rideau Hall Complex
Le complexe Rideau Hall
Rideau Hall Estate
Domaine Rideau Hall

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1830/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2010/05/06

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Rideau Hall Complex contains the official residence, the landscaped grounds and the outbuildings, which together constitute the vice-regal estate of the Governor General of Canada. The components of the complex are carefully arranged on a fenced 88-acre site designed in the tradition of a 19th-century English country estate. Initially owned and constructed by Thomas Mackay, the villa, along with a portion of the land, has served as the site for the residence of the Governor General since 1864. The Rideau Hall Complex is bordered by Sussex Drive, Mackay Street and Dufferin Road, and is located at the end of the ceremonial route from Parliament Hill in Ottawa.

Heritage Value

The Rideau Hall Complex was designated “Classified” because of its important historical associations, its architectural qualities, and its landmark and environmental values.

Historical value
The historical significance of the Rideau Hall Complex is primarily reflected in its long and continuous role as the vice-regal home for the Governor General of Canada. Its earliest associations are with Thomas Mackay, a local industrialist involved in the construction of the Rideau Canal and the early development of Bytown, now Ottawa. The federal government rented Mackay’s original villa in 1864 and purchased the property in 1868, when the residence of the Governor General of Canada was permanently transferred to Ottawa. The successive Governors-General and their families were housed at this official estate and brought their individual refinements and developments over the years. With the emergence of a united and independent Canada, the Rideau Hall Complex became, as the residence of the Crown's representative in Canada, a focal point of political and social life in the National Capital.

Architectural value
The Rideau Hall Complex displays very good aesthetic qualities, with the Mackay Castle as the principal focal point of the estate grounds and the smaller structures judiciously placed in the picturesque landscape. A number of outbuildings have survived to illustrate the evolution of the Rideau Hall Complex and present very good functional values associated with a vice-regal estate, notably the Gate Lodge, the Cricket Pavilion, the Stable Building, the Gasometer (Dome Building), the Dairy Building, the Greenhouses and the Rideau Cottage. Many of them have also retained their integrity of design and materials. Very good workmanship can also be found throughout the estate, in particular in the public and ceremonial spaces of the Mackay Castle, as well as in the iron and masonry work of the main gates and fence. The buildings forming part of the Rideau Hall Complex represent a very good example of the Department of Public Works architects of the time, such as F.P. Rubidge, Thomas Fuller and David Ewart.

Environnemental value
The Rideau Hall Complex is distinguished by the very good quality and high significance of its grounds which, from the start, have contained the essential components of a country estate in the English landscape tradition. The property evolved with the tastes and ambitions of a succession of Governors-General, while retaining its essential composition and character. The site follows the primarily established boundaries and patterns of use, including the service sector to the north of the main residence, as well as a visually-perceptible recreational layer and some earlier remnants of the farm. The predominantly soft landscape presents a rich variety of mature trees and plant material and contains key elements with their own characteristics and specific roles: the northern woods, the entrance park, the south open lawns and the ornamental gardens. Being the first development in the area, the Rideau Hall Complex established the present character of the neighborhood. As the terminus of the ceremonial route from Parliament Hill, and a clearly demarcated precinct within its decorative gates and fences, the Rideau Hall Complex is a well-known landmark to the people of Canada and is a dominant influence within its more immediate neighbourhood.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Rideau Hall Complex to be respected include:

Its role as the official residence of the Crown’s representative in Canada, as reflected in:
— The distinct vice-regal quality of the Mackay Castle and the high significance of its grounds, including the surviving park, gardens and woods, drawn from the tradition of a 19th-century English country estate in the Picturesque style.

Its very good aesthetic values, functional design, and craftsmanship as a whole, as evidenced by:
— The evolutionary character of the Rideau Hall Complex, accentuated from 1865 to 1927 and including the additions to the Mackay Castle, the construction of outbuildings and improvements to the grounds, in keeping with the English Picturesque landscape design tradition;
— The compatibility of the outbuildings, in terms of scale and architectural design, in relation to the vice-regal character of the Mackay Castle and the picturesque landscape setting;
— The elements linked to the official functions of the estate, in particular the Main Gate, the Gate Lodge, the Mackay Castle, the Governor General’s private gardens and the ceremonial trees;
— The service buildings grouped in the north sector and illustrating the former workings of the estate, notably the Stable Building, the Gasometer (Dome Building) and the Dairy Building;
— The remaining features related to leisure activities, such as the cricket pitch and Cricket Pavilion, the tennis courts and Tennis Pavilion, and the skating rink; and,
— The very good aesthetic qualities and craftsmanship of the ceremonial and gathering spaces of the Mackay Castle, and the ornamented gates and fences enclosing the property.

Its very good illustration of the application of the English Picturesque landscape design style in Canada, and in the way it established the character of the neighborhood and represents a national landmark, as demonstrated by:
— The harmonious composition of the estate grounds following the original patterns of use, with the wild northern woods, entrance park, southern open lawn, ornamental gardens, and remnants of the farm;
— The presence of the Mackay Castle at the center of the estate grounds on a rise of wooded land, with the outbuildings carefully inserted as eye-catchers into the surrounding landscape setting;
— The elements reinforcing the picturesque landscape aesthetic, including the ornamented gates and fences and the winding front entrance drive leading to the main residence; and,
— The location of the Rideau Hall Complex at the end of the ceremonial route from Parliament Hill, which reinforces its associations with the Canadian Government.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1987/01/16

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Residence
Single Dwelling

Architect / Designer

Thomas McKay

Builder

Messieurs Ward and O’Leary

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

Heritage Conservation and Commemoration Directorate, Documentation Centre, 3rd Floor, Room 366, 30 Victoria St, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

2795

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Rideau Hall Visitor Centre

Rideau Hall Visitor Centre is an attractive, two-storey, building with a hipped gable roof, shed roofed dormers, and painted clapboard siding. The simple external treatment is in…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Rideau Hall : le complexe dans son ensemble

1, promenade Sussex, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1987/01/16

Vue générale du château Mackay, 2006.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, 2006.
Vue générale
Vue générale du portail secondaire et des clôtures.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada.
Vue générale
Vue générale de la loge du portier.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

Rideau Hall : le complexe dans son ensemble
Rideau Hall Complex
Le complexe Rideau Hall
Rideau Hall Estate
Domaine Rideau Hall

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1830/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2010/05/06

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le complexe Rideau Hall comprend la résidence officielle, l’aire paysagère et les dépendances qui, ensemble, constituent le domaine vice-royal du gouverneur général du Canada. Disposés sur un terrain clôturé de 88 acres, les éléments constitutifs du complexe ont été conçus dans la tradition des domaines de campagne à l’anglaise du XIXe siècle. Construite par Thomas MacKay, qui en a été le premier propriétaire, la villa (de même qu’une partie du terrain attenant) sert de lieu de résidence au gouverneur général depuis 1864. Le complexe Rideau Hall est bordé par la promenade Sussex, la rue MacKay et le chemin Dufferin. Il est situé à la fin du parcours d’honneur qui part de la Colline du Parlement, à Ottawa.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le complexe Rideau Hall a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine « classé » en raison de ses importants liens historiques, de ses caractéristiques architecturales, de ses valeurs environnementales et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe en tant que point de repère.

Valeur historique
L’importance historique du complexe Rideau Hall est attribuable principalement au fait que, de tout temps et sans interruption, il a servi de domaine vice-royal au gouverneur général du Canada. Le complexe est associé au départ à Thomas MacKay, industriel de la région qui a participé à la construction du canal Rideau et au développement de la jeune localité de Bytown, qui deviendra plus tard la ville d’Ottawa. Le gouvernement fédéral loue la villa d’origine de MacKay en 1864 et fait l’acquisition de la propriété en 1868, année où la résidence du gouverneur général du Canada est transférée de façon permanente à Ottawa. Par la suite, les gouverneurs généraux et leur famille logeront dans cette propriété officielle et y apporteront leurs propres améliorations et ajouts au fil des ans. Au moment où le Canada devient un État uni et indépendant, le complexe Rideau Hall devient, à titre de résidence du représentant de la Couronne au Canada, l’un des éléments centraux de la vie politique et sociale de la capitale nationale.

Valeur architecturale
Le château MacKay est le point d’intérêt principal du domaine, et les constructions de moindre envergure sont judicieusement placées dans le paysage pittoresque, ce qui fait du complexe Rideau Hall un exemple remarquable sur le plan esthétique. Plusieurs dépendances ont résisté au temps, dont le pavillon d’entrée, le pavillon de cricket, l’écurie, le gazomètre (l’édifice Dôme), la laiterie, les serres et Rideau Cottage. Elles illustrent l’évolution du complexe Rideau Hall et donnent au domaine vice-royal une grande valeur utilitaire. L’intégrité de la conception et des matériaux de bon nombre de ces dépendances a également été préservée. En outre, la propriété est réputée pour son excellente qualité d’exécution, particulièrement visible dans les espaces publics et les lieux de cérémonie du château MacKay, ainsi que dans la maçonnerie et la ferronnerie du portail et de la clôture. Les bâtiments qui font partie du complexe Rideau Hall illustrent très bien le travail des architectes du ministère des Travaux publics de l’époque, dont F. P. Rubidge, Thomas Fuller et David Ewart.

Valeur environnementale
Le complexe Rideau Hall se distingue par l’excellente qualité et la grande importance de ses terrains, lesquels, depuis le début, renferment les composantes essentielles d’un domaine de campagne dans la tradition paysagère anglaise. La propriété a évolué en fonction des goûts et des ambitions des gouverneurs généraux qui s’y sont succédé, tout en conservant sa composition et son caractère essentiels. Le domaine suit les limites et les profils d’utilisation établis, y compris l’aire de service située au nord de la résidence principale, ainsi que les aires de loisirs ouverts et les vestiges de l’ancienne ferme. Le paysage au relief peu accidenté présente une riche diversité d’arbres matures et d’autres plantes. Il abrite également des points d’intérêt aux caractéristiques et aux fonctions uniques : le boisé du nord, le parc de l’entrée, les parterres ouverts du sud et les jardins ornementaux. Comme il s’agissait de la première construction de ce secteur, le complexe Rideau Hall a donné le ton au caractère actuel du voisinage. L’édifice marque la fin du parcours d’honneur qui part de la Colline du Parlement, et son enceinte est délimitée par une clôture et un portail ornementaux, de sorte que le complexe Rideau Hall représente un point de repère bien connu du peuple canadien, tout en exerçant une influence dominante sur ses environs immédiats.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les éléments caractéristiques du complexe Rideau Hall qui doivent être respectés, notons :

Son rôle en tant que résidence officielle du représentant de la Couronne au Canada, comme en témoigne :
— le caractère vice-royal qui distingue le château MacKay et la grande importance du domaine environnant, y compris le parc, les jardins et les bois, qui s’inscrivent dans le style pittoresque des domaines de campagne anglais du XIXe siècle.

Ses très grandes qualités esthétiques, sa conception fonctionnelle ainsi que la qualité de l’exécution dans l’ensemble, comme en font foi :
— le caractère évolutif du complexe Rideau Hall, qui s’est accentué de 1865 à 1927 et qui inclut la construction des annexes du château MacKay, la construction de dépendances et les améliorations apportées au domaine dans le respect de la tradition de l’architecture paysagère de style pittoresque anglais;
— la compatibilité des dépendances, sur le plan de l’envergure et de la conception architecturale, avec le caractère vice-royal du château MacKay et le cachet pittoresque de l’aire paysagère;
— les éléments liés aux fonctions officielles du domaine, en particulier le portail principal, le pavillon d’entrée, le château MacKay, les jardins privés du gouverneur général et les arbres commémoratifs;
— les bâtiments de service regroupés dans la partie nord et illustrant le fonctionnement du domaine autrefois, notamment l’écurie, le gazomètre (l’édifice Dôme) et la laiterie;
— les installations récréatives qui ont perduré, comme le terrain et le pavillon de cricket, les courts et le pavillon de tennis, ainsi que la patinoire;
— l’excellente esthétique et la qualité du travail des artisans des lieux de cérémonie et de rassemblement du château MacKay, de la clôture et du portail ornementaux qui entourent la propriété.

Sa très bonne illustration d’architecture paysagère de style pittoresque anglais au Canada, ainsi que de la façon dont il a établi le caractère du voisinage et représente un point de repère national, comme en font foi :
— la composition harmonieuse du domaine suivant les profils d’utilisation d’origine, avec le boisé sauvage du nord, le parc de l’entrée, les parterres ouverts du sud, les jardins ornementaux et les vestiges de la ferme;
— la présence du château MacKay au centre de la propriété sur une hauteur boisée, avec les dépendances soigneusement disposées dans l’aire paysagère environnante de façon à retenir l’attention;
— les éléments renforçant l’esthétique pittoresque du paysage, dont la clôture et le portail ornementaux, ainsi que la sinuosité de l’allée centrale qui conduit à la résidence principale;
— l’emplacement du complexe Rideau Hall à la fin du parcours d’honneur qui part de la Colline du Parlement, ce qui renforce ses associations avec le gouvernement canadien.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1987/01/16

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Résidence
Logement unifamilial

Architecte / Concepteur

Thomas McKay

Constructeur

Messieurs Ward and O’Leary

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale de la conservation et de la commémoration du patrimoine, Centre de documentation, 3e étage, salle 366, 30 rue Victoria, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

2795

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Historic photograph

Centre des visiteurs de Rideau Hall

Le Centre d’accueil de Rideau Hall est un bâtiment attrayant à deux étages muni d’un toit à pignon à pan coupé, de lucarnes rampantes et d’un parement à clin peint. La simplicité…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches