Home / Accueil

Percheron Box Stalls

Longview, Alberta, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1993/11/15

Corner view of the Percheron Box Stalls, showing its extensive scale and unusual massing, 1992.; Public Works Canada, A & E Services - CPS, WRO, 1992 / Ministère des Travaux publics, SAG, PC, BRO, 1992.
Corner View
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Percheron Box Stalls
Building 29
Bâtiment 29

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1902/01/01 to 1927/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/05/02

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Located on the northern perimeter of the Bar U Ranch National Historic Site of Canada, the Percheron Box Stalls, also known as Building 29, constructed to accommodate and breed Percheron horses, consists of three simple, shed-roofed wings arranged in a U plan around a central paddock. The shed roofs meet each other at the corners of the U forming hipped roofs at these locations. The shed-roofed wings are made up of long banks of box stalls facing onto the paddock. The walls of the west and north wings are of light frame construction, with exterior walls clad in vertical boards and batten. The east wing’s wall assembly consists of peeled logs standing in the earth, sheathed with horizontal boards, pierced with windows and supporting a narrow clerestory. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Percheron Box Stalls is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The Bar U Ranch complex is one of the best examples of the development of the ranching industry in Alberta and its importance in the development of Canada. The Percheron Box Stalls are the most evident structures remaining of George Lane’s large-scale Percheron Breeding Program. The Percheron Box Stalls are also associated with Patrick Burns, who purchased the Bar U Ranch in 1927 to add to his vast cattle empire. Burns, who is recognized as the kingpin of the meat processing industry in western Canada during the mid-1920’s, has been designated a person of national significance.

Architectural Value
The Percheron Box Stalls building is a major structure on the site and is an excellent example of a simple yet unusual function-oriented design that sets it apart from other buildings on the site. It has a strong aesthetic impact due to its scale, unusual massing and patina. Like other structures of this phase, the building reflects the gradual shift from log building tradition and use of native materials, to a reliance on external sources for building materials. The construction of the building reflects its utilitarian, function-driven character and its informal, innovative approach to design and materials.

Environmental Value
The Percheron Box Stalls is part of a cohesive complex of buildings arranged to great functional effect and reinforces the present visual character of the Bar U Ranch. The building, located on the northern perimeter of the ranch, is a conspicuous feature within the working area of the complex. It is also a component of the collection of pre-1927 buildings, which contribute to the landmark value of the complex as one of the region’s most important early ranch sites. The colour scheme of red walls and white trim continues a tradition across the Prairies and visually links this structure to other buildings on site.

Sources: Edward Mills, Historic Bar U Ranch Headquarters, Longview, Alberta, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Building Report 92-017; The Percheron Box Stalls(Building 29), Bar U Ranch, Longview, Alberta, Heritage Character Statement 92-017.

Character-Defining Elements

The character defining elements of the Percheron Box Stalls should be respected.

Its very good simple yet unusual function-oriented design, its strong aesthetic impact and its construction with its informal, innovative approach to design and materials as manifested in:
-its extensive scale and unusual massing;
-the large expanse of roof;
-its simple shed-roofed wings arranged in a U plan around a central paddock;
-the shed roofs meeting at the corners of the U and forming hipped roofs;
-its long banks of box stalls;
-its light frame construction;
-wall assembly of vertical board and batten cladding;
-wall assembly of peeled logs standing in earth;
-sheathed horizontal boards pierced with windows;
-its narrow clerestory;
-its minimal and informal foundations;
-the curb of concrete at the buildings perimeter;
-its colour scheme.

The manner in which the Percheron Box Stalls is part of a cohesive complex of buildings, reinforces the visual character of the Bar U Ranch.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1993/11/15

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Food Supply
Barn, Stable or Other Animal Housing

Historic

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

5644

Status

Published

Related Places

View of buildings

Bar U Ranch National Historic Site of Canada

Bar U Ranch National Historic Site of Canada comprises 148.43 hectares of rangeland that constitute the original headquarters site of an Alberta cattle ranch established in the…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Écurie des percherons

Longview, Alberta, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1993/11/15

Vue en angle de l’Écurie des percherons , montrant les dimensions imposantes du bâtiment et sa volumétrie inhabituelle, 1992.; Public Works Canada, A & E Services - CPS, WRO, 1992 / Ministère des Travaux publics, SAG, PC, BRO, 1992.
Vue en angle
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Écurie des percherons
Building 29
Bâtiment 29

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1902/01/01 à 1927/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/05/02

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Cette écurie du lieu historique national du Canada Ranch-Bar U, aussi appelé Bâtiment 29, construite pour loger des chevaux percherons et en faire l'élevage, est composée de trois volumes tout simples surmontés de toitures en appentis et disposés en U autour d'un enclos. À l'intersection du volume central et des ailes en retour, les appentis se rejoignent pour former des toits en croupe. Les trois volumes abritent de longues rangées de box qui donnent sur l'enclos. Les parties ouest et nord ont des murs à charpente légère revêtus à l'extérieur de planches verticales avec couvre-joints. Les murs de la partie est sont composés de poteaux en bois rond écorcé qui sont plantés dans la terre et revêtus de planches horizontales; ces murs sont percés de fenêtres et surmontés d'un étroit lanterneau filant. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

L'Écurie des percherons a été désignée édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’elle représente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’elle occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le ranch Bar U est un des meilleurs témoins de l'évolution de l'industrie de l'élevage en Alberta et de l'importance qu'a eue cette industrie dans la croissance du Canada. L’Écurie des percherons est l'élément qui ressort le plus parmi les bâtiments qui subsistent du vaste programme d'élevage de percherons mis sur pied par George Lane. L’Écurie rappelle aussi l'époque de Patrick Burns, qui s'est porté acquéreur du ranch Bar U en 1927 pour accroître son vaste empire d'éleveur bovin. Burns, reconnu comme le baron de l'industrie du traitement de la viande dans l'Ouest canadien au milieu des années 1920, a été désigné personnage historique national.

Valeur architecturale
L'Écurie des percherons est un bâtiment important du ranch et un excellent spécimen d'une architecture fonctionnelle à la fois simple et inhabituelle qui la rend différente des autres bâtiments de l'ensemble. Elle a une force esthétique considérable en raison de sa taille, de sa volumétrie et de la patine de ses matériaux. Comme d'autres bâtiments appartenant à la même phase de construction, l'écurie des percherons incarne le passage progressif d'un mode traditionnel de construction en bois rond au moyen de matériaux coupés sur place à l'emploi de matériaux provenant de sources extérieures. Le mode de construction du bâtiment révèle sa nature fonctionnelle et utilitaire ainsi qu'une approche de la conception et des matériaux qui est à la fois novatrice et en dehors des règles habituelles.

Valeur environnementale
L'Écurie des percherons fait partie d'un ensemble harmonieux de bâtiments agencés dans un souci de fonctionnalité optimale et renforce le caractère visuel actuel du ranch Bar U. Le bâtiment, situé à la limite nord de l'exploitation, est un élément qui a une forte présence visuelle dans la zone de travail du ranch. Il compte aussi parmi les bâtiments construits avant 1927 auxquels le ranch doit en partie sa valeur de point de repère parmi l'ensemble des ranches anciens les plus importants de la région. Sa combinaison de couleurs, le rouge pour les murs, le blanc pour les encadrements, est conforme à celle qu'on trouve traditionnellement dans les bâtiments agricoles des Prairies et elle crée un lien visuel entre lui et les autres bâtiments du ranch.

Sources : Edward Mills, Historic Bar U Ranch Headquarters, Longview, Alberta. Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 92-017 ; L’Écurie des percherons (bâtiment 29), ranch Bar U, Longview, Alberta, Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 92-017.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments caractéristiques de l'Écurie des percherons devraient être respectés.

Son architecture fonctionnelle à la fois simple et inhabituelle, de belle conception, sa grande force esthétique et sa construction, que met en valeur une approche de la conception et des matériaux à la fois novatrice et en dehors des règles, qualités que dénotent :
-les dimensions imposantes du bâtiment et sa volumétrie inhabituelle;
-les grandes surfaces de toiture;
-le corps central et les ailes en retour, volumes tout simples coiffés de toits en appentis et disposés en U autour d'un enclos;
-les appentis qui se rencontrent à l'intersection du volume central et des ailes pour former des toits en croupe;
-les longues rangées de box;
-la charpente légère;
-les murs revêtus d'un bardage de planches verticales avec couvre-joints;
-les murs faits de poteaux en bois rond écorcé plantés dans la terre;
-le revêtement de planches horizontales percé de fenêtres;
-l'étroit lanterneau filant;
-les fondations, qui sont quasi inexistantes ou inhabituelles;
-la bordure de béton sur le pourtour du bâtiment;
-la combinaison de couleurs.

La manière dont l’Écurie des percherons, en tant qu'élément constitutif d'un ensemble harmonieux de bâtiment, renforce le caractère visuel du ranch Bar U.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1993/11/15

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Approvisionnements en vivres
Grange, écurie ou autre abri pour animaux

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

5644

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

View of buildings

Lieu historique national du Canada du Ranch-Bar U

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Ranch-Bar U comprend 148.43 hectares de pâturages qui constituent le site original du siège d’un élevage bovin établi en Alberta dans les…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches