Home / Accueil

''N'' Division, Stable Building

1 St. Laurent Boulevard, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1985/04/23

General view of the Stable Building front façade, 1985.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1985.
Front façade
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

''N'' Division, Stable Building
Royal Canadian Mounted Police Stable
Écurie de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1939/01/01 to 1940/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/08/18

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Stable Building is part of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) “N” Division complex, located at the foot of St. Laurent Boulevard in Ottawa. The long, two-storey building is a simply proportioned, flat roofed structure, clad in brick veneer and flanked by two low wings. Its front façade features a stepped roofline and central double doors. The stone door surround is decorated with two carved horse heads and the initials ‘RCMP’. Directly above, just below the roofline, is the RCMP crest carved in stone. The side doors have a weather vane featuring a silhouette of a mounted RCMP officer. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Stable Building is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental value.

Historical Value
The Stable Building is associated with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. From its inception in 1873, the RCMP relied on the highly skilled riders of the force to carry out police business across the prairies. It is also intimately associated with the famous Musical Ride, performed across Canada and to the rest of the world. The Musical Ride is a display of precision horsemanship, including patterns such as “The Bridal Arch” and “The Dome”, set to music and consisting of thirty-three horses and their riders. The Stable Building also illustrates the concentration of government activities in the nation’s capital in the early years of the twentieth century, given the decision to move the RCMP Headquarters from Regina, Saskatchewan to Ottawa, Ontario in 1920.

Architectural Value
The Stable Building is valued for its good aesthetic design. Designed in two component parts, its front façade provides no indication of the building’s function as a stable and appears similar to many office buildings of the 1930s with its stepped roofline, central double doors and window arrangement. In contrast, the functional nature of the building is indicated by the low wings that contain the horses’ stalls, its window arrangement and the side doors, which were designed to meet the needs of the horses and their riders. Further evidence of its good functional design is the interior steel frame that supports the large roof over the open arena space. Good craftsmanship is demonstrated in the building’s brick veneer cladding with plain decorative brickwork and the stone trim with carved details.

Environmental Value
The Stable Building reinforces the character of its RCMP complex setting in Ottawa. It is a well-known building as a destination for visitors and residents, who are welcome to witness the dress rehearsals of the Musical Ride, and to enjoy the grounds which are adjacent to the Rockcliffe Parkway and city park lands.

Sources: Sally Coutts, Royal Canadian Mounted Police Stable “N” Division, Ottawa, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, Building Report, 84-052; Stable Building, Ottawa, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement, 84-052.

Character-Defining Elements

The following character-defining elements of the Stable Building should be respected.

Its good aesthetic, functional design, materials and craftsmanship, for example:
- the stepped massing and simple proportions of the flat-roofed structure;
- the front façade with its stepped roofline and central double doors;
- the two, low wings that contain the horses’ stalls and continue the stepped effect;
- the balanced, recessed window arrangement of the front façade that follows the stepped roofline, including the three long narrow windows located immediately above the door, and the windows grouped in pairs separated by raised brick sections and divided by brick piers;
- the window arrangement of the wings, grouped in threes and divided by small pilasters capped in stone;
- the brick veneer cladding;
- the decorative brickwork and stone trim, including the stone door surround, carved with two horses’ heads and the initials RCMP, as well as the carved stone version of the RCMP crest;
- the RCMP weather vane that tops the parapet above each side door;
- the interior steel frame that supports the large roof over the open space of the central arena.

The manner in which the Stable Building reinforces the character of its RCMP complex setting in Ottawa and is well-known within the area, as evidenced by:
- its scale, design and materials which harmonize with the grouping of buildings that make up the large complex;
- its known role as the home for the horses of the Musical Ride and its accessibility to the public, which makes it a favourite destination for visitors and residents of Ottawa.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1985/04/23

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Food Supply
Barn, Stable or Other Animal Housing

Architect / Designer

U.C. Sylvester

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

2493

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Division ''N'', Bâtiment de l'écurie

1 St. Laurent / Sandridge, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1985/04/23

Vue générale de la façade avant du Bâtiment de l'écurie, 1985.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1985.
Façade avant
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Division ''N'', Bâtiment de l'écurie
Royal Canadian Mounted Police Stable
Écurie de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1939/01/01 à 1940/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/08/18

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le Bâtiment de l’écurie fait partie du complexe de la division « N » de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) qui est situé au bas du boulevard Saint-Laurent, à Ottawa. Ce long bâtiment de deux étages est une structure aux proportions simples, coiffée d’un toit-terrasse, avec un parement de brique et flanquée de deux longues ailes basses. La façade présente une ligne faîtière à gradins et des portes centrales doubles. L’encadrement en pierre de la porte est orné d’un motif sculpté représentant deux têtes de cheval avec les initiales ‘RCMP’. Le blason de la GRC est gravé dans la pierre directement au-dessus, juste sous la ligne faîtière. Les portes latérales sont agrémentées par une girouette représentant un agent de la GRC à cheval. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Bâtiment de l’écurie est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le Bâtiment de l’écurie est associé à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Depuis sa création en 1873, la GRC compte sur des cavaliers experts pour s’acquitter des tâches policières dans les Prairies. Elle est aussi étroitement associée au célèbre Carrousel de la GRC, qui se produit partout au Canada et dans le monde entier. Le Carrousel est une démonstration équestre précise, exécutée sur fond musical par 33 chevaux et cavaliers, qui inclut des mouvements comme « la haie d’honneur » et « le dôme. Le Bâtiment de l’écurie évoque aussi la concentration des activités gouvernementales dans la capitale nationale au début du XXe siècle, lorsqu’il a été décidé de déménager le quartier général de la GRC de Regina (Saskatchewan) à Ottawa (Ontario) en 1920.

Valeur architecturale
La valeur du Bâtiment de l’écurie découle de sa bonne conception esthétique. Le bâtiment est conçu en deux parties et sa façade avant ne laisse pas deviner qu’il s’agit d’une écurie car le bâtiment ressemble à de nombreux immeubles à bureaux érigés dans les années 1930 avec sa ligne faîtière à gradins, ses portes centrales doubles et la disposition des fenêtres. En revanche, la fonction du bâtiment est révélée par les ailes basses où se trouvent les stalles des chevaux et par la disposition des fenêtres et des portes latérales, conçues en fonction des besoins des chevaux et des cavaliers. La bonne fonctionnalité est également révélée par la charpente intérieure en acier qui soutient le toit qui enjambe le grand volume dégagé du manège. La qualité de l’exécution se voit dans le parement en brique du bâtiment agrémenté par un briquetage décoratif simple et des éléments en pierre sculptés.

Valeur environnementale
Le Bâtiment de l’écurie renforce le caractère du complexe de la GRC où il est situé à Ottawa. Le bâtiment est bien connu comme destination pour les visiteurs et les résidants qui sont invités à assister aux répétitions en uniforme du Carrousel et à visiter les terrains qui bordent la promenade Rockcliffe et la ceinture de verdure municipale.

Sources: Sally Coutts, écurie de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, division « N », Ottawa (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche, rapport 84-052; Écurie, Ottawa (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale, 84-052.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments suivants, qui définissent le caractère du Bâtiment de l’écurie, devraient être respectés.

Son esthétique, sa fonctionnalité et la qualité des matériaux et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
- la volumétrie à gradins et les proportions simples de ce bâtiment à toit-terrasse;
- la façade avant avec sa ligne faîtière à gradins et ses portes centrales doubles;
- les deux ailes basses qui abritent les stalles des chevaux et perpétuent l’effet de gradins;
- la disposition équilibrée, en retrait, des fenêtres de la façade avant qui épouse les gradins de la ligne faîtière, y compris les trois fenêtres longues et étroites placées immédiatement au-dessus de la porte et les fenêtres groupées par deux séparées par des sections en brique en saillie et des pilastres en brique;
- la disposition des fenêtres des ailes, groupées par trois et séparées par des petits pilastres couronnés de pierre;
- le parement de brique;
- le briquetage décoratif avec accents en pierre, y compris l’encadrement en pierre de la porte orné d’un motif sculpté représentant deux têtes de cheval avec les initiales ‘RCMP’ ainsi que le blason de la GRC gravé dans la pierre;
- la girouette de la GRC qui coiffe le parapet au-dessus de chacune des portes latérales;
- la charpente intérieure en acier qui soutient le toit qui enjambe le grand volume dégagé du manège.

La façon dont le Bâtiment de l’écurie renforce le caractère du complexe de la GRC où il est situé à Ottawa et est bien connu dans la région, c’est-à-dire :
- son échelle, son design et les matériaux employés, qui s’harmonisent avec le groupe de bâtiments qui forment l’ensemble du complexe;
- sa fonction connue comme domicile des chevaux du Carrousel et son ouverture au public, qui en font une destination recherchée par les résidants d’Ottawa et les personnes qui visitent la ville.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

1985/04/23

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Gouvernement
Poste de police

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

U.C. Sylvester

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale conservation et commémoration du patrimoine, Centre de documentation, 3iéme étage, salle 366, 30 rue Victoria, Gatineau, Quebec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

2493

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches